We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Omni Bretton Arms Inn. It's a great little inn, located a short walk from the Mount Washington Resort Hotel, and it offers access to all of the amenities of the big hotel with the added privacy of the smaller setting. We had a wonderful stay: a hike up nearby Mt Willard, relaxed trail rides from the onsite stables, massages and facials at the Mount Washington Resort Spa, relaxing time at the nice outdoor pool at the Mount Washington Resort Spa, easy breakfasts (included in our room plan) at the Inn, delicious dinners at the Resort restaurants, and a quick (40-minute) side trip to the outlets in North Conway. Don't miss the beautiful view of the mountains from Stickneys (outside seating!) or the Mount Washington Resort grand dining room (indoors).

But the best thing about both the Bretton Arms Inn and the Mount Washington Resort was the service: everyone at the resort, from the front desk to the housekeepers to the stable hands to the massage therapists to the musicians in the band, projected the same vibe: We are here to give you excellent service, but in a low-key and sincere way. Everyone at the resort wanted to be helpful, but no one ever got in our way, and no one ever seemed to be "faking it". We had a wonderful time, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: One note: the hotel is not air conditioned, but this wasn't a problem for us, because we were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bostonjazz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 517 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

Bretton Arms Inn at the Omni Mount Washington Resort is a lovely renovated old inn at the base of the resort grounds. The Inn caters to overflow guests when the main hotel is full or to guests who wish a quiet respite, without crowds, with extraordinary service and dining. The room we stayed in was at ground level, quiet, with a very comfortable bed. It maintained its antique charm while embellished with modern amenities (wireless in each room, carrera marble lined bathtub, modern fixtures, tiles, showers and sink). A full length sofa and chair in the room made night time reading/working comfortable. yet guests could also avail themselves of a lovely parlor, with comfortable seating and ample tables which provided reading, board games, or workspace. The dining room within the inn ranked a 5+ in every measure. Service was impeccable - servers were not chatty, were not on a first-name basis, were always appropriate and trained to a level rarely seen in most restaurants. Full breakfast offerings (part of the hotel rate) were excellent, and could satisfy people with a hearty apetite (not me), hikers who need the nourishment before braving the wood trails, rocky narrow ledges and knife edge boulder fields of a climb to the top of Mt Washington. For example, salmon pastrami with bagels was considered an appetizer, followed by a full course breakfast that ranged from eggs benedict to steak. A yogurt parfait was offered as part of the meal and lesser fare for the calorie counters. Dinner was exceptional, with impeccable service, a heavenly amuse-bouche, pate de fois gras served with fruit foams that delighted, a lemon sorbet to cleanse the palate between courses, outstanding main courses and an assortment of of REAL tea leaves to brew delicious pots of tea. Few restaurants I've eaten in globally (the memorable Daniel in New York, the Inn at Little Washington, and others on 5 continents) achieve these desirable standards of service, presentation and peaceful dining in such a rustic location. The Inn topped off their hospitality by unanticipated acknowledgments of our wedding anniversary - gratis champagne during the evening meal and a lovely mini-cake found in our room sitting on a large platter inscribed with the correct anniversary years. Breakfast and dining is infused with fine, low volume classical music that can soothe and erase the stress of a city dweller. Guests who avail themselves of the numerous and integrated offerings at the Mount Washington Hotel need only take a 7 minute walk through a wooded path (or through paved road) to the main hotel, or call for a minibus to drive themm ior drive themselves with free valet parking. The hotel has been renovated by thoughtful experts in interior design that balanced the rustic deep green setting with a light, but sophisticated decor - magnificant, appropriate fabrics and furniture, wall colors and lighting that relfect a sunny glow. The Hotel complex offers numerous amenities. It has the most glorious panoramic view of magnificant Mt Washington, enjoyed from the balcony or an outdoor dining room. From the luxurious balcony chairs and soothed with drinks and refreshments, this view of Mt Washington - as a smooth green gently sloping mountain, does not come close to reality. I've climbed this beast. It lulls you into complacency near the bottom with 80 F temperatures, gentle wooded walks and bubbling streams, and gradually transitions to steeper and steeper trails until you need to hang onto ropes to prevent lethal falls from narrow ledges, until you reach the tree line and then navigate through a steep boulder field with masses of knife edge boulders that grab your feet and don't release until you twist your ankles. When you reach the top in a haze of rain and 50F, and know the climb down will gnaw at every joint, every leg muscle, you appreciate how that balcony view is both magnificant and deceptive. Back to the Hotel: Swimming pools, hiking trails, horseback riding, zip lines, tennis golf, the cog railway, lifts to mountain tops, a hiking the presidential mountain range are all within the grounds or a fast mile or few drive. Beware certain times of the year at the swimming pool or on trails. Anyone emitting the correct pheromones and wearing a bathing suit is breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks for a swarm of black flies, no-seeums, and mosquitos. Spread DEET preps or other insect repellant if you are unfortunate, as I was, to be an attractive target. My scalp and back were covered with welts, which itched all night. We dined at one of the casual hotel dining rooms one evening - outside and in full view of Mt Washington at sunset. Once again, we were asked if this is a special occasion and once again we were surprised at the end of the meal to receive a wonderful surprise - a card signed by numerous wait staff from all over the world in their native language - balinese, moldavan, portughese (Brazil), chinese (Taiwan). It was not only an unusual and memorable gesture, but a keepsake.
In our weekend stay at this lovely complex, we encountered only one surly waiter (a tall man from California?) on the hotel balcony, whose rudeness was memorable: "why didn't you tell me you wanted me to fill the (tiny) pot of tea instead of filling it half-way?!!"; " why didn't you tell me the water was luke warm?"; "why didn't you tell me you wanted some sugar with your tea!!!?" He had filled a small tea pot with 4 ounces of luke warm water and a tea bag and then disappeared for the next 20 minutes. His surliness could not erase this lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Take a room at the Bretton Arms Inn on the main floor. The Inn does not have air-conditioning (we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilacroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay at the Omni Bretton Arms Inn. Your review was a delight to read, and we are very pleased that you had such an enjoyable time with us - we enjoyed having you. We apologize for the one blemish during your stay and appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Arrived today in 90 degree heat and this purportedly newly renovated inn IS NOT AIR CONDITIONED. Room has one small window and no other ventilation. We are advised that other arriving guests have left rather than stay here.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. The Omni Bretton Arms Inn is in the final phases of a renovation project, which includes the heating, ventilating and air conditioning systems. The unexpected June heat wave caught us before the project was completed, and we apologize for the inconvenience. We hope that you will give us the privilege of visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful 8 night stay at the Inn. Staff and management were very welcoming and efficient. Breakfasts were excellent and our room (22) had been recently refurbished and very comfortable. It was nice to have the little luxury of tea and coffee delivered to our room each morning being members of the Select Guest programme. Also to be able to use the facilities of the much larger Mount Washington Hotel.
Highlights of the holiday (vacation) for us were:
1) Witnessing the horses (including four magnificant Belgium breed) come up from the field to the Equestrian Centre each morning at around 8am.
2) Taking the steam driven cog railway to the summit of Mount Washington.
3) Enjoying sitting in the many public areas of the Mount Washington Hotel, especially the President's Terrace and enjoying the stunning views.
4) Seeing a large black bear roaming through the gardens.

Absolutely no hestiation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeachandQuiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Omni Bretton Arms Inn, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Select Guest amenities and our other facilities. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

First off, I have stayed at the main hotel (Mt. Washington Resort Hotel) and even though the Arms Inn is much smaller, I think the service is much better than the Mt. Washington hotel. From the minute you enter the lobby, you feel like you are in a very homely place. Breakfast at the Arms is also a la carte and very good, while I was told for the main hotel its buffet. This may have something to do with the stay packages that are offered online hotel website. The rooms were immaculate and you can see attention to detail was taken during the recent renovations. I will definitely be back in the near future. Thank you once again to Oktay and Nancy. Great and Exceptional Service!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelersNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here in May of last year, and since we just got done staying at the Mt. Washington resort just a few days ago, a comparison is in order. To put it simply, I can't see paying more for staying in the main hotel. With the Bretton Arms you get the same access to the resort grounds and the amenities as you get from staying at the Mt. Washington at a fraction of the cost. There is shuttle service available to the main hotel so you don't have to move your car (by the way, parking here is more convenient than parking at the main hotel). I heard they are renovating the hotel as we speak, and truly I didn't feel our room was at all lacking in stylishness or comfort, so I can only imagine that the changes will make a great place better. You obviously don't get the view you get from the main hotel, but our room actually seemed bigger than our room at the Mt. Washington. If you are bringing a pet, you have no choice as the Mt. Washington does not take pets, and the whole Bretton Arms is pet friendly, unlike some other properties that only grudingly accept pets and even then only in certain rooms. Our dog Lucy loved it! Also, don't forget the included breakfast. To add icing to the cake, even though the kitchen was having problems during our stay, they allowed us to have breakfast at the main hotel (delicious!) for free AND they gave us a credit on our bill for the inconvenience, if it can be called that. Now THAT is world class service!

This place would easily have gotten 5 stars but for a negative experience at check out. To make a long story short, there was an error in our bill that I spotted right away. However, the front desk lady, who seemed to have limited English skills, would not correct the error and insisted she was correct. I asked to speak with a manager who she advised was not available until the afternoon. An email correspondence from another front desk personnel quickly resolved this issue the next day, but the check out experience left a bad taste in my mouth. However, it was not enough to damper an otherwise awesome stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SheriffBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This property is great for a romantic gettaway. My partner and I stayed here and it was very nice. The bathroom was huge and very luxurious. The king was ridiculously comfortable. The service was great. You are able to have breakfast in the Mt. Washington Resort, which was beyond imagination! For such great service and product, the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Omni Bretton Arms Inn. We are pleased that you had such a wonderful visit and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
323 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
869 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,785 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Townhomes at Bretton Woods
The Townhomes at Bretton Woods
#2 of 3 in Bretton Woods
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort

Address: 173 Mt Washington Hotel Rd, Route 302, Bretton Woods, NH 03575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bretton Woods
Price Range: $193 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Bretton Arms Inn At Mount Washington Hotel Bretton Woods
Country Inn Bretton Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing