We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Given this hotel was just renovated it was disappointing. Yes a cosmetic renovation was done on the public areas and the individual room sleeping area but the bathroom work was incomplete and disappointing. Everything worked but:
1. bath room floor has to be at least 20 years old and looks every year of it.
2. shower/tub, toilet and shower tile were not done. Grout and caulk was dirty and needs to be done.
3. Entry floor is not done, it also looks at least 20 years old.
These areas are not up to the standard of a recent renovation.
The staff was very pleasant but not very knowledgable of anything not associated with Omni in the local area.

Room Tip: If you can afford it stay at the Mt Washington Hotel, although is it expensive as are the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Mt_Washington, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thanks, Steve, for your recent review and stay at The Lodge at Bretton Woods. As the new Manager of The Lodge at Bretton Woods, I regret that we were unable to exceed your expectations and I will review your feedback with our team. It is through this process that we are able to enhance our guests experience.  As you mentioned we have recently undergone renovations and we are working on a few other projects including the addition of a fitness center in The Lodge.  Please reach out to our Activities Concierge at 603-278-8989 if you need assistance with finding more activities in the area. We certainly have a lot to enjoy and explore in NH’s White Mountains. I appreciate this feedback and hope to see you back in Bretton Woods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 323 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here as part of independent family trip to New England. The Lodge, hit the spot for our family, 2 adults and 2 children. The staff were all very friendly - especially Mark ( on the desk) couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was included in our rate, and was excellent, filled us all up for the day. We had the choice of breakfast at the hotel or the lodge, and having done both the lodge won for us rather than the buffet in the hotel.

Apart from exploring the area, the kids wanted to spend most of their time in the pool. They made plenty of friends and so were well entertained. When it got a bit chilly - they moved inside to the indoor pool - just as much fun for them.

We ate once in the hotel (tavern) which did the job for all of us. Not overly priced given you are captive and good food.

We went across the road to the ski resort - took the chair lift up for the view which was worth it.

If you are planning to be in that area, then I'd recommend a night or two here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank P1pster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I took our 6 year old grandson to the white mountains the 3rd week in July. We weren't looking for anything fancy just a good location and an indoor pool in case of rain. The Lodge at Bretton Woods definitely met those wishes. It's right across the road from the Omni Mt. Washington Hotel, a fabulous spot itself! Omni manages The Lodge so we got to share their activities too, including their fabulous outdoor pool and game room! Also a free shuttle will take you to and from the shared properties. The Lodge offers a continental breakfast, the mini muffins are awesome!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Mt_Washington, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thanks for your review of The Lodge at Bretton Woods. I'm glad you had the chance to take advantage of the many Omni Mount Washington Resort activities during your stay. I hope you will return again for some of those delicious mini muffins!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a nice motel in a wonderful place. The room is basic - bed, tv, bath, but does have a couple of nice extras like an ironing board/iron, and hair dryer. The view on your balcony is amazing - the grand Mt. Washington hotel set against the backdrop of the Presidential Range. Everything was clean and comfortable. We didn't check out the complimentary breakfast (it appeared to be muffins/bagels/toast/cereal with juices and coffee) but instead went across the road for the sumptuous buffet at the big hotel. Since the properties are linked, you can use your room card to charge meals, golf, horseback riding, etc. on the property to your room. There is an indoor pool and hot tub, but we didn't use them. It was quite hot when we were there (over 80 degrees) but as soon as we turned on the A/C, the room was cool and comfortable in just a couple of minutes. Front desk staffer was friendly but seemed a bit harried. You can use the money you save here to enjoy some of the wonderful attractions in the area - hiking, ziplining, mountain biking, archery, horseback riding, golf, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The location is great(If going to the White Mountain National Park), with not so many dining choices around. Breakfast could be improved, only one person in charge of cleaning and restocking the breakfast area. No A/C in the common areas, so if it gets humid and hot outside then it will be inside too, and then they have to open the windows and bugs get inside while you are eating. Rooms are spaceous and nice, loved the views from the front and back of the building.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joycenp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess_Manager, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Hi Joycenp11, thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Lodge at Bretton Woods. I am pleased to let you know we are working on a project to improve our Internet speed and investigating options to extend air conditioning to our lobby. The Lodge has recently been renovated and this feedback is important to us as we strive to improve our guest experience.Thanks for reviewing our complimentary breakfast service and your stay at the Omni Mount Washington Resort, and we hope to see you back in Bretton Woods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family stayed here for one night and woke up to a breathtaking view of Mt. Washington. The room was clean and big enough for 2 adults and 2 kids. Nice balcony with great views and an indoor pool. Nice place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank michaeldL8532PF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Wanted to visit the White Mountain National park and picked this hotel because the price seemed reasonable - USD 840 for two nights with my family in three rooms. We checked this site before booking and the reviews were either blessings or the total opposite. That is one lesson learned - watch out for that pattern.

Rooms were OK. All rooms here seem to be identical and facing the road. That is not a problem because the traffic is not that intense in the mountains. TV is good with a nice selection of channels.

There were a lot of minor issues that could easily be improved. However, the one thing that really annoyed me was the internet speed. It is so slow it is almost unusable. Speedtest.net told me it came in at 0.37 Mbps when the test was finally complete.

So forget abut streaming ... and almost anything else.


TLDR: Don't be cheap. If you are spoiled like we are, you might want to consider somewhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be identical and are facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess_Manager, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Hi Torben, thank you for your recent visit to The Lodge at Bretton Woods. I am pleased to let you know we are working on a project to improve our Internet speed. It is our goal to provide all our guests with a great stay in Bretton Woods and we were sorry to hear that we couldn’t exceed expectations on your recent trip with your family. The Lodge is a unique part of the legendary Mount Washington Resort -- affording guests all the resort amenities, from golf, tennis and swimming to skiing, skating and horseback riding. The resort offers a variety of activities and accommodations to fit a variety of tastes and budgets, please don’t hesitate to reach out to a reservations specialist if we be of assistance planning your next trip to the White Mountains. Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback and hope to see you in Bretton Woods again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
0.6 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,794 reviews
12 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
522 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
5.1 mi away
Carlson's Lodge
Carlson's Lodge
#2 of 6 in Twin Mountain
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Bretton Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Bretton Woods

Address: 2653 Route 302 East, Mount Washington Resort, Bretton Woods, NH 03575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range: $172 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Bretton Woods 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located in the heart of the White Mountain National Forest in Bretton Woods, NH, The Lodge offers easy access to countless outdoor adventures, great balcony views overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and a soothing indoor heated pool. It's your base for outdoor adventures in New Hampshire's White Mountains.

In the shadow of Mt. Washington on Route 302, The Lodge is part of the legendary Mount Washington Resort -- affording guests all the resort amenities, from golf, tennis and swimming to skiing, skating and horseback riding. Or simply enjoy the spectacular views on walks, bike rides and hikes on and around the property. Take a short stroll to the Omni Mount Washington Hotel, where you can sit on the veranda of this historic grand hotel or tour rooms where history was made.

The Lodge is ideally situated to take advantage of five ski areas just minutes away. Bretton Woods, New Hampshire's largest ski area, offers a friendly atmosphere, superior snow and four high-speed quads, while Nordic fans can ski 100 km of some of NH's best cross-country trails at the Bretton Woods Nordic Center. Your whole family will find plenty to do, and there's even the Kids' Club with activities that range from cooking with the chef, to trips, to snowshoe nature walks. And when you're ready to go out, you can use the convenient Resort shuttle to get around.

Each room at this conveniently-located motel has a private balcony or patio overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and the Omni Mount Washington Hotel. Our indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and sauna offer a soothing retreat. The Lodge's Hearthside Lounge is welcoming and cozy, perfect for a meeting or reception. With activities, restaurants, lounges, live nightly entertainment and other special attractions, there are plenty of opportunities to relax -- but no chance you'll be bored.

The Lodge is located in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, only 2 1/2 hours from Boston.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Bretton Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Bretton Woods Hotel Bretton Woods
Hotel Bretton Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing