We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Washington”

The Mount Washington Cog Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.00*
and up
Full-Day Trip to Mount Washington from Boston
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Day Trip to Mount Washington Cog Railway from Southern New Hampshire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb to the top of Mount Washington on the world's first mountain-climbing Cog Railway trains!
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mount Washington”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great trip on the little rail train,weather was perfect for picture taking, stunning views on the way up & down , & the view from the top was awesome, plenty to see & enough time between the journeys up & down to do it , crew were very friendly & informative ,good trip for old & young alike .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    885
    350
    84
    36
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Awesome Experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I brough with me binocular, winter coat, hat, gloves to keep me warm, but actually, I don't need any of those in October. Most of the leaves have fallen, nothing to see except trees and clouds, but the experience of riding the Cog Railway was quite fun. The conductor going up did his job. But coming down, don't know what he was talking about, practical talking to himself....as you arrived on top of the mountain, be prepared to climb some more and it's not a smooth walk or climb, wear very comfortable shoes. A lot of rocks and stones and pebbles. It's quite expensive though... I paid $61.00 for one hour up and less than one hour down.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ardmora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience with the Cog Railway”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our New England Foliage trip. Climbing to the top of Mount Washington n the Cog Railway was a fun experience. We had no trouble buying tickets when we arrived and hopped on board. It was unseasonably warm the day we went and a jacket was still necessary. The views from the top were amazing! There were several hikers on the Appalachian Trail. Several were at the top as well. Be sure and bring your own post card stamps. They have a special zip code when you mail from the top, but, the post office was closed during our visit and the gift shop does not sell stamps.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bum1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Even in the frost, snow, wind and fog this is unique”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Didn't pre-book which yesterday was fine but it may be preferable to book in advance in high season. Views were stunning, commentary good and snack prices at top cafe reasonable

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank richard0837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia Springs, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing Ride to the Top”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently rode to the top of Mount Washington and had amazing views. The ride is about 45 minutes to the top up a steep incline. The view from the top has you looking over the clouds and still seeing mountains. Our weather was perfect with little wind and temp in mid 50s. This is the highest point you can reach in the NE portion of US. Everything was beautiful from being up so high.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RetiredCokeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mount Washington Cog Railway also viewed

 

Been to The Mount Washington Cog Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing