We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
Nearby Hotels
Omni Mount Washington Resort(Bretton Woods)(Great Value!)
$176
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlson's Lodge(Twin Mountain)(Great Value!)
$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn At Bowman(Randolph)
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Attitash Motel(Bartlett)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arlington Hotel(Bethlehem)
$159
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club(Jackson)(Great Value!)
$95
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bartlett Inn(Bartlett)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Evergreen Motel(Jefferson)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
61
107
79
62
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
107
79
62
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount washington hotelshuttle servicefree shuttleindoor poolomni resortski ticketscog railroadmain hotelfree breakfastbreakfast roomski areayogurtbeds were comfortablehorseback ridingnew englandrefrigeratorcave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 342 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked 2 nights here at the inn and glad we did.It's along a main route but heard no traffic noise while sleeping.They had coffee hot chocolate in the mornings,our room was clean and coy and comfy.Had a refigerator and tv and comfy bed in our room which is all we needed.Was nice being close to Cog railroad and had good views from our room on the front deck.We were on the second floor.Staff was great and friendly.There was also an ice machine up by office area along with a pool and jacuzzi.We would go back again.

Room Tip: Recommed 2nd floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager03575, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback Jeff. We are glad you had a great stay at the Lodge. The views from the balcony some of the finest around. We can't wait to see you again, especially after some new improvements we will have later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We love staying up at Bretton Woods and the Mount Washington area in NH, but we usually go with large groups of people, so we rarely stay at any of the hotels. My husband and I took a quick night away in July, and decided to stay at the Lodge.
The bed was comfortable, the room was spotless, and we had access to everything on the resort. I have heard that they were planning a general facelift on the rooms, which I think would be nice. We have stayed at the Bretton Arms before and DO prefer that, simply because it's very pretty and they allow pets (we sometimes travel with our dog).
I recommend the Lodge for people on a budget - definitely worth it. The pool is very clean, but the dressing rooms could be a little better - they are kind of old, and there were some cracked ceiling tiles in the Ladies room.
The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about the area, and the shuttle drivers are awesome. Very nice and full of cute little stories about the local wildlife!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager03575, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback Jodi! It is always a pleasure to hear from our past guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and yes we have a renovation fast approaching. We hope you come back and enjoy the Lodge again when your in the area. Thank you again and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Always wanted to stay at the Mount Washington Hotel in Bretton Woods ( white mountains area) NH. Rates way above our budget, but front desk suggested staying at the Lodge, just down the road, giving us access to all the hotels facilities. This was perfect. Adding in the $25 daily resort fee, it still was a good value. "Lodge" was actually more of a motel strip, but room was quite large and comfortable. Steps from the room was an indoor pool and whirlpool. Office/ lobby area had Starbucks coffee, large TV, comfortable chairs, games and large selection of paperbacks. But.... Here's the highlight--- the shuttle to hotel. All we had to do, was notify front desk and within 3 minutes the shuttle arrived. In two minutes we are at steps to this truly amazing spectacular hotel. We had our free morning coffee which we sipped on their large wrap around veranda overlooking the heavenly expanse of mountains and gorgeous grounds. Sitting on this wide columned veranda overlooking the scenic mountain expanse , you feel like you're in the " golden age". Late day wine or cocktails watching the sunset..., or relaxing in the stunning plush lobby, reading a book, sipping tea or cocoa- what more can you ask for. All facilities are yours to use, including beautiful indoor and outdoor pools, spa, lounge, restaurants. Make sure you check out the "Cave" atmospheric bar with music. And when you are ready to return to your room, just ask the bellman and a shuttle arrive within minutes. Great deal!

They also shuttle to their sports area with great fun options for entire family with ziplnes and much more.

Room Tip: If you are with children go for room closest to pool since it's a short outdoor walk away.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artist8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager03575, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for the feedback! We are glad you took the time to relax and take in the view. The shuttle service is a great bonus to our Resort as we run that service 24 hours!! With the renovation fast approaching, we hope you come back and enjoy many more cups of coffee and enjoy what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for one night because we needed to be up and away early in the morning. Everything was booked for the weekend and there was some apprehension when we pulled in.
The room was clean and fit our needs, except it lacked a refridgerator. It was cheaper than the alternatives, even if we could have gotten a room elsewhere. It had a great view of Mt. Washington and the Inn at the base of the mountain. It was on the main road and in very close proximity to the Cog railroad which was our early morning destination.
That said, that hotel smell clung to everything that wasn't sealed in a plastic bag, and the beds were more like hammocks. My neck and back are still recovering. The decor is definitely dated and in need of refresing.
The bathroom however, was spotless with ample towels, there were plenty of places for luggage, even a table with two chairs, and a private balcony. We did not check out the pool facilities.
For what it was and for our purposes, it was fine, but I wouldn't recommend it for an extended stay.

Room Tip: The second floor is walk-up only. Make sure you can manage stairs and luggage at the same time.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager03575, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. We do have a beautiful view of the Omni Mount Washington Resort complete with the mountains in the background. I see so many people in the morning enjoying a nice cup of coffee on the balcony while taking in the views. I have mentioned before in other responses, we are going to have a well deserved renovation at the Lodge. We are so excited for all the rooms to get updated and the public spaces. Coming soon we will be adding a nice breakfast for our guest to enjoy. We hope you have a chance to stop by and stay with us again and take advantage of everything we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I read the many negative reviews of this hotel and was a little anxious, but it was fine. I was looking for something inexpensive and this filled the bill. It is what it is, a '50's style motel. Yes, the décor could do with a make over, but it is clean (bathroom was spotless) and we saw no evidence of bugs. The one negative I read from others that really puzzled me was the "rude staff". Not during my stay. They could not have been more helpful and friendly. My family took the shuttle over to the Mt. Washington and really enjoyed that. Some have complained about the "extra" secret charge, but it really is part of the rate total. Use it. Finally, the road noise is constant at night due to 302 being a major route for trucks.

Room Tip: We were in 103 and 104.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager03575, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your review David. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and everything we have to offer. I'm happy to announce that we do have a renovation coming up. We are looking at everything from breakfast in the lobby to new bedding in the rooms. We hope to see you again and try the new product that we will have for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews