We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not hiker-centered. Oh, and bring earplugs.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bretton Woods
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dover, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not hiker-centered. Oh, and bring earplugs.”
Reviewed March 2, 2011

If you're not rich, your focus is hiking, and you just want to be close to the trails, you're better off somewhere else. AMC's Highland Center Lodge is marketed toward Yuppie skiers and well-to-do families for whom the White Mountains are an exotic foreign experience. Unlike Pinkham Center, it is not hiker-focused. It's set up like any "Grand Summit Lodge," but with some nature programs/displays added. There is one main lounge area to sit in, where you can cozy up to the propane fireplace. But don't get too comfortable. Around 3:30 they make you move so they can set up tables for their "Apres Adventure" wine bar. (Plastic folding tables and buckets of wine.) I'd have to say that $100 for a night in a bunkbed and a shared bathroom full of parents trying to appease their spoiled kids is not a value. The price includes breakfast (which is good) and dinner (which is poor--lukewarm and weird). There is no choice to opt out of the dinner (supposedly a $20 value). The building has a very industrial feel in spite of the LL Bean furniture. $100 a night to listen to metal doors slamming and kids running up and down the hall is not a value. (Hint: stuff a towel under your door and wear earplugs if you want to sleep.) The only things that helped cancel out the negatives were the AMC volunteers (wonderful) and the location. Note: another option on the same property is the Shapleigh Bunkhouse for about $50 a night, which is basically like paying to stay in a heated shelter with 13 other people and one bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caper1393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    66
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
43
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We had a great time at the AMC Highland Center Lodge. From the start, the experience was exemplary. Making reservations was easy, we were greeted by warm, friendly, front desk staff who quickly and efficiently checked us in. Our room was immediately available, clean, and exactly as requested. During our stay, all the AMC staff were cordial and helpful. The meals were great and special requests were accommodated with ease. The facility is bright, airy, and clean. We particularly liked being able to borrow equipment and gear. The knowledgeable folks helped us pick appropriate destinations for hiking and snowshoeing. Our friends walked out the back door, strapped on x-c skiis, and were off on the trails connecting to the Bretton Woods Nordic ski area not far away. In the evenings, we participated in trivia contests, enjoyed ice cream socials, and watched informative and entertaining movies. There were activities for adults and kids. All in all, it was a terrific vacation spot. Kudos to all!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSK296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

My children and I have been staying at the Highland Center for about 5 years now. We stay in the winter and take advantage of their ski and stay package with Bretton Woods. Also in the summer we use it as a base for hiking in the White Mountains. The food is fantastic, the rates are very reasonable, and by staying there we are supporting AMC's mission of stewardship. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaGoose61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CT
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

This is the place. Great food. Good rooms. Great staff. Has a gear room where you can borrow (free) outdoor items.

Near the Mt. Washington Hotel in case you need a fancy cocktail.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter,nh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I have stayed at the Highland Center a number of times. I am never disappointed, even the year we arrived and our reservation had been lost. We ended up with a great option at the center. There are activities for everyone with many optons for children/ families. Everyone is very knowlegdable and friendly. The food there speaks for it's self and all is available at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiker53nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

stayed for 2 nights/3 days for a winter sports weekend. The staff are so friendly and helpful. You can hike and cross country ski out the door. The food is wholesome and delicious. Love the accomodations. Can't ask for more for a family vacation. Can't wait to return as we usually do in every season.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank aae68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Love the free programs, the food is amazing and the facility is so friendly and accomodating. Kids enjoyed their time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeedhamRockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
3.1 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
285 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
11.6 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,464 reviews
3.1 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
15.1 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch

Property: Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch
Address: Route 302, Crawford Notch, Bretton Woods, NH 03574
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bretton Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMC's Highland Center at Crawford Notch, our newest four-season lodge and outdoor education center, offers a broad range of accommodations and walk-on programs, along with backdoor access to a variety of outdoor activities. The Highland Center is an ideal starting point for day hikes, paddling, snowshoe treks, and longer back country trips in the White Mountains. All-inclusive lodging packages are offered year-round and include meals, free walk-on nature programs, and free use of the L.L. Bean gear room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Center Lodge At Crawford Notch Hotel Bretton Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing