We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not the luxurious room it was advertised to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice, but not the luxurious room it was advertised to be”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I love coming to the Mt Washington resort, and was excited to come and use the new outdoor pool. Hotel was booked so grabbed $300 room at Inn. The package I chose said luxurious room but the room was just average, and bathroom not totally clean. Room didn't look like photos on website (photo on website include couch, for example, but no couch in room). Package include Afternoon Tea which I enjoyed. The outdoor pool at hotel is very nice! Had a good dinner at Stickney's. Service was good at restaurant. Overall, good experience, but $300 to stay in average room at Inn is too much.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Napalicoastkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    99
    33
    24
    8
See reviews for
166
210
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Bretton Arms is the great place to stay. Its very unique! We loved the dining room at the bretton arms as well. All server was very polite and friendly. Our dinner was among one of the best dinner's we could remember in YEARS! Every course was excellent, and well worth the cost.Thanks for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalearnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The staff was unusually friendly and accomodating. How refreshing! The complimentary breakfast was amazing! Not at all your typical continental breakfast. Many choices - Eggs Benedict, French Toast, Pancakes - a multi course breakfast. A tip - you can have breakfast at the Inn or at the main hotel (the Inn is on the same property as the Mt. Washington Resort). Have your breakfast at the Inn. There was no comparing the food and service at the Inn vs the hotel. We found the Inn to be far superior. We traveled with 2 (well behaved) dogs and the staff could not have been more accomodating. They didn't just tolerate them - they welcomed them and were very attentive. Our dogs had a great time too. Since your are on the same property as the hotel and can also use the services there, do venture up to the resort which is a short walk from the Inn. The views from the wrap around porch are simply breathtaking. The hotel lobby is certainly grand. But we were there for a family event and the family members that stayed at the hotel wished they had stayed at the Inn. You can stay at the cozy more intimate Inn and get more personal, friendly service while still enjoying the fabulous grounds of the resort. And again, that food!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Natplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbarton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I have stayed at the big hotel and the lodge I liked the Inn the best. Great king sized comfortable bed. Beautiful quaint room. Food was great ate breakfast at the inn one morning one day at the big hotel. I enjoyed the Inn very much. New outdoor pool was fantastic drinks alittle expensive wished they had served the cheese fruit platter at the pool as well as the hotel. Staff at the inn were so friendly Angel the guest relations employee so nice and helpful. Even the painters shuttle drivers and all the waiters were great. Met some really nice guests great getaway. Housekeeping was wonderful too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheriwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The location is to die for. The Omni sits in the shadow of New Englands tallest Mountain, Mount Wastington. The views are breath taking. The service from the moment you chck in is unmatched. The food at thier resturants is top notch.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the Bretton Arms are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildwoodmikeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I travel extensivly for work and i'm used to a basic level of service and cleanliness - the Bretton Arms didn't meet it.

The threadbare carpets in the hallway started the alarmbells ringing but as we entered the room we were greated by a HOLE in the carpet, dust & dirt on the window mantle, cobwebs clining to the corner walls in the bathroom and saggy squeeky beds. I quietly noted to the front desk that they might like to ask housekeeping to cast a duster over the windows while we were out the following day but to no avail!

There was advertised free wifi, however after asking for 3 different access codes, we couldn't access it and gave up after an hour of trying - interestingly I met 2 other guests with their laptop having similar problems at the front desk when I went to ask for assistance.

Service at the Bretton arms and it's parent hotel up the hill- the Mount Washington - was seriously lacking. Almost EVERYONE was easter European, speaking little English , had little training and struggled to deliver the service you expect for the pricetag the Bretton Arms and the Mount Washington commands. They routinely misunderstood our orders, brought them in a very strange order, spilled, were unattentive and unappologetic. It certainly makes for an uncomfortable dining experience in the Bretton arms - too small and quiet to relax and the service is too poor to pass it off as pretentious!

The veiw from the Mount Washington Veranda is specatcular and could be appreciated over lunch on a sunny day without forking out the money to stay in one of their dirty, tired rooms.

Sadly disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CamFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Lovely grand hotel. Too bad the on-line reservation system fails to tell you that you might be NOT staying in it, but at their smaller inn on the property. While there were staff members who were genuinely nice, many of them were NOT and the overall experience was certainly lacking. In fact, it was so bad, we explored checking into another resort, the Mountainview Grand in Whitefield. The atmosphere at THAT hotel was outstanding --- even though we were not registered guests, we were treated well, and the lobby was full of happy faces on the guests and staff. What a contrast to the Mount Washington! I will say this, the worst offenders at the MW were LOCALLY hired staff members. International staff members were especially well trained, and helpful. They are the only reason I rated this as average, and not poor.
There were any number of little things that just added up to a dissatisfying experience. First, the booking issue. Second, the rudeness of some of the staff. Third, cold soup in one of the restaurants. Next, ordered a particular brand of Scotch (from their menu) and was actually asked by the bartender if it was on the menu (don't you know??), they were out of it. Not a huge deal, but part of the trend. Next, got the wrong change back from meal bill. Next, tried to watch a ballgame in the bar, TV not working properly "It gets like that". Next, rained out of golf package, had to convince them to give us a rain check (not their policy!). Get the picture?
On the plus side, food at one of the restaurants was very, very good. Some staff excellent. Breakfast, over priced for the quality, but exquisitely served.
Next time, we'll book the Mountainview!

Room Tip: Call first, don't use online booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regattagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniManager_1, Manager at Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Omni Bretton Arms Inn and Mount Washington Resort. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet all of your expectations, but we are happy that you found some enjoyable aspects to your stay as well. We take the guest experience and customer service very seriously, and we will use your feedback to adjust our training and make any necessary changes. Thank you for choosing the Mount Washington Resort, and as we do not believe that you had a typical experience with us, we hope that you will give us the opportunity to meet your expectations on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretton Woods
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
0.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,353 reviews
12.1 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort

Property: Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Address: 173 Mt Washington Hotel Rd, Route 302, Bretton Woods, NH 03575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bretton Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Bretton Arms Inn At Mount Washington Hotel Bretton Woods
Country Inn Bretton Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing