We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is my second trip in 4 years to the Mt Washington - the whole experience feels original and is a great anti-dote to the pre-pack corporate experience that is on offer with a lot of other US chain based resorts.

The completion of the spa and outdoor pool since our last trip is a great addition. We had the same room combination again and it had been nicely spruced up; new decor, fabrics, TV's and bathrooms. I'd say that Omni are working to a definite budget - for example, the old fashioned bath tub had been removed creating a large, modern walk in shower room; dissapointingly though, Omni had just left the old 'over the bath' shower head that was there before - would have been nice had they installed a more sophisticated shower system to fully use the shower room they'd created-we're on holiday and want a bit of pampering!

I'd also say the same re. the main hotel areas - they've been decorated rather than renovated; all very nice and presentable. This hotel must just eat cash up so I'm guessing it will be a long programme of investment that is needed but good to see Omin are getting stuck in.

Food was great in all dining areas (Stickneys was closed for renovations); we ate in the main dining room, the porch area, Fabians and the Bretton Arms and we had very good experiences in all of them. In particular, the rapid and attentive wait service on the porch was consistent throughout our stay.

Both golf courses are in great condition, the canopy tour is great fun (exceptional staff attitude), the fitness equipment is state of the art, the outdoor pool and bbq combo is fab - gardens are pristine.

Service in the main was very good; friendly, attentive and genuine. I like the mix of nationalities in the staff - they all seem to try that bit harder.

A few little changes could improve the guest experience even more:

1) In room bar would be a nice convenience; room service were helpful but its a fuss to get them to come up with a couple of cokes and wait half an hour.
2) Sun bed mattresses and more parasols for the pool please; the sun beds aren't the comfiest and not enough umbrella's. Maybe worth having attendants to help guests in the summer?
3) First impressions; the greeting from reception on arrival was a missed opportunity. They weren't busy but the luke warm and cursory greeting received just prior to our spending $10,000 with Omni wasn't great. A smile, a 'welcome back' would have been nice? We didn't realise we were booked under the modified american plan until half way through our stay - why couldn't the receptionist have taken time to just take us through our booking?

Having just come from the Weqausset Resort in Chatham, Cape Cod its a sharp contrast - all staff there are clearly drilled on actually seeking out from guests if they can in any way be of help and it would be nice to see Mf Washington staff make a step up.

I'm only saying all this because I intend on coming back here many times in the future so the better it gets the happier I'll be! This is definelty one of my favourite places to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,624 - 3,630 of 3,785 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2010

Omni's Mount Washington Hotel is simply spectacular. It's a family oriented hotel with beautifully decorated rooms, clean with incredible views of Mount Washington from the backside of the hotel. As for dining there are a number of options. The main dining area is a a bit pricey but a great experience and great food. For those of you with young kids, ours are both under 6, it's a bit challenging, but there are other options, from eating with the kids as the sunsets on the back deck of the hotel, a lot more casual, or in room dining, to Fabyan's down at the bottom of the hill that provides a very casual atmosphere, more like you're local pub, but gets crowded, so you might need to wait :30 minutes for a table. As we were leaving we realized we could have probably even picked up a pizza from the pizza place about a mile down the hill from the resort and brought it back if you wanted to get more casual, nice idea for those on a budget or just looking to be a little more relaxed. The hotel as two large outdoor pools, one of which is only a foot deep for the smallest of kids, fantastic for beginner swimmers. The hotel also has a calendar of events to keep the kids and family occupied from morning until night. The kids truly enjoyed the movies they had outdoors on the veranda each night. For us this has become a Summer ritual. If you're a golfer or like to trail run or even take a leisurely hike, there's plenty of trails right out the back door. The hotel is somewhat pricey, but it's a great experienfe and one you and your family will thorougly enjoy and remember.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoutydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Mount Washington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2010

I'm very happy to read that you had such an enjoyable time during your stay with us. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of many of the fun activities and options we have on property, and your insight regarding the experience with younger children is much appreciated. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts, and we look forward to greeting you back to the resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We were in Boston for a conference and had two extra days and decided to visit this resort. It was a beautiful drive up and once we arrived we knew we found a little piece of paradise. The rooms have been recently refurbished and are beautiful. The spa is new and very well done, really exceeded our expectations. If you go to the spa, ask for Edith, she is great. We are picky about our spas and would highly recommend this one! Didn't get a chance to play golf, but it looked like a wonderful course. We could sit out on the huge wrap around deck for days watching the clouds float over the White Mountains, very peaceful and relaxing. Very friendly staff and lot to do. Pack accordingly, hiking shoes and dress with layers and above all turn off the cell phone and chill out!

We will be back, but next time even longer!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencerwilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Mount Washington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

Thank you for choosing the Omni Mount Washington Resort for your quick getaway and for sharing your thoughts on your visit. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay, and I am glad you took the opportunity to visit The Spa - I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to Edith. We look forward to welcoming you back for that longer visit and hope that you have the opportunity to play a little golf during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Just returned from a weekend at the famous Mt. Washington Hotel. The hotel is stunning and well taken care of. Try to book a room on the backside of the hotel as that's the one that overlooks the mountain range. You have to dress up for dinner in the main dining room, but there are other choices of paces to eat. However, the hotel is not near anything like other restaurants, it's a full service resort so you don't have to leave at all. It's elegant and everyone should stay here at least once in their life - it's totally grand in size and tradition.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpilk210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Mount Washington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience - and your excellent photos - from your visit to the Omni Mount Washington Resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

The Mount Washington Hotel nestled in the New Hampshire countryside is a wonderful place to spend a vacation. This large hotel is an example of early 20th century craftsmanship combined with elegant modern interior design; and the spa is in a class by itself. The staff is friendly and helpful; the food delicious; and sitting on the verandas looking at the mountains having afternoon tea or drinks is a great way to relax after a day of activities. There are plenty of activities for summer and winter - riding, skiing, golfing, swimming, canopy tours, sleigh rides, etc. This was a memorable vacation and we would love to go back, perhaps in the autumn for leaf season or in the winter for snow season.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famliy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Mount Washington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

It is a pleasure for us to read that you had such a wonderful experience a t The Omni Mount Washington Resort. We thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor and we will look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Just returned from great stay (4nights) at the Omni Mount Washington.
The hotel/resort is lovely with lots of history (take the guided hotel tour). The property is being updated with new wallpaper/carpet etc., very beautiful. Our room was spacious and views outstanding. We travelled w/3 kids (9,12, & 14).....lots to do. Pool(indoor & outdoor), tennis courts(4 total), golf, daily activities(some fee/some complimentary), stables w/horseback riding, and shuttle down to the Bretton Woods Ski area to take the Canopy Tour(ziplining) - 2 in our party did it and said it is awesome - 3-1/2 hours w/great guides!
Surrounding area: lots of hiking, Mt. Washington Auto Road(40min drive), Cog railway just down the road.
The resort SPA is outstanding! It was added recently(within last couple of years) and it is beautiful, my husband & I went for massage and pedicure, professional staff w/beautiful facility sauna/steam etc.- a must do!!
Food at resort:
Main dining room dinner - great experience for family to dress up have 3 piece ensemble playing, food was OK for the price, thought it could be better there but service & experience nice.
Main dining breakfast buffet - very nice w/everything from omelets to toast.
Other hotel restaurant being renovated(Stickney's....looks nice) was told it would be complete early August.
Fabyan's - down the street via the hotel shuttle, best bet get the smoked pork or chicken as they have a smoker and are "known" for that.
Veranda - lunch menu is available but I just enjoyed my morning coffee there each morning looking out at the Presidential Range - unbelievable views!
Bretton Arms Inn (on property via walking path or shuttle) - FANTASTIC dinner! It is pricey but worth it, cut above the Main dining room food.
Hotel was full due to 2 weddings and a corporate event (so I was told) but service was top notch!
We will be back to the OMNI Mount Washington Resort again!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheese413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Mount Washington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

We are delighted to hear that your family had a great vacation at The Omni Mount Washington Resort. We are thankful that you shared your many compliments on TripAdvisor and we hope that you will consider staying with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The decision for us is always the Balsalms versus Mount Washington. We have done both. My only problem with both is the service. For the price I expect something more. We waited over 20 minutes to get served on the deck at Mount Washington, however at least we had an amazing view to look at. The quality of food at dinner was only okay but the service better than the deck. The room was lovely and with a great view. However at 6 am we woke up becasue of the plumbing which is old and very noisy. Renovations meant the place was a little dirty - but only in the hallways. My only complaint is truly the service varied. I got the sense I was being intrusive by asking questions of one person on the concierge. Conversely we needed internet and the service didn't work well, but the best service we received was from their IT guy who managed to get the service up and running! On balance I would go again only because of the history and location, but would hope they step their service level up a little.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Mount Washington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

We appreciate your honest feedback of The Omni Mount Washington Resort. It is disappointing to hear that the service you received was not consistent but your feedback gives us the opportunity to pinpoint those areas in need of work so that we can make improvements. It is our goal to continuously make enhancements to both the service and resort and we hope you will return to find that both exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
323 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
869 reviews
12.2 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Townhomes at Bretton Woods
The Townhomes at Bretton Woods
#2 of 3 in Bretton Woods
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
10.3 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Mount Washington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Mount Washington Resort

Address: 310 Mount Washington Hotel Rd, Bretton Woods, NH 03575-3098 (Formerly the Mount Washington Hotel & Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range: $193 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Mount Washington Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-diamond Omni Mount Washington Resort in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire offers a year-round escape just 2½ hours from Boston in NH’s majestic White Mountains! Enjoy a full-service spa, year-round canopy tour, alpine and nordic skiing at Bretton Woods, the 18-hole restored Donald Ross golf course and a wealth of indoor and outdoor pastimes. Come discover our recent $60 million renovation, fine and casual dining, endless recreational pursuits and breathtaking scenery. Grand Hotel, cozy Inn, modern Lodge and convenient Townhomes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Mount Washington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Mount Washington Hotel Bretton Woods
Mt Washington Hotel Nh
Hotel Mount Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing