We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Upon arrival it appeared someone had used our bathroom sink, we called the front desk. They immediately had the cleaning lady in cleaning the entire bathroom, all the time she was apologizing for what had happened. We left for dinner, upon our return the manager had left a fruit and cheese tray for us, apologizing for the bathroom being dirty. We checked out the next day and found a $50.00 credit on our bill for our inconvenience!! Now, this is good customer service!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2010

Thank you for sharing your experience - we are glad that we were able to meet your expectations on your stay at the Bretton Arms. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Bretton Woods again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 511 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2010

Just arrived home from a weekend with 10 and 8 year old daughters. We stayed at the Bretton Arms Inn, not the main hotel. Room was spacious, two very comfy queen beds, luxury linen and pillows, warm robes and an immaculate bathroom. Included is shuttle service to the main hotel or to the base lodge at the ski area. No more than a two minute wait for the shuttle any time of day. Our room tastefully decorated in white and pale yellow overlooked the picturesque horse barn decorated for Christmas with a gigantic wreath above the door. The children enjoyed visiting the horses, turkeys and the harmless red fox padding around looking for hand outs. We enjoyed watching the horse drawn carriages with the sleigh bells tour the grounds.

The first evening spent in the main hotel lobby playing board games and having cocktails while the girls played in the arcade. Then dinner at the casual Stickneys restaurant. The service is very good and accommodating. The staff is eager to keep the tables clear for you so be quick to signal that your not finished if that is your intention. If you are a crab cake lover order them here. Mostly crab, light breading on the outside with a nice sauce. After dinner the girls made friends at the indoor pool.

The next morning was breakfast at the Bretton Arms restaurant. Service was perfect and breakfast delicious. Ask the server about the size of a dish when ordering for children. One order of french toast was plenty for our girls. Then a trip to the barn followed by a day at Santa's Village (That's another review.) Upon returning we packed a bag and went back up to the main hotel. Another swim and the arcade for the girls, then dinner at the Stickneys again since we were not interested in a more formal dress in the main dining room.

Sunday morning the girls and I spent an hour playing board games in front of the fireplace at the Arms. There is coffee and hot chocolate available. The lady at the front desk offered a newspaper and board games for the girls. Then we had an outstanding brunch in the main dining room of the hotel. Everything was fresh and delicious. Don't miss the omelet station and Belgian Waffles. Croissants were buttery and delicate. The smoked salmon table a big hit with my husband. The price of that meal was unbelievably inexpensive for the buffet, atmosphere and service. Elsewhere it would be double the price.

Notes:

Don't waste your money on the bottled water in the restaurants. The tap water there is crystal clear and better than any bottled water you can buy. I wish I brought empty gallon jugs to take some home.

If you stay at the Inn and like to sleep in, request a room on the third floor toward the front on the barn side. We were in that room on the second floor and were wakened by the family above at 6:30 AM. We could tell the noise was children playing. No ones fault since the building is over 100 years old. We called the desk and they took care of it immediately.

Sad to be home but looking forward to our next trip to Mount Washington Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshalls01760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed at the B&B. The decor was a little dated but the bed was very comfortable. These rooms have not been updated. The bathroom was functional but had a lot of bugs - several flies and some grasshopper-looking bugs. They seemed to come out of the vent on the ceiling. The breakfast at the B&B was amazing and the service was very good. We enjoyed walking around the main hotel and got to see one of the rooms. It was updated and very nice. We might stay at the main hotel next time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHotel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2010

We are happy to hear that we met your expectations on your recent stay at the Omni Bretton Arms Inn. As our goal is to continuously improve our level of service and our facilities, we will use your feedback to target future discussions to make any necessary changes. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to greet you back, either at the Arms or up at the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We wanted to take in the Fall color and we couldn't have picked a better spot to stay for our all too brief visit. The Bretton Arms is a wonderfully maintained building on the most beautiful grounds imaginable. It is part of a large resort complex, but it feels tucked away in the woods. The view from the back of the property is simply breathtaking. The White Mountains earned their name during our stay with a covering of snow, and the Fall color on the lower slopes was superb.
The room and the bed were cozy and a delicious breakfast was served in style by professional and friendly staff. Our only regret was that we couldn't have stayed longer to enjoy more of the scenery and activities offered.
It is a truly fantastic place to stay in the White Mountains.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2010

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Bretton Arms - we are pleased to hear that we met all of your expectations, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Bretton Woods soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We arrived in a pouring rain. Front desk clerk said she works at the big resort on the hill so is not familiar with the Bretton Woods Arms. No bell service. No offer of a luggage cart. A young man was standing by the door but he kicked the door open for me, grabbed a huge bag of garbage by the door, and walked off. The room spelled musty and had a thick layer of dust. The carpet was filthy, couch stained and had a huge burn on one arm, The moldy bathroom once had brass fixtures but were beyond tarnished. We had a lovely view if the rolled tar paper front porch roof. Water poured from the leaky gutter and kept us awake all night. That and the water we heard pouring down the wall behind the bed from the upper floor bathrooms , and a roar from a furnace or some type motor behind the wall. There were loud slamming doors and you could hear stomping and people talking inside and outside all the time. VERY NOISEY! Do not expect a relaxing stay! The WIFI is slooooow. The outside of the house is dirty and peeling paint. It looks nothing like the pictures online at all! very misleading! All the front desk had to say was they were sorry. There is nothing close by so you are at their mercy. I would never go there again nor recommend it to anyone. We had dinner at Fabyan's and it was very good and the servers nice. The breakfast we had at the Arms was very good and the girls serving were very nice. But for that fact the stay would have been a complete disaster.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iluuvhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2010

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Bretton Arms. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and hope that you were able to enjoy other aspects of your stay. As our goal is to continuously improve our levels of service and the guest experience, we will use your feedback to make any necessary changes. We hope that you will give us the privilege of welcoming you back to Bretton Woods again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

So we have been here in Bretton Arms since Tuesday. (Bretton Arms is the smaller carriage house on the property of the main hotel). It is now Thursday and we have had 4 bugs in our room, all of a reasonably gross size. I have caught them all and brought the third to fourth ones downstairs to show the front desk. The windows today have been closed all day so they could not have come from the screen. Though not gigantic, although I suppose though my partner said the one yesterday was big, they are bigger than your average housefly or carpenter ant. I asked the front desk and today was told that they are some type of cricket. They don't make any noise as far as I can tell.
We will be uploading bug photo when we get back to Boston and you can decide.
The rooms do need some updating and the bathtub in particular was small with a very strange heating system and water never quite gets to hot, hot relaxing bath temperature. The tile in bathroom could be updated and the grout is discolored in some places. The carpet is discolored and the TV does not have a DVD player and cable is pretty basic, no premium channels. It does not have the luxurious feel of a resort or even the intercontinental.
On the plus side so far is that the landscape, scenery and restaurants are all fantastic if pricey. You can practically walk across the street to the ski lift and there are on property hiking trails, golf, horse back riding. There are daily activities planned. The bed is very comfortable. I love the history of the place and the property. Mt Washington is spectacular. The main hotel front desk is where all events are planned and reservations booked, they have generally seemed a bit harried in general but have not brought the bug issue to there attention.
Still very questionable if I would recommend this place to stay. We have 1 more night after tonight.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmello70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

1.Having to transport your own bags. No bell-hop. They provide a cart for you in the lobby. You'll have to ask at the front desk.
2.Fighting with your room key to get your door open....every time you enter your room
3.You don't mind fuzzy TV reception
4.You spend an inordinate amount of time trying to get your Internet access. Or just give up.
5.If you want ice, you have to bring your ice bucket from the room to the front desk. Or wait until the maid brings some for your "turn-down service".
6. Sharing the one provided bathrobe for 2 people
7.Sleeping on a bed that "jiggles"
8.Spending your night listening to the ROAR of the air conditioning unit. Tip:bring your noise-cancelling headphones.
9.At breakfast, ordering Eggs Benedict, only to find that the Hollandaise sauce is broken and tasteless.
10. Upon checking-out, the front desk doesn't even ask if 'everything was okay?"

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseytraveler035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your recent trip to the Omni Bretton Arms Inn. Our goal is always to improve our level of service and the guest experience, so your feedback will be used to target any necessary changes. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope that you will give us the privilege of welcoming you back to the Bretton Arms again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
317 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
15.1 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,683 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
19.8 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort

Address: 173 Mt Washington Hotel Rd, Route 302, Bretton Woods, NH 03575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bretton Woods
Price Range: $309 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Bretton Arms Inn At Mount Washington Hotel Bretton Woods
Country Inn Bretton Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing