We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay with lots of rules”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pleasant View B&B

Pleasant View B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pleasant View B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Bristol B&B and Inns
Houston
Level Contributor
169 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Good place to stay with lots of rules”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This B&B is located a couple of miles outside Bristol NH with a main house where most rooms are located and a separate cottage. We elected to stay in the cottage because of the privacy for 3 nights. It had a kitchen (microwave, toaster oven, frig), a living area/bedroom and bathroom (with shower). The bathroom comes with shampoo and conditioner. Heating is fine though the owner had to come out and activate it. The cottage has window a/c units during hot weather. There is a flat screen TV/DVD player and working alarm clock.

There is free wifi but at the cottage the signal is weak but usable. Breakfast is served daily and it is quite good! But if you buy food and plan to cook it in the kitchen, be sure it does not require a full fledged oven as the toaster oven and microwave are limited in size. There is no dishwasher and you have to wash dishes by hand. There are plates/cups/glasses. Lots of accessible electrical outlets.

Some of the windows have no blinds so for privacy issues you have to be a bit careful. The queen bed is comfortable and lighting is good. There is no phone. A small supermarket is located about .5 miles down the road, open during limited hours and only during "the tourist season".

There was only one problem. My wife ran the New Hampshire Marathon, the only thing the town is famous for and the room was not cleaned that day and the towels/sheets were not changed. Not sure why. The management has lots of rules regarding no guests, shoes left outside, nothing to be placed on the bed quilt, no water on the bathroom floor from the shower, etc. Once you get through those it is pretty easy.

There is also a sauna which was very relaxing.

Room Tip: The cottage offers the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PDM77059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had purchased a package deal that included a 3-night stay in the cottage and made our reservations for August 2012 back in February 2012. I had also confirmed our reservation with the owner 2 or 3 weeks prior to our arrival. Upon arrival we were told we were in one of the rooms in the inn and not the cottage! The room we were put in sells for less per night than the cottage does. Someone else had been placed in the cottage in lieu of us.

No explanation or apology was offered and the inn-keeper offered no compensation to us for this. The cottage does have a kitchen so we were looking forward to having some meals in. We were very disappointed at the way we were treated and do not recommend this facility.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank traveler101428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at Pleasant View in late October, when the nights are cold but the days are still warm enough for hiking amidst the beautiful autumn foliage of the Lakes Region of NH. The Inn is located about 10 mins outside of the town of Bristol in a rural setting. We stayed in Room 6, a large and quiet room at the end of the hallway with a balcony overlooking the backyard and the beautiful hills in the distance. The king size bed was very comfortable, and the room was tastefully decorated with a beautiful quilt on the wall. The flat screen TV was small but adequate with regular cable channels. There is ample storage for clothes, and the bathroom is small but adequate, although lacking a bit in shelf space. There is small fridge down the hall with sodas and bottle water, along with coffee and tea, for guest use. There is wi fi on the premise but reception was spotty in our room (much better in the main breakfast hall and sitting room). There is also a computer for guest use on the main floor.
The best part about the inn are the breakfasts. One morning Heidi (the innkeeper) made a wonderful blueberry pancake breakfast, using the blueberry picked right on premise. On the following morning we had even better french toast and the best white chocolate scones I have ever tasted. The best breakfast, however, was reserved for the last morning. We had heard that the waffles were really good, so Heidi accommodated us with wonderful homemade waffles. Everything was all so delicious! Heidi even gave us the recipe for the scones when we jokingly asked for it.
Overall, the inn was very well kept, clean and comfortable. Heidi was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us good recommendation on hiking, sightseeing and restaurants in the area. On the first night we had trouble with an electrical outlet, but Don (husband and handyman) took care of it right away the next morning. We love the place and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 6 is quiet and down the hall away from the other room. They also have a separate cottage for r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0n_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Many of our family have stayed at this inn before and had reccomended it to us. The inn was spotless and well taken care of. Breakfast was delicious, we particulary enjoyed the chocolate muffins with white chocolate chips and the quiche they were yummy. Very comfortable accomadations as well as friendly inn keepers, you can't go wrong in staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We found Pleasant View through a Living Social offer and we were very glad we did. The inn itself is well cared for and Heidi, the innkeeper, serves a great breakfast. Rooms are very comfortable, well detailed and the public areas are equally comfortable and well cared for. The large porch with rocking chairs and a hammock were just the thing to relax when returning after a busy day. We look forward to staying there again soon.

Room Tip: The website has accurate descriptions of the rooms so check that out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WidenerSings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had a great time. The inn was very clean and the breakfasts each morning were delicious. The owner couldn't have been more accomodating. Had perks to go with it, we each had an hour massage, had a coupon for dinner one night and she also packed us a picnic basket for lunch one day (with a bottle of wine). It was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage that was not attached to the inn. It was very quiet, and there was also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spotdogg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Pleasant View is located within easy access to other attractions such as parks, lakes, and trails. Room 6 had comfortable bed, the inn is very clean and the breakfasts were delicious. We had the package that included a wine and cheese picnic in an Eddie Bauer backpack which we got to keep, a gift certificate for Kathleens Cottage Restaurant, and a massage at Lakeview Massage Studio in Hebron. The studio has a beautiful lake/mountain view and a terrific massage therapist and was only a short drive from the Inn. The picnic, restaurant, and the massage package added to make our get away at Pleasant View a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betde7e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
2.8 mi away
Henry Whipple House
Henry Whipple House
#1 of 4 in Bristol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.5 mi away
A Newfound Bed & Breakfast
5.6 mi away
Coppertoppe Inn & Retreat Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant View B&B

Property: Pleasant View B&B
Address: 22 Hemp Hill Rd, Bristol, NH 03222-3789
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant View B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a state, designated scenic road in the heart of New Hampshire's lakes region, Pleasant View Bed and Breakfast is an adult-friendly bed and breakfast which provides a comfortable, cozy atmosphere for guests looking for a touch of home with spectacular mountain views. Built circa 1800, Pleasant View B&B is an historical farmhouse that offers six beautiful guest rooms in the main house, all with private baths, some with private terraces. A detached cottage, approximately 150 feet behind the main inn, is perfect for a week in the country or the honeymooning couple. Sitting on the wrap around farmer’s porch with your favorite beverage, taking a dip in the pool, relaxing in the hot tub, or picking blackberries are just a few of guests’ favorite pastimes at the bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pleasant View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing