We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Elegance at its Best !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old World Elegance at its Best !”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

From the minute you walk in you know that you are in a special place. There is a bell captain in the lobby to greet you and help you check in. The expansive entry hallway has a luxurious old world feel, and down each of the hallways are stewards armed with a smile and the time to chat or show you the way to your next destination.

Outside there is a beautiful viranda deck surrounded by mountain views in every direction and staffed to make your stay in this mountain wonderland as relaxing as possible.Inside their are 3 restaurants that give you such a wide array of choices that you need go nowhere else. My favorite was Stickneys the casual lower lever restaurant, relaxing, and enjoyable. To sum up my experience, I felt that The Mt. Washington Hotel gave us the pampered luxury of a bygone era. The sort of treatment the Rockefellers or Vanderbilts might have enjoyed.

Stayed November 2012,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,222
    731
    318
    152
    94
See reviews for
1,094
1,683
43
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our 2 day stay at the Mount Washington. The service is superb! The views are breathtaking. The food is very good. The sleigh ride was extremely romantic! We would do it again in a minute. It was my "60th" ,so we did the canopy zip line tour, that was incredible...Do not miss this spectacular vacation!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I are fans of the "grand old style" hotels and this one did not disappoint. Sure, there are certain compromises when a hotel was built a 100 years or so ago, but the ambiance and experience of the Mount Washington made our time there memorable. Exposed sprinkler pipes, rooms "cut up and redone" over time - sometimes done well, others, not so much - wind blowing through the window borders, peeling paint on the outside, and other rough edges were barely noticed in light of the grandeur and atmosphere of the place. And even with the leaky windows, we never felt a draft or were cold.

After a 3+ hour drive from the Manchester airport (normally 2) in a snow storm on snow covered highways and roads, deer in the middle of the interstate, low beams only (can't use high beams - can't see anything), and really no one else on the road about 50 miles north of Manchester, we arrived at the hotel at 12:30 in the morning. (They plow around the cities and towns during snow storms - the northern interstate and roads come later, apparently). After slip-sliding-schlephing to the north country, we arrived and well, no one came out. Wind chill of about minus 10. Can't blame them, who arrives at a hotel at 12:30am? Melissa at the front desk was very accommodating and gave us our room key. Dick did show up at reception and offer to valet our car. (If it's snowing or going to snow, get an AWD or 4WD as we did - front wheel drive isn't enough for those not used to driving in snow.)

The bell hop brought our bags to the room and well, we didn't really like the room. It was late, we were tired, so we opted to deal with it the next day. The room didn't seem like the "300 square feet with king" that the reservation promised. The bathroom had drop-ceiling tiles, a definite turn off for a "grand old style" high end hotel. The room, 263, was the first one next to the elevator. I would recommend not taking a room next to the elevator in this hotel, or one in the "rotunda" on the third and fourth floors. You can't hear the elevator but you can hear - very well - the dinging of the bell when it reaches the floor and the ones above and below you. All night. And when the staff enter the wing of the hotel, there are double doors that they hit with their carts as they pass through the hallway. These doors are right outside the room. So, it made for a night of being wakened up many times. Good news is this room was on the mountain-facing side of the hotel with a magnificent view. (Couldn't see Mt. Washington for several days - it was snowing, but great winter wonderland view up to the base of the mountains.) And speaking of elevators (they are old and small in this hotel, as to be expected), there was only one working and it broke our last day there. No big deal for us since we were on the second floor and we enjoyed walking down the main staircase past the picture window views of the mountains!

Next day, I went down and requested to change rooms. It was a busy time for the hotel and this was done with more difficulty than I expected. We had to pack and leave our bags with the front desk (they put them in the new room for us when we returned from skiing that day). The new room was bigger however, it faced the "industrial complex" e.g. the kitchen and power plant building but it did have a great view of the Bretton Woods ski resort over the roof of the industrial looking buildings.

The room was much quieter and good nights' sleep were had. The beds were very comfortable. And warm. However, if you like to nap during the day, there was a problem. Maybe it was the time of the year but there were a lot of young children at the hotel and in the halls. Yelling, screaming, running, and slamming doors. So, if you're a daytime nap person, it made it difficult. My wife called down a couple of times but hey, what are you going to do about bad parenting and unruly, bad-mannered kids lacking in the social graces? The hotel might put up signs or something letting those parents who think their kids "are so cute and playful" to keep a leash on them.

Recommendations for the hotel: 1) Put in "silent close" latches on the doors - they sound like drums when they close and most people didn't close their doors slowly to prevent the noise; 2) bathroom slippers would be great on the cold floors (heated bathroom floors maybe?), an excellent amenity for those of us who forgot our pool shoes and went to the pool in boots and a bathing suit); 3) and heated toilet seats would be nice.

For activities, we downhill skied. Take the shuttle from and back to the hotel. During peak times, if you choose to drive to the ski area, the parking is full at Bretton Woods and you have to walk a long ways to get to the slope. There are many other activities: zip-lining, cross-country skiing, dog sledding, skating, snow mobiling, etc. all arranged by the hotel if you want. Next time, we might try the dog sledding. But be prepared for the cold. Long underwear, mid-layer, sweater, ski pants, parka, gloves, hats, undermask, ski mask, the whole deal. It was minus 8 degrees with wind chill when we were skiing. We were comfortable and warm and had a good time, but it's only because we were prepared. One more thing: you get discounts at Bretton Woods if you are staying at the hotel so be sure to show them your room key to get them.

One thing we did that was not on my bucket list but we did anyways is the outdoor heated pool. That's right, swimming in 84 degree water with a 5 degree air temperature with cross country skiers passing in the background and snow everywhere! The hard part is getting out. As you make a break for the cabana locker rooms, you can't run too fast because of the ice everywhere! And then, the long walk back to the back door of the hotel. The hotel's robe helped but I might want to rethink strategy if there is a next time. The hot jacuzzi and warm pool inside the hotel helped warm our bones. The times we used the pool and jacuzzi, there were a lot of children (in the jacuzzi too), but the warmth was welcome after days out in the cold. As I stated, bring "pool shoes" because the hotel doesn't have bathroom slippers you can use.

My wife and I are avid fitness buffs and although we did visit the fitness room, we didn't workout on our stay. The fitness center seemed more than adequate to us. Other points: the wireless worked well and it's "free" but of course, it's part of that non-disclosed anywhere on the website or at check-in $25/day "resort fee." That ticked me off for a minute but heck, at this hotel, you're spending so much what's another $25/day? Actually, if there was another similar hotel in the area that has this fee and one that doesn't, I'd choose the one that doesn't. I just don't like being snookered by non-disclosed add-ons. In fact, this one aspect had me investigating the Grand Hotel in Whitesville (sp?) Without the resort fee, I would have probably made this hotel the only place to stay in the area. So for those hotel people who think they are getting away with something, this is the reality of how people think.

I'm more of a gourmand than a gourmet, so I won't comment on the food specifically. In all the restaurants in the hotel - and we ate in them all - and room service, it was all very good. I just wish higher end hotels would put coffee makers in the rooms. It's not the expense of ordering room service, it's the convenience. When I get up, I like to have coffee in the room when I get up. Not wait for room service or have my schedule be dictated by room service. There was "free" coffee at the entrance to the main dining room, but again, it's all about waking up with coffee in the room.

So, yes, stay at the Mt. Washington. Wander through the hallways, the grand lobby, the little side rooms, the former speakeasy in the basement, and take the hotel's history tour. Harken back to the glory days of the grand hotels and make some memories.

PS. The hotel is on the National Register and apparently, they are in the middle of ongoing renovations. The outside signature red roof has been redone and in the future, I'm sure they will be working on more of the "rough edges" in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pramstroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our stay at this hotel capped our 14 day tour of New England in a spectacular way. As impressive as the photos of this resort are - they hardly do justice to the reality. We have stayed at fine hotels around the globe but I have to say the Mt. Washington Hotel in Bretton Woods was most impressive. Do not miss the hotel tour - the history of the hotel is quite interesting and is a walk through history well beyond the famous Bretton Woods meeting. Our stay was in mid-September so between summer and skiing. Nonetheless we had an enjoyable stay. There are plenty of sights to see in the general area. Love to go again in the summer when more of the attractions are accessible. Service throughout was friendly and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and definitely plan on visiting again. I would note that dining options outside the hotel are limited.

Room Tip: Our room was on an upper floor to the south with gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation at the Omni Mount Washington Hotel in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, but experienced a number of problems while we were there.

In the way of background, our family had been going to the Balsams, in Dixville Notch, New Hampshire, for over thirty years, for our annual skiing vacation. But, when the Balsams ceased operations, we looked for a place that we could have a similarly wonderful experience, and the Omni Mount Washington Hotel came closest to meeting our requirements. Here are our impressions.

Our party consisted of eight (8) adults and four (4) children. We stayed there, at the hotel, for an entire week, from December 23 through December 30, 2012.

First, let's talk about the activities for both the adults and the children. In a word, they were fantastic. From skiing at the nearby Bretton Woods skiing complex, to rubber tubing down snowy hillsides on the hotel's grounds, to swimming in its heating swimming pools, there was never a shortage of things to do. The kids had a wonderful time.

The rooms, and everything in general, were spacious, comfortable and clean. Heating and ventilation were good. The cost of the rooms was actually quite expensive. But, this is a top-flight hotel and you get what you pay for. What was a little annoying was that, in addition to paying top dollar for food and accommodations, the hotel charged you for virtually every little item imaginable, even five dollars apiece for renting the rubber tubes that you were sliding down the hills in. A high-end place like this shouldn't have to nickel and dime you to make their money, as they're charging you a steep price already just for the essentials.

We had a very mixed dining experience at the Omni Mount Washington Hotel.The food and the service at the Bretton Arms dining room was EXCEPTIONAL and we enjoyed the dinners we had there immensely. Also, at Stickney's, the hotel's casual restaurant, the food was very, very good, and the service was friendly, accurate and efficient. But, frankly speaking, the dining experiences we had while having dinner at the hotel's main dining room were mediocre at best. The service was good, but not great, but the food itself was less-than-average in quality. It was frequently poorly prepared, by what seemed to be amateur chefs. In our opinion, the person who is the head or executive chef in the main dining room needs to be replaced and some other changes have to be made also. For the prices charged there, the meals should be wonderful. Too often, they were just the opposite.

Our initial billing for our rooms contained numerous errors. The amount of mistakes we discovered on our bill caused a great amount of anxiety on our part. However, during our stay, thanks to the wonderful efforts of the people at the front desk, and Mr. Matthew Ingerson in particular, these errors were corrected to our satisfaction.

The staff of the hotel, in virtually all areas, was extremely friendly and, all in all, we enjoyed our stay there. We are thinking of returning again next year and, if we do, it would be nice to find that some of the concerns that I've enumerated above were addressed.

Room Tip: Book early if you want to go skiing during the December holiday period. The rates increase signific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MacroMicro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa Falls, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Driving up to the hotel was even more awe-inspiring than the photos suggest. Reminiscent of an old railway hotel at Lake Louise or similar, the building seems to glow from within. Chosen by family members for an anniversary gathering, we were surrounded by friendly and helpful staff from the moment we drove up. Arriving early we expected to wait for our room to be readied but were quickly assigned and assisted with what amounted to voluminous luggage. Charming to be in a staffed elevator... how often do you see that? Our room was spacious, with wonderful views. We took advantage of the free shuttle to meet our family members at the ski base pub. Good beer, including at least one from nearby Woodstock Brewery. Our first night was spent 'pub crawling' and the Omni has a number to choose from, with quite decent food or snacks available. We had been briefly disappointed that the main dining room at the hotel wasn't yet finished being remodeled, so had a breakfast buffet out in the President's wing, acceptable but would rather have had a seated menu-selected meal. We'd been informed the dining room wouldn't be available for our family celebration the second night so instead took (again) the shuttle to the Bretton Woods Arms restaurant which was perhaps an even better choice for a lovely, well prepared, well served meal. Turkish Ibrahim was our server and deserves several stars. We were more amused than disappointed by our 3:00 p.m. 'historical tour' of the hotel by a woman who really could have used more training. After putting significant hotel dates in 1922 plunk into the middle of the first World War, she commented that as 'gas' couldn't be used in lighting they resorted to "LP." She was uncomfortable rationalizing the choice of New Hampshire for the Bretton Woods Conference, seeming to apologize to 'any Southerners here?' that the South wouldn't have accommodated the various countries represented. Before the end of the tour, the 40 or so attendees had dwindled to less than 10, which didn't include our party. Even in the midst of a massive Sun. morning checkout, the valets and buspersons accommodated our need to shift significant amounts of luggage from our car to a family member's car, not an easy task. In all, a great experience, with more laughs than we'd anticipated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narrowboatersia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The mount Washington hotel is a very nice relaxing place. It has a lot of space for the kids and super views, entertaining activities and spa. We got a nice corner bedroom with two double beds. The room had a very nice view of the mountains in the back of the hotel. The breakfast is really fantastic with an excellent selection. The restaurant is nice but we prefer to go to the main restaurant only once during our stay. We prefer the restaurant in the lower level that has more casual dining and really nice food. We never had issues with the service but it seems to us that during the Christmas season they have students doing an internship to complement the staff. I recommend this hotel for families and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofi2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
293 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
21.7 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
814 reviews
12.2 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Mount Washington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Mount Washington Resort

Property: Omni Mount Washington Resort
Address: 310 Mount Washington Hotel Rd, Bretton Woods, NH 03575-3098 (Formerly the Mount Washington Hotel & Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Mount Washington Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-diamond Omni Mount Washington Resort in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire offers a year-round escape just 2½ hours from Boston in NH’s majestic White Mountains! Enjoy a full-service spa, year-round canopy tour, alpine and nordic skiing at Bretton Woods, the 18-hole restored Donald Ross golf course and a wealth of indoor and outdoor pastimes. Come discover our recent $60 million renovation, fine and casual dining, endless recreational pursuits and breathtaking scenery. Grand Hotel, cozy Inn, modern Lodge and convenient Townhomes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsClick, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Mount Washington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Mount Washington Hotel Bretton Woods
Mt Washington Hotel Nh
Hotel Mount Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing