We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Spa!! Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spa!! Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

I did not stay at the Mt.Washington Resort this trip..but my sister and I spent a whole day of rest and relaxation at the Spa. It is fairly new to the property..about a year and half old.
It's one of the nicest spas I have been to.

It was fabulous. The Spa is beautifully decorated..lots of space to be quiet or if you want , chat with others. The service was great from the reservation, to check in, to concierge staff , to the therapists. We both had facials and skin exfoliation massages. The locker room is immaculate clean, lots of room to move around and products available for use.
The Sauna, Steam room was great and the outdoor hot tub looks out to the Presidential Mountains which is just breath taking. We didn't want to leave!! You can order lunch/wine/dessert and they will serve it to you in one of the lounge areas. The lady slipper lounge is a quiet area with comfy chairs, magazines with hot tea and nuts available. Heaven!

I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for some pampering and relaxation.
We are definitely going to return again soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Mount Washington Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
We are very pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful experience in The Spa at the Omni Mount Washington Hotel. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Mount Washington Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,058
    701
    304
    143
    87
See reviews for
1,035
1,576
40
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chester, nh
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

We were able to stay at this beautiful resort, thankfully because of a great deal we were able to take advantage of, therefore, I cannot rate on value based on an average rate.
The hotel, the grounds, what it offered, and the service were superb! We felt truly spoiled and wished we could have stayed longer. The views draw you in and you cannot help but relax. Everywhere we went, we were surprised by all that we saw and all that was offered. The welcome bag of milk and cookies for the kids was a nice surprise.
We had in-room dining only and even the kids meals were very good.
I loved the down comforter and pillows. The room was very spacious and comfortable.
If we could offer any suggestions on improvements, it would be helpful to have a map outlining the hotel and where to find locations, such as the outdoor pool. We needed to ask the concierge several times where to go in the hotel. However, upon searching, we were delighted with more views of the hotel and its grounds!
Thank you for such a lovely time. We look forward to when we can return.
I have read other reviews and for any inconveniences during your stay, the place itself more than makes up for it--it is just exquisite!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattiandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Mount Washington Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience at the hotel - we are very glad that you had such an enjoyable time. Your comment regarding a map will be discussed soon, as a project to replace our existing resort map is already underway. Thank you, again, and we look forward to seeing you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

With much anticipation my family reserved 2 sets of rooms for a family wedding at the Omni Mt. Washington for 8/20-8/23. Each type of room was a deluxe suite with superior views etc. and the rooms had been reserved in March to ensure good room locations, size and quality. Two people in the family were to arrive for the 3 day stay on Friday, August 20th. 3 additional family members were arriving on Saturday, August 21st. Both groups had confirmed reservations, including membership with Omni Select. Upon arriving Friday, August 20th to check in, there was much "hesitation" by the desk clerk, though finally we were given keys to our corner vista suite. When we arrived at our floor/room we opened the door to find the room fully occupied,...bed unmade, TV on, open luggage etc. When we returned downstairs and described what we had found, the desk clerk repeatedly told us we must have gone into the wrong room. Finally after approximately 10 minutes the clerk admitted that something was "not right." They did not have any corner vista suites available. In turn we were offered a single room/queen bed with a pullout couch. We were told " they would work on the problem" the following day. The overall staff demeanor at the desk was of casual unconcern. Following a strong confrontation and our refusal to sleep on a pull out sofa, we were offerred a room at the "country inn" on the Mt.Washington property. We agreed to the Inn room, being hours and miles from anything comparable. The Bretton Arms Inn room was adequate and comfortable, but not at all the lodging quality we had reserved and so anticipated. Hence, our caution that this hotel has significant difficulty with their reservation integrity. What was to be a very special resort style vacation/wedding turned out sorely different.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank booksandbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Mount Washington Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay at the hotel and apologize for the confusion, but we are very pleased to read in your review that you had such a good experience at the Bretton Arms Inn. We always strive to provide excellent service, so your feedback will be used to target discussions on any necessary changes. Thank you for sharing your experience - we hope that other aspects of your stay were enjoyable, and that you will give us the privilege of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

This resort has a great location with a direct view of Mount Washington and rest of the Presidential Range of the White Mountains. The staff is very friendly and attentive, from the time we checked in until we left. They make you feel welcome and are very willing to answer questions and make sure you take advantage of everything there is to do there. You can call the concierge desk before your arrival for suggestions and to make reservations for activities.

The main hotel is a unique century-old building that has been well maintained - we loved the wide-open main lobby ... really a grand hall with fireplace, side rooms, and balconies on three sides all offering views of the surrounding White Mountains. This was the location of the conference that created the International Monetary Fund in 1944, and there are many historical artifacts from that event and from the whole lifespan of the resort.

The place has a relaxing atmosphere with lots of activities so no one gets bored: horseback riding, carriage rides, mountain biking, tennis, golf, indoor/outdoor pools, ziplining, and hiking. We did all except the golf and ziplining. The resort has its own stables and horses and they will accommodate you based on your equestrian experience (or lack of it). The mountain biking staff will make sure you have the right size bike and helmet, drive you to a drop-off point, and explain the various trails available so you can decide which to take ... all of which end up back at the main building itself. One of us took the tennis clinic and was very happy with the tennis pro's instructions. You can hike the trails right from the main building, including that runs parallel to a small river. Be sure to bring your camera/phone. We saw a fox and others have reported moose sightings (although we never saw one).

The restaurants are excellent ... the main dining room is expensive but worth it. Keep in mind that men are required to wear a jacket in the main dining room (for dinner only). But there is another equally good restaurant in the Bretton Arms Inn, which is located a short walk from the main building ... and its dress code is semi-casual. In addition, there is a family-oriented restaurant called Fabyan's that is in a converted train depot not far from the resort, which you can get to by free shuttle bus. The shuttles run constantly and take you anywhere associated with the resort (including the zipline/ski area).

Another option for food is the sweet shop on the lower level which opens early and has bagels, muffins, coffee, etc. There is another restaurant on the lower level called Stickney's that is currently under renovation (August 2010).

We also used the spa, which was recently renovated and is top-rate. The massages were excellent and you get use of the facilities for the rest of the day, including sauna, steam room, and whirlpool.

The room we stayed in was nice and up-to-date, yet still with the charm of a century-old building. Our windows had a view of the mountains. We did experience some noise from another floor that was being renovated ... so I would advise that you ask about that when you make your reservations so you can avoid it. For us, this was not a big deal, since we didn't spend much time in the room ... there was so much to do and we were busy every day. Be sure to relax in the evenings on one of the balconies. You can order a drink and an appetizer or sandwich from a waitress or waiter and take in the mountains, and then watch the planets and stars rise above the mountains as the night goes on.

Overall, this was one of our best vacation experiences ever ... we have been to other resorts with equally nice spas and restaurants, but never one with so many activities to do also. It was the perfect balance of relaxation and new experiences in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmarinou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Mount Washington Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank you for sharing your thoughtful review of your experience at the hotel. It seems you had the opportunity to try many of the fun and exciting/relaxing things we have to offer, and we are glad you had such a wonderful time. We also hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Bretton Woods again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

All sorts of problems lead me to conclude that you should wait some time for the new management to work out several kinks and for construction to wrap up. Problems included:
-- did not honor request for adjoining rooms despite taking my deposit months ago and confirming that we would have connecting rooms
-- not enough dining options to accommodate all guests (imagine being told that you have to pack up your family and DRIVE to another restaurant offsite because you can't eat here until 9 pm)
-- extensive construction leaves parts of the hotel with very limited access, mostly through a small cramped service elevator with long waits to use
-- fire alarms in the middle of the night, with disorganized staff that provide no guidance; very disturbing given the access issues from the construction and the fact that this is a 110-year old wooden structure (most other hotels of this type are gone precisely because of fire)

The safety concerns and the problems we experienced with reservations and restaurant staff make this hotel a no go for now, particularly given the cost. This is a sad fact given the beauty and historic significance of this grand hotel. We have stayed there several times before and, although not perfect, had a much better experience. Wait at least a year and hopefully construction will be done and the new management will have worked out some things out.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank regtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Mount Washington Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at the hotel. As our goal is always to improve the guest experience and our quality of service, your feedback will be used to focus our efforts to make any necessary changes.

We apologize to you for the inconvenience of the late-night fire alarm, but we hope that you and others will rest assured, knowing that the new, state-of-the-art life safety and fire supression system is in place for the safety of our guests, and that the emergency egress through the grand staircase area was never blocked off while that renovation project was underway (that project was completed August 19th).

A couple of additional status updates: the renovations to another of our restaurants in the hotel, Stickneys, are complete, allowing us to provide at least five dining options for lunch and dinner; the renovations to the last group of guest rooms in the hotel will be complete by August 31st, concluding the project to renovate all guest rooms.

Thank you for choosing the Omni Mount Washington Hotel for your stay, and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Bretton Woods again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor leads you to believe this is an amazing place, but that must have been under the old ownership. The views have not changed, the hotel is still mostly the same, but the management and service are not to the standard of a hotel in this league.

Front desk personnel could not use the computers to check you in. The corporate reservation staff does not know the property. The managers were not able to even understand or get the information from their staff in order to start helping.

Example, we were arriving late, we called ahead to see if the hotel restaurant would be serving dinner when we arrived. I called ahead and asked for someone to check if we arrived after 9pm, would we be able to eat. We were told the restaurant would be closed when we arrive, so we'd better find something on the way. After stopping for something along the way, we arrived after 10pm and to find the restaurant still open and serving. Part of staying a a resort such as the Mt. Washington Resort and Spa, was the level of service. Other issues like the front desk staff did not know how to use the computers that check-in guest, and there was no-one on staff that was able to help. Check-in took 40 min. and we were the only guest when we arrived, and by the time we left, there was a line at least six guest deep.

The rooms were nice, but on a Friday morning at 7:30 you could hear hammers banging and workers making all kinds of noise.

The breakfast was nice, it was buffet only, not what you would expect from a full service hotel resort. Your choice was what was on the buffet table or nothing at all. I don't think having to pay $15 dollars for a bowl of cereal for the kids is something as my only option.

I could go on and on, but I am making my point. In the last two months, we have stayed at five different resort hotels in Italy, France, Switzerland, New York, and Maine, so our perspective on what is considered a resort level of service and a three star hotel is understood.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Mount Washington Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank you very much for sharing your honest feedback on your experience at the hotel. We are disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations on this trip, and we will use this information to target possible improvements to the quality of our service and the guest's experience. Our goal is to continuously improve everything that we do, and while the majority of the reviews indicate we are doing some things well, your experience illustrates that we can never lose focus on that goal. Thank you, again, for your feedback, and we hope that someday we will be able to greet you back to the Omni Mount Washington Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
185 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is my second trip in 4 years to the Mt Washington - the whole experience feels original and is a great anti-dote to the pre-pack corporate experience that is on offer with a lot of other US chain based resorts.

The completion of the spa and outdoor pool since our last trip is a great addition. We had the same room combination again and it had been nicely spruced up; new decor, fabrics, TV's and bathrooms. I'd say that Omni are working to a definite budget - for example, the old fashioned bath tub had been removed creating a large, modern walk in shower room; dissapointingly though, Omni had just left the old 'over the bath' shower head that was there before - would have been nice had they installed a more sophisticated shower system to fully use the shower room they'd created-we're on holiday and want a bit of pampering!

I'd also say the same re. the main hotel areas - they've been decorated rather than renovated; all very nice and presentable. This hotel must just eat cash up so I'm guessing it will be a long programme of investment that is needed but good to see Omin are getting stuck in.

Food was great in all dining areas (Stickneys was closed for renovations); we ate in the main dining room, the porch area, Fabians and the Bretton Arms and we had very good experiences in all of them. In particular, the rapid and attentive wait service on the porch was consistent throughout our stay.

Both golf courses are in great condition, the canopy tour is great fun (exceptional staff attitude), the fitness equipment is state of the art, the outdoor pool and bbq combo is fab - gardens are pristine.

Service in the main was very good; friendly, attentive and genuine. I like the mix of nationalities in the staff - they all seem to try that bit harder.

A few little changes could improve the guest experience even more:

1) In room bar would be a nice convenience; room service were helpful but its a fuss to get them to come up with a couple of cokes and wait half an hour.
2) Sun bed mattresses and more parasols for the pool please; the sun beds aren't the comfiest and not enough umbrella's. Maybe worth having attendants to help guests in the summer?
3) First impressions; the greeting from reception on arrival was a missed opportunity. They weren't busy but the luke warm and cursory greeting received just prior to our spending $10,000 with Omni wasn't great. A smile, a 'welcome back' would have been nice? We didn't realise we were booked under the modified american plan until half way through our stay - why couldn't the receptionist have taken time to just take us through our booking?

Having just come from the Weqausset Resort in Chatham, Cape Cod its a sharp contrast - all staff there are clearly drilled on actually seeking out from guests if they can in any way be of help and it would be nice to see Mf Washington staff make a step up.

I'm only saying all this because I intend on coming back here many times in the future so the better it gets the happier I'll be! This is definelty one of my favourite places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
21.7 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
22.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
14.6 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Mount Washington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Mount Washington Resort

Property: Omni Mount Washington Resort
Address: 310 Mount Washington Hotel Rd, Bretton Woods, NH 03575-3098 (Formerly the Mount Washington Hotel & Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Mount Washington Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-diamond Omni Mount Washington Resort in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire offers a year-round escape just 2½ hours from Boston in NH’s majestic White Mountains! Enjoy a full-service spa, year-round canopy tour, alpine and nordic skiing at Bretton Woods, the 18-hole restored Donald Ross golf course and a wealth of indoor and outdoor pastimes. Come discover our recent $60 million renovation, fine and casual dining, endless recreational pursuits and breathtaking scenery. Grand Hotel, cozy Inn, modern Lodge and convenient Townhomes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Mount Washington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Mount Washington Hotel Bretton Woods
Mt Washington Hotel Nh
Hotel Mount Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing