We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-frills property, great location, very convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Located directly across from The Mount Washington Hotel in picturesque Bretton Woods, NH, The Lodge delivers warm, comfortable rooms with a no-frills approach. As an economy version of accommodations in the area, it's a perfectly simple place to lay your head after a hard day of skiing or snowboarding.

A recent trip with “just us guys” landed us at The Lodge after looking around at several options. Knowing our sole purpose was to go skiing and to just relax, we had no issues with our simplified room. The beds were comfortable, bathroom clean, heat in working order (actually it was really hot in the room when we checked in!), and staff friendly. That said...please don't go into your own experience at The Lodge thinking it's a full on Omni Resort, a Hilton, or Disney's Grand Floridian...it's none of the above. Let me rephrase what I said above... “economy version”.

Our room was equipped with two beds, nightstand, alarm clock, wet-bar area, ample closet space, and a credenza large enough for all our belongings. Beds were comfortable & pillows seemed newer. Walls/ceiling (for those 1st floor rooms) are a bit thin as mumbled conversations could be heard. No worries...it was late and we were all tired anyway. There is no refrigerator in the room, so if you want to bring groceries for a couple days, pack a cooler & some ice packs. Coffee...you'll have to trot to the Lodge's main lobby area as that's the only location for your morning jolt. Same with ice...down by the main lobby area along with some vending machines.

The pool and hot tub/sauna area is located in the middle of the Lodge's floor plan so as to make it convenient for all guests. Access to the pool area (as well as to all guest rooms) is from the outside, so plan accordingly in the winter. Once inside the pool area, there are locker rooms for your convenience, and towels just as you walk through the door. The hot tub is just that...hot. The pool, not so much. The pool temp is like that of very tepid tap water; not completely heated, but not freezing. Think, refreshing. Also of note in this area is coin-op laundry. $1 each for wash and dry – pretty decent rate.

The Lodge offers a free, on-call shuttle to Bretton Woods ski area as well as the Mount Washington Hotel across the street...take advantage of it if you plan on skiing then going out to the bars/restaurants for the evening. Also offered is “free” WiFi, of which being in the center of the hotel, we had no issues picking up the signal.

One thing I REALLY wish I would have known about was a standard $25 per day “resort fee”. Now, the fact there is a resort fee here is pushing it a little bit, but with the upkeep of a pool, hot tub, sauna, wifi, shuttle, I can understand. I don't even mind paying a resort fee to tell you the truth. What I wasn't impressed with was not actually KNOWING about said fee until checkout. Definitely inquire about this when making your reservation or when checking in so as to save yourself a little nugget of a bill upon leaving.

Bottom line, if you're headed to the area to do some serious skiing and chill with your friends & want a less expensive alternative, then the Lodge is probably a great bet for you. If you require resort style amenities, room service, wake up calls and a warm towel upon arrival...might want to book at The Mount Washington across the street.

And after all that... “us guys” are looking forward to returning next year for a weekend of skiing and good times!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Jason it’s great to hear you and the boys had a great time. With renovations coming up in the Fall, I’m sure you will see a difference in the building. I will take a look at the water temperature for you in the pool as well. We hope to see you this ski season to take advantage of the additional 60 snow guns that we added!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 322 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have no idea where all the negative reviews are coming from. We were very much satisfied with our stay at The Lodge. The view from our balcony was beautiful. The bed was soooo comfortable, I wanted to take it home with me. The room was very clean and a good size. The indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna were great- you have a view of the mountains right from the pool area. The staff was friendly. We will definitely stay at The Lodge again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessicaLee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you, Jessica, for your review and for not taking the mattress with you. We can’t wait to see you again, so you can enjoy the view from your balcony. This fall we will be going through a small renovation to the public spaces and guest rooms, which we think you will enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Lodge itself is old and not luxurious -- but it works for a ski weekend with kids. The rooms were basic, shower was clean, pool is good size, hot tub area is in need of a make-over but it still felt good on the old bones after skiing! The shuttle to the mountain is handy. Load up your gear and within minutes you are on the slopes. Bretton Woods ski area is fantastic. Also since it is all Omni property you can take advantage of amenities at the Mt. Washington hotel. The kids loved the (pricey)breakfast buffet at the MWH and also the small snow tubing run at the xcountry ski center, too.
Next time going to the Mt Washington with the hubby.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Glad to hear your family had a great time! The Lodge welcomes you back to enjoy another fun ski season. Many new things are happening this season, as we are getting the “make-over” that you suggested, and we added more snow guns to the mountain. So bring the hubby and relax together and enjoy the hot tub or swing over to the hotel and see the friendly staff at The Spa at the Omni Mount Washington Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The Lodge is a fantastic deal. For much cheaper than staying at the Mount Washington Hotel or Bretton Arms Inn, it puts you right up next to the mountain and slopes. It is really a motel and not fancy, but while staying there you can use ALL the amenities of the grand hotel- including shuttle, pool, spa, concierge.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jarvis.lambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at The Lodge at Bretton Woods, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Jarvis, thank you for the feedback. We are glad you got a good deal on your room and always keep an eye out for our specials that we offer online. We hope to see you again to take advantage of everything that we have to offer here. Remember we are only a phone call or a click away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm almost in tears. This property should be condemned. As for the hotel across the road-a huge rip off. dinner choIces limited. Wet carpet. Filthy hot tub tiny lounge. No coffee-had to buy coffee maker at Walmart.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The lodge was in the perfect location. The hotel is very close to the ski resort and the ski and stay package is an unbelievable deal. The room was very lean and although it was very basic it was very comfortable. We enjoyed the pool and Jacuzzi as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Lodge is a basic motel. Outdated in many ways: bedspreads, bathroom, TV, carpet, just about everything about it. If you go in expecting a lot, you WILL be disappointed. If you go just for a place to sleep while you enjoy the Mt. Washington Hotel and the surrounding area, then you are getting the deal of the century. We did the winter ski package which came with two adult lift tickets for 200 bucks for the night. This included use of the gorgeous place right across the street. I will say the sheets were clean and if you get the second floor, you have a gorgeous view of the mountains and Mt. Wash. Hotel. Cindy at the front desk was friendly and very funny and helpful. Do it for the location, not the motel. This place could be awesome if they replaced the carpets and bedspreads. Just that simple fix would make a world of difference. Can't say we will come back here for sure, but we love the whole Bretton Woods area.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a second floor room. Our friends were directly below us and said they could hear wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mprice1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
0.6 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,762 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
15.1 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
517 reviews
8.7 mi away
Inn At Bowman
Inn At Bowman
#1 of 1 in Randolph
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Bretton Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Bretton Woods

Address: 2653 Route 302 East, Mount Washington Resort, Bretton Woods, NH 03575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range: $192 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Bretton Woods 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Located in the heart of the White Mountain National Forest in Bretton Woods, NH, The Lodge offers easy access to countless outdoor adventures, great balcony views overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and a soothing indoor heated pool. It's your base for outdoor adventures in New Hampshire's White Mountains.

In the shadow of Mt. Washington on Route 302, The Lodge is part of the legendary Mount Washington Resort -- affording guests all the resort amenities, from golf, tennis and swimming to skiing, skating and horseback riding. Or simply enjoy the spectacular views on walks, bike rides and hikes on and around the property. Take a short stroll to the Omni Mount Washington Hotel, where you can sit on the veranda of this historic grand hotel or tour rooms where history was made.

The Lodge is ideally situated to take advantage of five ski areas just minutes away. Bretton Woods, New Hampshire's largest ski area, offers a friendly atmosphere, superior snow and four high-speed quads, while Nordic fans can ski 100 km of some of NH's best cross-country trails at the Bretton Woods Nordic Center. Your whole family will find plenty to do, and there's even the Kids' Club with activities that range from cooking with the chef, to trips, to snowshoe nature walks. And when you're ready to go out, you can use the convenient Resort shuttle to get around.

Each room at this conveniently-located motel has a private balcony or patio overlooking the Presidential Mountain Range and the Omni Mount Washington Hotel. Our indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and sauna offer a soothing retreat. The Lodge's Hearthside Lounge is welcoming and cozy, perfect for a meeting or reception. With activities, restaurants, lounges, live nightly entertainment and other special attractions, there are plenty of opportunities to relax -- but no chance you'll be bored.

The Lodge is located in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, only 2 1/2 hours from Boston.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge at Bretton Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Bretton Woods Hotel Bretton Woods
Hotel Bretton Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing