We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We love staying up at Bretton Woods and the Mount Washington area in NH, but we usually go with large groups of people, so we rarely stay at any of the hotels. My husband and I took a quick night away in July, and decided to stay at the Lodge.
The bed was comfortable, the room was spotless, and we had access to everything on the resort. I have heard that they were planning a general facelift on the rooms, which I think would be nice. We have stayed at the Bretton Arms before and DO prefer that, simply because it's very pretty and they allow pets (we sometimes travel with our dog).
I recommend the Lodge for people on a budget - definitely worth it. The pool is very clean, but the dressing rooms could be a little better - they are kind of old, and there were some cracked ceiling tiles in the Ladies room.
The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about the area, and the shuttle drivers are awesome. Very nice and full of cute little stories about the local wildlife!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager03575, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback Jodi! It is always a pleasure to hear from our past guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and yes we have a renovation fast approaching. We hope you come back and enjoy the Lodge again when your in the area. Thank you again and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge at Bretton Woods
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 308 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Always wanted to stay at the Mount Washington Hotel in Bretton Woods ( white mountains area) NH. Rates way above our budget, but front desk suggested staying at the Lodge, just down the road, giving us access to all the hotels facilities. This was perfect. Adding in the $25 daily resort fee, it still was a good value. "Lodge" was actually more of a motel strip, but room was quite large and comfortable. Steps from the room was an indoor pool and whirlpool. Office/ lobby area had Starbucks coffee, large TV, comfortable chairs, games and large selection of paperbacks. But.... Here's the highlight--- the shuttle to hotel. All we had to do, was notify front desk and within 3 minutes the shuttle arrived. In two minutes we are at steps to this truly amazing spectacular hotel. We had our free morning coffee which we sipped on their large wrap around veranda overlooking the heavenly expanse of mountains and gorgeous grounds. Sitting on this wide columned veranda overlooking the scenic mountain expanse , you feel like you're in the " golden age". Late day wine or cocktails watching the sunset..., or relaxing in the stunning plush lobby, reading a book, sipping tea or cocoa- what more can you ask for. All facilities are yours to use, including beautiful indoor and outdoor pools, spa, lounge, restaurants. Make sure you check out the "Cave" atmospheric bar with music. And when you are ready to return to your room, just ask the bellman and a shuttle arrive within minutes. Great deal!

They also shuttle to their sports area with great fun options for entire family with ziplnes and much more.

Room Tip: If you are with children go for room closest to pool since it's a short outdoor walk away.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artist8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager03575, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for the feedback! We are glad you took the time to relax and take in the view. The shuttle service is a great bonus to our Resort as we run that service 24 hours!! With the renovation fast approaching, we hope you come back and enjoy many more cups of coffee and enjoy what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for one night because we needed to be up and away early in the morning. Everything was booked for the weekend and there was some apprehension when we pulled in.
The room was clean and fit our needs, except it lacked a refridgerator. It was cheaper than the alternatives, even if we could have gotten a room elsewhere. It had a great view of Mt. Washington and the Inn at the base of the mountain. It was on the main road and in very close proximity to the Cog railroad which was our early morning destination.
That said, that hotel smell clung to everything that wasn't sealed in a plastic bag, and the beds were more like hammocks. My neck and back are still recovering. The decor is definitely dated and in need of refresing.
The bathroom however, was spotless with ample towels, there were plenty of places for luggage, even a table with two chairs, and a private balcony. We did not check out the pool facilities.
For what it was and for our purposes, it was fine, but I wouldn't recommend it for an extended stay.

Room Tip: The second floor is walk-up only. Make sure you can manage stairs and luggage at the same time.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager03575, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. We do have a beautiful view of the Omni Mount Washington Resort complete with the mountains in the background. I see so many people in the morning enjoying a nice cup of coffee on the balcony while taking in the views. I have mentioned before in other responses, we are going to have a well deserved renovation at the Lodge. We are so excited for all the rooms to get updated and the public spaces. Coming soon we will be adding a nice breakfast for our guest to enjoy. We hope you have a chance to stop by and stay with us again and take advantage of everything we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I read the many negative reviews of this hotel and was a little anxious, but it was fine. I was looking for something inexpensive and this filled the bill. It is what it is, a '50's style motel. Yes, the décor could do with a make over, but it is clean (bathroom was spotless) and we saw no evidence of bugs. The one negative I read from others that really puzzled me was the "rude staff". Not during my stay. They could not have been more helpful and friendly. My family took the shuttle over to the Mt. Washington and really enjoyed that. Some have complained about the "extra" secret charge, but it really is part of the rate total. Use it. Finally, the road noise is constant at night due to 302 being a major route for trucks.

Room Tip: We were in 103 and 104.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager03575, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your review David. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and everything we have to offer. I'm happy to announce that we do have a renovation coming up. We are looking at everything from breakfast in the lobby to new bedding in the rooms. We hope to see you again and try the new product that we will have for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a one night stay and paid £170, including the 'resort fee'. This is motel quality and a change of the ghastly quilted bedspread and a TV from the year 2000+ would provide some instant updates. You have an excellent view of the Omni Washington and the hotel guide and pictures in the room could fool you into thinking you are actually there...but not for long! The balcony is full of spider webs and there's a frosted glass window in the bathroom directly onto the walkway.
A tip: this hotel is 50 minutes drive away from the Mt Washington auto road. The cog railway is 5 minutes away. We chose the road and this added to our trip. We are aware renovations are afoot and hope many $ have been allocated.
Be patient connecting to the wifi. It seems to connect eventually and the coffee in the lobby in the morning was ok. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPEL1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager03575, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We hope you enjoyed the sites while you were here. We do have renovations coming up in November that we are excited for. With a nice breakfast with a seating area, I'm sure you would be happy with the changes we have coming. If you are in the area again, please stop by and take a look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Having honeymooned in Vermont and New Hampshire 40 years ago, we were doing our trip as an anniversary gift to ourselves. When we were there 40 years ago, we had rented a cottage near Bethlehem, N.H. We decided to come back in the summer so we could visit the tourist attractions that were closed by late October. We were looking forward to going up the Mount Washington Cog Railway so googled to try to find some place (I wasn't about to camp) in the area of Mt. Washington. Unless we wanted to pay $250.00 + per night, there was not much choice sowe decided on The Lodge at Bretton Woods.
Obviously, we paid for the view of Mt. Washington. There were two floors with no elevator so we asked for a lower level unit. The floor felt damp as if the mountain at our back door had flooded the room and then they had not attempted to dry it out. Our unit had an adjoining door which rattled everytime someone next door opened an outside door.
The entry doors to the units were at the back which made it impossible to see your door as you get out of your car (for security reasons). Although you should read the security information posted inside the unit's door, it will scare you out of your whits! If someone knocks on your door and identifies them as staff--call the office before you open the door. I was wondering if hobo's jumped off the trains that ran within 10 feet of the back ofour units, or if mountain men were in the area and about to attack us.
There was only coffee offered in the lobby in the morning sitting on the hearth of a fireplace, not a very sanitary location as another couple mentioned. The entire facility needs a facelift as we were told we were part of the Bretton Woods Resort properties. For the quality of the Lodge I think they should have been ashamed to admit it.
The news on the TV was no better. Talking about Live Free or Die .... The police officers were having to fight for their rites and then didn't want "live free people" whoever they may be to be able to have more rites than the police. On the TV they were showing women buying many guns (people we only have two hands) to keep themselves safe. I wonder if those women were really prepared to use the guns, because if they were approached and they didn't use them, it would probably be used on them.
We have decided that the mountains and views were glorious, but we would do our best not to stay or eat in New Hampshire.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindyLou1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager03575, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for the feedback LindyLou. We are happy to announce that in a few months we will be undergoing a renovation. With the renovation you will be able to enjoy upgraded rooms and public spaces. We do have a local senic train that will take you on a breathtaking trip from North Conway NH to Bretton Woods during our foliage season. The views are fantastic and the colors are beautiful! We hope you had a safe journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We came up for a wedding at the Omni Mt. Washington. The Mt. Washington was booked so were told that this is part of the group with all the amenities at half the price. Well, they were right about that. We spent most of our weekend at the main hotel and only slept and showered at the Lodge. When we got to our room it had a very musty smell. We called down to the main desk but could not wait around as we were on a schedule. When we arrived back much later we found a dehumidifier in our room and at that point did we realize that the rugs were wet. On the plus side. The bathroom was clean and the shower curtain looked brand new. No mold or mildew. The shuttle service was 24 hours and very prompt.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeceD04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager03575, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed our property and the wedding. With the renovation fast approaching, we will have plenty of improvements to enhance your experience here at The Lodge. We hope to see you again, with a new look and a warm breakfast on your next staying coming this Fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
15.6 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.6 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
14.9 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Bretton Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Bretton Woods

Address: 2653 Route 302 East, Mount Washington Resort, Bretton Woods, NH 03575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range: $163 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Bretton Woods 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located in the heart of the White Mountain National Forest in Bretton Woods, NH, The Lodge offers easy access to countless outdoor adventures, great balcony views overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and a soothing indoor heated pool. It's your base for outdoor adventures in New Hampshire's White Mountains.

In the shadow of Mt. Washington on Route 302, The Lodge is part of the legendary Mount Washington Resort -- affording guests all the resort amenities, from golf, tennis and swimming to skiing, skating and horseback riding. Or simply enjoy the spectacular views on walks, bike rides and hikes on and around the property. Take a short stroll to the Omni Mount Washington Hotel, where you can sit on the veranda of this historic grand hotel or tour rooms where history was made.

The Lodge is ideally situated to take advantage of five ski areas just minutes away. Bretton Woods, New Hampshire's largest ski area, offers a friendly atmosphere, superior snow and four high-speed quads, while Nordic fans can ski 100 km of some of NH's best cross-country trails at the Bretton Woods Nordic Center. Your whole family will find plenty to do, and there's even the Kids' Club with activities that range from cooking with the chef, to trips, to snowshoe nature walks. And when you're ready to go out, you can use the convenient Resort shuttle to get around.

Each room at this conveniently-located motel has a private balcony or patio overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and the Omni Mount Washington Hotel. Our indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and sauna offer a soothing retreat. The Lodge's Hearthside Lounge is welcoming and cozy, perfect for a meeting or reception. With activities, restaurants, lounges, live nightly entertainment and other special attractions, there are plenty of opportunities to relax -- but no chance you'll be bored.

The Lodge is located in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, only 2 1/2 hours from Boston.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Bretton Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Bretton Woods Hotel Bretton Woods
Hotel Bretton Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing