We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great even for non-skiers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great even for non-skiers”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Driving up to the hotel was even more awe-inspiring than the photos suggest. Reminiscent of an old railway hotel at Lake Louise or similar, the building seems to glow from within. Chosen by family members for an anniversary gathering, we were surrounded by friendly and helpful staff from the moment we drove up. Arriving early we expected to wait for our room to be readied but were quickly assigned and assisted with what amounted to voluminous luggage. Charming to be in a staffed elevator... how often do you see that? Our room was spacious, with wonderful views. We took advantage of the free shuttle to meet our family members at the ski base pub. Good beer, including at least one from nearby Woodstock Brewery. Our first night was spent 'pub crawling' and the Omni has a number to choose from, with quite decent food or snacks available. We had been briefly disappointed that the main dining room at the hotel wasn't yet finished being remodeled, so had a breakfast buffet out in the President's wing, acceptable but would rather have had a seated menu-selected meal. We'd been informed the dining room wouldn't be available for our family celebration the second night so instead took (again) the shuttle to the Bretton Woods Arms restaurant which was perhaps an even better choice for a lovely, well prepared, well served meal. Turkish Ibrahim was our server and deserves several stars. We were more amused than disappointed by our 3:00 p.m. 'historical tour' of the hotel by a woman who really could have used more training. After putting significant hotel dates in 1922 plunk into the middle of the first World War, she commented that as 'gas' couldn't be used in lighting they resorted to "LP." She was uncomfortable rationalizing the choice of New Hampshire for the Bretton Woods Conference, seeming to apologize to 'any Southerners here?' that the South wouldn't have accommodated the various countries represented. Before the end of the tour, the 40 or so attendees had dwindled to less than 10, which didn't include our party. Even in the midst of a massive Sun. morning checkout, the valets and buspersons accommodated our need to shift significant amounts of luggage from our car to a family member's car, not an easy task. In all, a great experience, with more laughs than we'd anticipated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narrowboatersia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,146
    712
    309
    144
    88
See reviews for
1,050
1,626
42
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The mount Washington hotel is a very nice relaxing place. It has a lot of space for the kids and super views, entertaining activities and spa. We got a nice corner bedroom with two double beds. The room had a very nice view of the mountains in the back of the hotel. The breakfast is really fantastic with an excellent selection. The restaurant is nice but we prefer to go to the main restaurant only once during our stay. We prefer the restaurant in the lower level that has more casual dining and really nice food. We never had issues with the service but it seems to us that during the Christmas season they have students doing an internship to complement the staff. I recommend this hotel for families and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofi2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We rented 2 rooms for 2 nights @ $ 600.00 each per night Christmas vacation week. By the reaction of the staff, you would think no one told them it might be busy. Had to chase down a bell hop for luggage. Called to confirm dinner reservation 3 hours ahead, no call back.
Came back from skiing, they had not cleaned the room ? Said "they were very busy today". They sent up clean towels. Better service at a Clarion or Marriott
The people that Omni did decide to employ we're very friendly. I hope they can keep it up for 3 more months.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boatguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Mt. Washington Resort several times and returned there because it was a special place. This time we were very disappointed in the service. The quality is way below par for the upscale image that this revived beautiful hotel deserves. Clearly the staff is not well trained, although most were quite polite.
It begins when you arrive. As you pull up with your vehicle, one would expect to be greeted promptly. We waited in the car for about 10 minutes before anyone greeted us. Granted, they appeared busy, but a resort like this should have adequate staff to accommodate the guests.
Then we checked in at 3:00 only to find out that our room was not ready. When asked when it would be ready, the woman at the desk told us she had no idea but she would call my cell and let us know. An hour later, still no call. Again, lack of training. Granted, they did offer us a drink and appetizer in the lounge. After I went to the desk to inquire again, this time to a different employee, they checked the computer and came up with a different room to put us in.
The next morning we wanted to take the shuttle to the ski area. We waited almost 40 minutes for it to come. Totally unacceptable.
Nothing seems coordinated at the front desk or with any of the services, like the valet.
The food at the restaurants in only mediocre and don't bother trying it at the ski resort, a terrible rip off.
Warning: carefully check your bill before you check out. This is not the first time I had a charge that was not mine. This time it was for room service of about $35.00. I heard other people complain of the same thing while I was at the desk.
After speaking to the manager, they did offer and follow through with a partial credit on my bill.
Now that all said, there are good things about the place. The setting can not be beat, especially on a clear day. The views are spectacular and the hotel is stately.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

What words can describe this incredible hotel? History, elegance, charm, ambiance, warmth, grandeur are just a few of the words that come to mind. Though some of the hotel was under renovation, most of the property was available for us to enjoy. Very helpful and friendly staff is just what one would expect in the heart of New Hampshire and the MWR did not disappoint. We had one especially pleasant wait person serve us at breakfast which left a wonderful feeling of warmth on our last day. If you ski, hike or just want to relax this is the place to be this winter. no doubt the golf is fantastic in the summer but that I can only assume since the course was covered with snow during our stay. Excellent food ... the breakfast buffet is amongst the best we have experienced. The lobby fireplace as big as the come .....a heated outdoor pool which makes a winter dip very enticing and enough indoor activities to keep young and old alike, occupied.

My final thoughts: Try it, You'll like it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We signed up for thier Facebook rate of $99.00 per night.We arrived on Dec 17th for a 2 night stay. As everyone else familiar with this hotel knows, there was Car Hop/Bell Man service upon arrival. Check-In went smooth. We arrived there with friends who and we all requested same type room, 2 q beds, however, our friends got the better deal, a handicapped room with much more space to walk around in. Our room was pretty much a smaller room with much less space.

Beds were comfy enough, but the pillows were crappy. Also, our room climate control didn't work right to a point where @ 11:30pm, the room was 80* F and the setting was on 68*F. After calling the desk they sent a maint guy up who reset the sys and shut off the radiator & opened 1 window.

Thankfully, closing the radiator helped after awhile. The open window did squat as the weather was a bit on the mild side that night, go figure.

Since the only place to eat there at this time was Stckney's down stairs, we had our meals there, but they were pricey, to be expected.

There's a small place at the lower level to buy food in, Cabots. The girl working the counter had a snob attitude as if she would have prefered being eslewhere. other employees that we encountered were very polite.

We ran into an Omni Rep by the name of Tammy from the hotel's Corp office in Fla, she's at the Mount till next March doing PR work, etc. Tammy was exemplary of typical southern hospitality. Also, Richard/Mathew, Elevator Operators, Mathew/Brittany at the Guests Reg Desk, the Consierge Desk, Rear Porch Wait Staff, Post Office counter.

The hotel is currently decked out for Christmas, in fact, they were adding last minute inside deco to the Main Lobby while we watched. That Christmas theme added more charm to our visit.

Since the weather was inclimately bad(wintery mix) during our stay, the roads conditions were less than favorable for a drive to the Conways, so we opted to just stgay in the Main Lobby areas and Porch most of the time.

IF and WHEN they do another online special limited time posting of a huge reduced rate, we'll book here again. Be prepared to spend a lot of money for meals/tips/other services.

They've just completed the inside renovations other than the Main Dining Room, otherwise, the outside of the hotel, in several areas needs refurbishing. The views, OUTSTANDING! There's a LOT to do at this place, depending on what time of year you visit. Also, if you need to be abreast of local area weather, channel 40 on thier cable TV is NWS (National Weather Servise atop Mt Washington Observatory) They also have it posted on a small card at the main desk.

I was very dissapointed at the fireplaces, all INSERTS now, NOT the real thing with genuine logs :(

This hotel has an INCREDIBLE HISTORY to it, and they have info at the main desk that addresses that.

It's December, during the week, and the place was quite filled with a lot of younger crowds. Guessing that several schools were already out on Christmas Break. We were told at the front desk that they were already booked solid for Christmas/New Years, go figure...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrenAndBob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed a night at the Mount Washington Resort in the middle of Hurricane Sandy. Thankfully they had power! It was the night before Halloween and I had read the hotel had some good ghost stories, so we were excited to stay there. It was sort of a bummer, but they didn't have anything halloween themed. We figured they could have done ghost stories by the fire or the movie they show could have been Halloween themed. I think they missed the mark on this holiday.

We had a beautiful corner room with great views and a cozy bed. The hotel really is quite beautiful and grand. I loved that they still have an elevator operator, which really makes you feel like you are part of another era. We also decided to go on the hotel history tour, because there is so much to explore in this hotel, I wish we had more than one night this trip, so we will have to go back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Akelleral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
277 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
14.9 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
12.2 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Mount Washington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Mount Washington Resort

Property: Omni Mount Washington Resort
Address: 310 Mount Washington Hotel Rd, Bretton Woods, NH 03575-3098 (Formerly the Mount Washington Hotel & Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Mount Washington Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-diamond Omni Mount Washington Resort in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire offers a year-round escape just 2½ hours from Boston in NH’s majestic White Mountains! Enjoy a full-service spa, year-round canopy tour, alpine and nordic skiing at Bretton Woods, the 18-hole restored Donald Ross golf course and a wealth of indoor and outdoor pastimes. Come discover our recent $60 million renovation, fine and casual dining, endless recreational pursuits and breathtaking scenery. Grand Hotel, cozy Inn, modern Lodge and convenient Townhomes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Omni Mount Washington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Mount Washington Hotel Bretton Woods
Mt Washington Hotel Nh
Hotel Mount Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing