We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand retreat in the moutains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel had excellent customer service and great activities. I traveled with my family (3 young children). From the front desk, to the concierge, to the restaurant leadership (Ben), we were constantly impressed. It is located in one of the most beautiful settings in the White Mountains.

The hotel is from a golden era in American hotel travel history -- the turn of the century grand American resort vacation. It reminded me of the movie "Somewhere in Time." But it isn't a fussy resort - families with young children are welcome and dress is casual. If you are seeking a romantic getaway, there are plenty of places to tuck yourself away from the maddening crowd (spa, mountain hiking, skiing, firepit, horse-drawn carriage) and escape the hub-bub of children and tourists. And you can really escape here - the grounds are great for hiking, there's a golf course on site, the facility offers skiing a short hop away by hotel shuttle service. A common evening activity for families is to sit on sofas in the giant lobby area by the fireplace and play board games. The ceilings in the lobby must be 50 feet high! The hotel was the site of a famous Jimmy Connors tennis match in the 70s and has been visited by other celebs and politicians many times over. There are interesting history display cases throughout the hotel. It has undergone an extensive renovation, still in progress on the exterior (new roofing and siding). The main hotel rooms have been updated but retain their vintage charm. On the same property is the Bretton Arms, a short 5 minute walk thru a woodland path. Guests here get access to hotel amenities and a little more privacy. The dining at Bretton Arms is exceptional, especially for a hotel with room < $300.
A few highlights: ice-skating on roof deck (synthetic surface but my young kids had fun for 30 minutes), skiing, the indoor pool and hot tub, the game room, the main lobby. Staff brought my kids complimentary milkshakes the day of our departure. Great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trippey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,070 - 3,076 of 3,674 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving at the resort and overall we were very happy with our stay. The hotel is simply magnificent and you truly feel that you have stepped back in time. The Great Hall is just amazing, a great place to sit with families, have a cocktail and simply relax. Staff in the Great Hall were excellent as well.

Unfortunately there was no snow which was fine but truthfully we were looking forward to doing some snowshoeing and other winter related activities. It was so warm that the golf course could have been open. Thankfully the resort had a full agenda of activities for both the kids and adults which kept all of us hopping.

A few things that were disappointing were the food, and service was inconsistent. The only real breakfast and dinner options were a buffet. It was extremely overpriced and the quality of the food simply was not there. Our server at breakfast was stressed just by us asking for juice, we had to ask several times for coffee which is just not acceptable. Wait times were long and the hall where the buffet was being served was half full at best. The Host was not very friendly and I thought acted like a complete jerk.

We opted to have Thanksgiving dinner at the Bretton Arms Inn which is on the property, between dinner and our server Carl it was a wonderful experience.

Service overall was not what I expected. Some staff were amazing and right on task with anything and everything you asked and others could not possibly have cared less if they met your expectations or not. I was very taken aback on several occasions during our stay by comments that staff made. The people at the Concierge desk as an example, were not very helpful and were dis-interested. Concierge desks at other resorts typically go out of their way to be of assistance during your stay and I never felt that way with this group.

Overall we enjoyed our first stay at the Mt Washington Hotel and we definitely intend to return, despite some of the issues we had. The property is simply too beautiful to not enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kgosselin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Omni Mt. Washington resort and were pleased with the hotel and some of the restaurants. There is something for everyone at this resort and the staff were very helpful. Dinner at Stickneys was fabulous as was the breakfast buffet but we were most disappointed with Fabyons Station.....maybe they were having a bad night. Based on reviews on this website, we decided to venture to Fabyons and did not enjoy either of our meals. There was no point in returning the food because there wasn't anything else on the menu we wanted. Quality not quantity would be my suggestion. This was our only criticism during our stay at Mt. Washington resort....the facility is relaxing, the rooms are beautifully appointed and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ModelT1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

An absolutely stunning resort with a wide range of actitivites. Whether relaxing by the fireplace in the grand lobby, skiing or zip-lining at Bretton Woods or enjoying quiet time at the spa, there is an appealing activity for every person in your family. The children's programs were good including nightly movies and an arcade.
A major disappointment was the lack of good service. All of the meals were buffets which is not mentioned on the website or when we called for reservations. Every food choice contained dairy with little or no choices for alternatives provided by the chef. Drink orders were late. Staff were pleasant, but were poorly trained or informed. At one point, the hotel ran out of chicken fingers and hot cocoa (this on a holiday weekend packed with kids). The atmosphere was always pleasant and lively, very nice holiday decorations and live music in the lobby and at dinner. The indoor pool is on the small side, but the locker room facilities and the spa are very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook current construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I consider The Spa a main attraction for this lovely Hotel. The staff were very professional and the accommodations were so relaxing and pleasant. It also helps to be with 3 great friends for a girls weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Mt. Washington Resort is a fantastic place to stay and a must do for your vacation! The Staff is extremely helpful and friendly and the hotel is magnificent. We stayed in a corner vista room with a fireplace and it's a place you just don't want to leave . . very comfortable and cozy and a warm place to kick back, relax and enjoy. There are several restaurants to choose to eat, (Fabyans is fantastic near by) little shops, a post office, game room, spa, and guest laundry. The backdrop of Mt. Washington is beautiful. The Cog Railway is only about 4 miles away and another must do. Route 302 towards North Conway is full of paths, falls, and brooks and trails to explore. I highly recommend this hotel and know you will love your stay there!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 200 and it was fantastic!! Corner vista room. Fireplace. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Positives:
- you stay in a slice of history, hotels looks fantastic whilst driving up on the drive way with the backdrop of the mountains. It is like a fairy tale.
- lobby and other public spaces are great, we stayed in winter. Roaring fires all the times, lovely atmosphere
- great service. Always someone on hand to offer a drink, prompt service in Stickneys, roomservice, valet, always with a smile
- good facilities such as a gym

Negatives
- we stayed a traditional room which is their best value. But it is not good value at 260$ a night for a broom cupboard. Those rooms are so small. They also put TV on desk which makes for an uncomfortable angle to watch TV. This is an old hotel so they cannot change size of those rooms but I did not enjoy it.
- noisy: you hear every sound from hallway, plumbing is noisy

All in all, I did enjoy our stay as it such a fine old hotel. We enjoyed the walks in the snow and sipping a drink by the fire but I am not sure if I want to stay again. There are quite a few flaws and I am not sure if it warrants the price tag. Having said that, it is worth at least the stay for the experience and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Pay more for bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
316 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
14.9 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,413 reviews
12.2 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Mount Washington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Mount Washington Resort

Address: 310 Mount Washington Hotel Rd, Bretton Woods, NH 03575-3098 (Formerly the Mount Washington Hotel & Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range: $246 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Mount Washington Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-diamond Omni Mount Washington Resort in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire offers a year-round escape just 2½ hours from Boston in NH’s majestic White Mountains! Enjoy a full-service spa, year-round canopy tour, alpine and nordic skiing at Bretton Woods, the 18-hole restored Donald Ross golf course and a wealth of indoor and outdoor pastimes. Come discover our recent $60 million renovation, fine and casual dining, endless recreational pursuits and breathtaking scenery. Grand Hotel, cozy Inn, modern Lodge and convenient Townhomes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Mount Washington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Mount Washington Hotel Bretton Woods
Mt Washington Hotel Nh
Hotel Mount Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing