We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, Hotel...not sure what to say” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Bretton Woods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice location, Hotel...not sure what to say”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Wanted to visit the White Mountain National park and picked this hotel because the price seemed reasonable - USD 840 for two nights with my family in three rooms. We checked this site before booking and the reviews were either blessings or the total opposite. That is one lesson learned - watch out for that pattern.

Rooms were OK. All rooms here seem to be identical and facing the road. That is not a problem because the traffic is not that intense in the mountains. TV is good with a nice selection of channels.

There were a lot of minor issues that could easily be improved. However, the one thing that really annoyed me was the internet speed. It is so slow it is almost unusable. Speedtest.net told me it came in at 0.37 Mbps when the test was finally complete.

So forget abut streaming ... and almost anything else.


TLDR: Don't be cheap. If you are spoiled like we are, you might want to consider somewhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be identical and are facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess_Manager, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Torben, thank you for your recent visit to The Lodge at Bretton Woods. I am pleased to let you know we are working on a project to improve our Internet speed. It is our goal to provide all our guests with a great stay in Bretton Woods and we were sorry to hear that we couldn’t exceed expectations on your recent trip with your family. The Lodge is a unique part of the legendary Mount Washington Resort -- affording guests all the resort amenities, from golf, tennis and swimming to skiing, skating and horseback riding. The resort offers a variety of activities and accommodations to fit a variety of tastes and budgets, please don’t hesitate to reach out to a reservations specialist if we be of assistance planning your next trip to the White Mountains. Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback and hope to see you in Bretton Woods again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    84
    62
    51
    31
See reviews for
104
90
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holte, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Good location, and ok clean rooms. However, the internet connection is just too slow, the breakfast restaurant poor with no tea, no cream cheese, etc. - quite easy to do something about one should think. We had three rooms and had aircon problems in one, a door problem which was fixed quickly, a sewer problem, only mosquito nets in one of the rooms. Nice pool and jacuzzi and in general a helpful staff.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess_Manager, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Ida. We appreciate you reviewing your recent stay at The Lodge at Bretton Woods. I am happy to share that we are working on a project that will improve our Internet speed. Sorry to hear of a few problems that arose during your stay but pleased to hear that these were addressed quickly by our helpful staff. Thank you for reviewing our complimentary breakfast service, your feedback is important to us as we continue to improve our guest experience. We hope to see you back in Bretton Woods!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bretton Woods hotels

Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is the perfect place to stay if you want to enjoy all of the amenities of the Mt Washington Resort but want to save $$ - we thoroughly appreciated the 24-hour shuttle to the resort, free breakfast at the lodge, and comfortable room with a gorgeous view of the resort. We pretty much stayed at the Mt Washington Resort the whole time, and just slept at the lodge & also used the indoor pool - perfect way to save $$ and we still enjoyed our weekend tremendously!

Room Tip: All rooms face the gorgeous Mt Washington Resort and mountains. 2nd floor has balcony, 1st floor has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicat01938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Nice room. Nice view of big destination resort across road where you have to go for a drink sitting on veranda looking at T. Washington . That is the grand old resort where you go with your steamer trunks, etc. Lodge is the motel across road
Only complaint: hard roll pillows on bed ( found no regular pillows) are BRUTAL on the neck.

Room Tip: All rooms have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess_Manager, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Scoot C! Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the The Lodge at Bretton Woods. We are glad to hear you had a great stay and appreciated the Presidential views. We will be sharing your feedback on the pillows in an effort to improve our guests’ experience. We hope to see you again in Bretton Woods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just came back from a great trip to New Hamphire including a great stay at The Lodge at Bretton Woods. Elliott, Cathy and Christine all provided great service as well as the gentleman servicing the free breakfast. I would certainly stay again.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, everything worked and the view from the balcony was spectacular. I was advised it had been recently renovated. I dont know what the room might have looked like pre renovation but it looked like any room I would expect to get at a branded select service hotel. The hotel has a pool, jacuzzi and sauna but I did not get a chance to try any of those.

I drove over to the Mt. Washington Hotel a couple times (they provide a shuttle but its a two minute ride) and ate at Stickneys and the Main Dinning Room. I did a little roaming of the grounds as well. I can see why some reviewers might wish they were staying AT the Mount Washington, its beautiful, but the price there was more than twice the rate at the Lodge. Unless champagne is pouring from the faucets the Lodge is just too good a value.

Room Tip: I was nervous my room might face the back but all rooms face the Presidential Mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThirstyGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

First of all, if you plan ahead, you can probably get a hotel room at the Mt. Washington Hotel/Resort for the same amount of money we paid for our room at the Lodge. This was our most expensive hotel on our vacation. There was very little luxury to be found for this price. We were, as my husband put, "staying where the poor folks sleep."

It's very, very plain on the outside with two staircases located in the center for guests to get to the second floor rooms. The rooms themselves have had some renovation done to them; mainly some new furniture, linens but the bathrooms and the entrance is still very sixties in appearance. We had great hot water and towels. Toiletries were supplied but there was no hair dryer which struck me odd.The entire decor was what you would find in an average hotel; certainly not one that cost over $180 a night.

Breakfast was pretty bland. Just cereals, bagels, and a few yogurts. Apparently most of the food is gone by 9 a.m. but there appeared to be evidence of maybe eggs earlier. Parking was good and you had a good view of the Mt. Washington Hotel. You also received a discount of about $2 off of any of the attractions belonging to this chain.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank readhd59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess_Manager, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello readhd59, and thanks for your recent review of your stay at The Lodge at Bretton Woods. Guest rooms and public areas at The Lodge have been refreshed and revitalized just in time for summer, and we now serve an enhanced continental breakfast with select hot items (included with all stays)! As you mentioned, the resort offers a variety of different lodging and activity options to fit a variety of needs and budgets. It is our goal to provide all our guests with a great stay in Bretton Woods! The Lodge is a unique part of the legendary Mount Washington Resort -- affording guests all the resort amenities, from golf, tennis and swimming to skiing, skating and horseback riding. We continue to strive to improve our guests’ experience and appreciate your feedback. We hope you visit us again and please feel free to reach out to our reservations team if we can be of assistance choosing the best accommodations for your stay.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Supposedly The Lodge has completed their renovation. Unfortunately I think they forgot to add any insulation. We had too complain to the Front Desk about the noise from the room above us. The rooms are very average and the breakfast was poor.
I would not recommend it for a family or a couple. It would be OK for a "boys" ski weekend.
The only benefit of The Lodge is the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PD35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi PD35,

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay at The Lodge at Bretton Woods. I am sorry to hear that noise from neighboring rooms was an issue during your stay. As you mentioned, we did recently renovate guest rooms and public areas just in time for summer, and are now offering a FREE enhanced continental breakfast with select hot items included with all stays! If you would like to add additional comments, would love more feedback on breakfast especially, I would like to investigate further. We have been receiving many compliments and aim to make sure all of guests have a great experience. Thank you for time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
15.0 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
15.3 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
22.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
12.0 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Bretton Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Bretton Woods

Property: The Lodge at Bretton Woods
Address: 2653 Route 302 East, Mount Washington Resort, Bretton Woods, NH 03575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Bretton Woods 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located in the heart of the White Mountain National Forest in Bretton Woods, NH, The Lodge offers easy access to countless outdoor adventures, great balcony views overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and a soothing indoor heated pool. It's your base for outdoor adventures in New Hampshire's White Mountains.

In the shadow of Mt. Washington on Route 302, The Lodge is part of the legendary Mount Washington Resort -- affording guests all the resort amenities, from golf, tennis and swimming to skiing, skating and horseback riding. Or simply enjoy the spectacular views on walks, bike rides and hikes on and around the property. Take a short stroll to the Omni Mount Washington Hotel, where you can sit on the veranda of this historic grand hotel or tour rooms where history was made.

The Lodge is ideally situated to take advantage of five ski areas just minutes away. Bretton Woods, New Hampshire's largest ski area, offers a friendly atmosphere, superior snow and four high-speed quads, while Nordic fans can ski 100 km of some of NH's best cross-country trails at the Bretton Woods Nordic Center. Your whole family will find plenty to do, and there's even the Kids' Club with activities that range from cooking with the chef, to trips, to snowshoe nature walks. And when you're ready to go out, you can use the convenient Resort shuttle to get around.

Each room at this conveniently-located motel has a private balcony or patio overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and the Omni Mount Washington Hotel. Our indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and sauna offer a soothing retreat. The Lodge's Hearthside Lounge is welcoming and cozy, perfect for a meeting or reception. With activities, restaurants, lounges, live nightly entertainment and other special attractions, there are plenty of opportunities to relax -- but no chance you'll be bored.

The Lodge is located in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, only 2 1/2 hours from Boston.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge at Bretton Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Bretton Woods Hotel Bretton Woods
Hotel Bretton Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing