We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went downhill”

Fabyan's Station Restaurant and Lounge
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Southington, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went downhill”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Sadly this place went downhill from what it once was. We went back expecting a great upscale dining experience with top notch food and awesome servers, found a rundown place, no table linens no great servers and the food was TERRIBLE! They charged top dollar for bland tasteless food. Never going back again. So sad.

Helpful?
1 Thank Evergrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    214
    131
    43
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Salem, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“need to clean up their act”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

always wanted to try this palce for years . Well went there this Aug with friends and family and as we left our cars to go in I noticed what i thought was a Bear out of the corner of my eye. I then noticed a comotion off to the left of the entrance ( which is about 20-30 feet away ) It was kitchen staff and waiters and waitreses feeding Garbage to 3 Bears . It looked like a mother and her to grown cubs. As i walked over for a closer look i noticed one worker open the very large and high gates that surronded the dumpster to allow the bears easy access to the dumpster. At no time did any of them try to close or chase the bears away . One worker who came out for a smoke break walked right up to the largest bear repeatedly teasing it. We all became so discusted by this we dicided not to eat here. Anyone who reads this and cares about wild life should take this place off there list of places to eat and complain to NH Fish and Game. What made it even worse we watched as 3 local Moose Tour busses pulled in so people on the bus could see bears eating Garbage. Shame on Fabyans and the Tour busses for turning this into a Circus . Not to mention if you are leaving with a doggie bag you may have it taken from you by a hungry bear which could turn out very badly for you and the Bears . All this will lead to someone getting hurt and the Bears being destroyed. They have a 10-15 foot fence around the dumpster KEEP IT CLOSED . It would be so easy to stop this problem.I dont care how good the food may be until the owners/management of Fabyans clean up there act i will NEVER eat here and will spred the word far and wide about this shameful act. NOTE to reviewer Fun1123. Maybe the reason your steaks were over cooked is because the kitchen staff and wait staff were to busy out back teasing Bears and feeding them garbage . Food for Thought !!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
3 Thank osmadhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Mt_Washington, Manager at Fabyan's Station Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your visit to Fabyan's Station. I am truly sorry that you perceived a problem with our staff's interactions with a bear. Our unique spot in the White Mountain National Forest means that we do have to work carefully to co-exist with the natural elements that surround us. We respect the animals in our area and know that feeding them would be harmful to both the bear and to us. We are working closely with NH Fish and Game to remedy the situation, and have been in touch with them for a while about these problematic bears. Our staff is trained not to feed bears, and we have a security protocol to remove them from the area. I apologize again for your experience and hope that you will return to enjoy our history, food and service that we take so much pride in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We visited Fabyan's on a whim. we happened to be passing through the area and were ready for dinner. The atmosphere is very neat if your into trains (our son loves trains), we were seated in front of the window overlooking the train tracks. The staff were very nice ,Ashley our waitress was fantastic . The fish tacos were good, a bit spicy but certainly tasty. The kids meals were reasoably priced and included a hoodie cup. The pasta special chicken Alfredo , was terrible and expensive. Wouldn't have minded if we could have eaten it. All in all I would go again , staff was great, atmosphere was cool(it is loud and noisy - not your place if looking for quiet), I would stick with the sandwiches and appetizers and you will happy .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manda04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

A nice place to take your family, very nice atmosphere and service, decent food but not more, a safe bet for an enjoyable dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No taste”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The menu was very limited. My husband and son ordered the steak and asked for medium. Both steaks were overlooked. The waitress offered new steaks only to come back and say they were out. Then proceeded to offer the sirloin that was on special only to come back again and say they had to run up to the hotel to get them. So both of my men decided to order something else. Food was cold! The fish tacos were awful, hardly any haddock and tons of coleslaw mix, tasteless and disappointed!! Highly do not recommend this place!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabyan's Station Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Bretton Woods, White Mountains
Bretton Woods, White Mountains
 
Bretton Woods, White Mountains
 
Bretton Woods, White Mountains
Twin Mountain, White Mountains
 

Been to Fabyan's Station Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing