We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could easily improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Holte, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could easily improve”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Good location, and ok clean rooms. However, the internet connection is just too slow, the breakfast restaurant poor with no tea, no cream cheese, etc. - quite easy to do something about one should think. We had three rooms and had aircon problems in one, a door problem which was fixed quickly, a sewer problem, only mosquito nets in one of the rooms. Nice pool and jacuzzi and in general a helpful staff.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess_Manager, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Ida. We appreciate you reviewing your recent stay at The Lodge at Bretton Woods. I am happy to share that we are working on a project that will improve our Internet speed. Sorry to hear of a few problems that arose during your stay but pleased to hear that these were addressed quickly by our helpful staff. Thank you for reviewing our complimentary breakfast service, your feedback is important to us as we continue to improve our guest experience. We hope to see you back in Bretton Woods!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    86
    64
    52
    32
See reviews for
107
91
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is the perfect place to stay if you want to enjoy all of the amenities of the Mt Washington Resort but want to save $$ - we thoroughly appreciated the 24-hour shuttle to the resort, free breakfast at the lodge, and comfortable room with a gorgeous view of the resort. We pretty much stayed at the Mt Washington Resort the whole time, and just slept at the lodge & also used the indoor pool - perfect way to save $$ and we still enjoyed our weekend tremendously!

Room Tip: All rooms face the gorgeous Mt Washington Resort and mountains. 2nd floor has balcony, 1st floor has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicat01938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Nice room. Nice view of big destination resort across road where you have to go for a drink sitting on veranda looking at T. Washington . That is the grand old resort where you go with your steamer trunks, etc. Lodge is the motel across road
Only complaint: hard roll pillows on bed ( found no regular pillows) are BRUTAL on the neck.

Room Tip: All rooms have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess_Manager, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Scoot C! Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the The Lodge at Bretton Woods. We are glad to hear you had a great stay and appreciated the Presidential views. We will be sharing your feedback on the pillows in an effort to improve our guests’ experience. We hope to see you again in Bretton Woods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just came back from a great trip to New Hamphire including a great stay at The Lodge at Bretton Woods. Elliott, Cathy and Christine all provided great service as well as the gentleman servicing the free breakfast. I would certainly stay again.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, everything worked and the view from the balcony was spectacular. I was advised it had been recently renovated. I dont know what the room might have looked like pre renovation but it looked like any room I would expect to get at a branded select service hotel. The hotel has a pool, jacuzzi and sauna but I did not get a chance to try any of those.

I drove over to the Mt. Washington Hotel a couple times (they provide a shuttle but its a two minute ride) and ate at Stickneys and the Main Dinning Room. I did a little roaming of the grounds as well. I can see why some reviewers might wish they were staying AT the Mount Washington, its beautiful, but the price there was more than twice the rate at the Lodge. Unless champagne is pouring from the faucets the Lodge is just too good a value.

Room Tip: I was nervous my room might face the back but all rooms face the Presidential Mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThirstyGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

First of all, if you plan ahead, you can probably get a hotel room at the Mt. Washington Hotel/Resort for the same amount of money we paid for our room at the Lodge. This was our most expensive hotel on our vacation. There was very little luxury to be found for this price. We were, as my husband put, "staying where the poor folks sleep."

It's very, very plain on the outside with two staircases located in the center for guests to get to the second floor rooms. The rooms themselves have had some renovation done to them; mainly some new furniture, linens but the bathrooms and the entrance is still very sixties in appearance. We had great hot water and towels. Toiletries were supplied but there was no hair dryer which struck me odd.The entire decor was what you would find in an average hotel; certainly not one that cost over $180 a night.

Breakfast was pretty bland. Just cereals, bagels, and a few yogurts. Apparently most of the food is gone by 9 a.m. but there appeared to be evidence of maybe eggs earlier. Parking was good and you had a good view of the Mt. Washington Hotel. You also received a discount of about $2 off of any of the attractions belonging to this chain.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readhd59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess_Manager, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello readhd59, and thanks for your recent review of your stay at The Lodge at Bretton Woods. Guest rooms and public areas at The Lodge have been refreshed and revitalized just in time for summer, and we now serve an enhanced continental breakfast with select hot items (included with all stays)! As you mentioned, the resort offers a variety of different lodging and activity options to fit a variety of needs and budgets. It is our goal to provide all our guests with a great stay in Bretton Woods! The Lodge is a unique part of the legendary Mount Washington Resort -- affording guests all the resort amenities, from golf, tennis and swimming to skiing, skating and horseback riding. We continue to strive to improve our guests’ experience and appreciate your feedback. We hope you visit us again and please feel free to reach out to our reservations team if we can be of assistance choosing the best accommodations for your stay.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Supposedly The Lodge has completed their renovation. Unfortunately I think they forgot to add any insulation. We had too complain to the Front Desk about the noise from the room above us. The rooms are very average and the breakfast was poor.
I would not recommend it for a family or a couple. It would be OK for a "boys" ski weekend.
The only benefit of The Lodge is the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PD35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi PD35,

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay at The Lodge at Bretton Woods. I am sorry to hear that noise from neighboring rooms was an issue during your stay. As you mentioned, we did recently renovate guest rooms and public areas just in time for summer, and are now offering a FREE enhanced continental breakfast with select hot items included with all stays! If you would like to add additional comments, would love more feedback on breakfast especially, I would like to investigate further. We have been receiving many compliments and aim to make sure all of guests have a great experience. Thank you for time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Not great but not bad, just your above average hotel in northern NH.

Parking was very easy and big lot kind of motel style parking.

The front desk staff was friendly and assisted us with any request we had.

The lobby and breakfast area was clean. The breakfast was good & lots of choices. A designated busser was there to refill, clean and assist with any questions.

The pool was heated,clean and great with lots of towels.
The hot tub area however needed a good sweeping and dusting as it hadn't been done in a while.

The room was an average hotel room. Plenty big enough for 2 people. King bed was comfortable, linens were clean. The pillows were way too fluffy or large to realistically rest your head on to sleep. Also putting a blanket between 2 sheets as a sort of comforter seemed a bit cheap for $100 a night. A feathered duvet or comforter would make the hotel seem a bit nicer. The tv was adequate but remote did not work and finding the buttons on the back of the tv was awkward.

The cleanliness of the bathroom could be improved as there was some dust in the corner. Improved amenities, like a bottle of conditioner and body wash would help improve this place too. Sometimes it's the little things that stand out.

Overall I would stay here again. I don't feel it is worth $100 a night. More of a $70 night hotel. The view of Mt Washington and the Mt Washington Hotel is fantastic. The hotel is less than ten minutes from the Mt Washington Cog Railway, the Jewel hiking trail and the town of Twin Mt. And maybe 20 minutes from Storyland. A great base if your visiting any of those places.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amber1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
15.6 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.6 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
14.6 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Townhomes at Bretton Woods
The Townhomes at Bretton Woods
#3 of 3 in Bretton Woods
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Bretton Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Bretton Woods

Property: The Lodge at Bretton Woods
Address: 2653 Route 302 East, Mount Washington Resort, Bretton Woods, NH 03575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Bretton Woods 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located in the heart of the White Mountain National Forest in Bretton Woods, NH, The Lodge offers easy access to countless outdoor adventures, great balcony views overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and a soothing indoor heated pool. It's your base for outdoor adventures in New Hampshire's White Mountains.

In the shadow of Mt. Washington on Route 302, The Lodge is part of the legendary Mount Washington Resort -- affording guests all the resort amenities, from golf, tennis and swimming to skiing, skating and horseback riding. Or simply enjoy the spectacular views on walks, bike rides and hikes on and around the property. Take a short stroll to the Omni Mount Washington Hotel, where you can sit on the veranda of this historic grand hotel or tour rooms where history was made.

The Lodge is ideally situated to take advantage of five ski areas just minutes away. Bretton Woods, New Hampshire's largest ski area, offers a friendly atmosphere, superior snow and four high-speed quads, while Nordic fans can ski 100 km of some of NH's best cross-country trails at the Bretton Woods Nordic Center. Your whole family will find plenty to do, and there's even the Kids' Club with activities that range from cooking with the chef, to trips, to snowshoe nature walks. And when you're ready to go out, you can use the convenient Resort shuttle to get around.

Each room at this conveniently-located motel has a private balcony or patio overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and the Omni Mount Washington Hotel. Our indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and sauna offer a soothing retreat. The Lodge's Hearthside Lounge is welcoming and cozy, perfect for a meeting or reception. With activities, restaurants, lounges, live nightly entertainment and other special attractions, there are plenty of opportunities to relax -- but no chance you'll be bored.

The Lodge is located in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, only 2 1/2 hours from Boston.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Bretton Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Bretton Woods Hotel Bretton Woods
Hotel Bretton Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing