We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up the Mountain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mount Washington Cog Railway

The Mount Washington Cog Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.00*
and up
Full-Day Trip to Mount Washington from Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb to the top of Mount Washington on the world's first mountain-climbing Cog Railway trains!
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
330 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Up the Mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We picked a nice clear day for our ride up Mt. Washington on the Cog. We has a blast. The engine is now "green" so don't expect steam, but that's OK. It's so much cleaner for both the riders and the environment. On the way up the trainmen had lots to talk about and were very entertaining. Once on the top we had a full hour on the summit and the view was clear, no wind, and very comfortable with a light jacket. The trip down was fun too, and we toured their very interesting museum and grounds down below too. Well worth a family trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    334
    81
    36
    35
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Remarkable views and historical interest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This cog railway has been in operation since 1869, and the history behind the railway is fascinating. The views are breathtaking, and the brakeman had some funny and interesting stories for the group as we headed up the mountain. At the top, we had a brief view of the surrounding valleys and mountains before the clouds rolled in. Overall, a fun trip and really interesting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pvillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will Go Again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went yesterday for the first time. Our GPS found it perfectly - we used the coordinates given on the website in the coordinates section of our GPS. We took the train up the mountain. Both of my sons wish they had hiked up. We enjoyed the summit. We purchased gifts from both stores, but I liked the station store better for selection. Train down had an unexpected delay that added 45 - 60 minutes to the trip. Staff pleasant and efficient. Bathrooms were clean, and grounds were well maintained. We didn't eat at either restaurant so I can't give it a full 5.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Time. Even In Poor Weather.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We visited on an overcast day, it was the only day we had to make the visit, so we decided to go anyway. There was a dense fog down at the bottom where you boarded the cog and visibility was very poor. In fact you could only see about 10 feet to either side of the car. Our brakeman was very pleasant and humorous and told some interesting facts. When we reached the summit the sustained winds were 60 mph with gusts to 70+ with temperatures around 45 degrees, and you could see no more than 30 feet or so. It was pretty awesome to stand out in that wind. We went into the weather station that also has a cafeteria, and gift shop and got some hot cocoa. After we went back outside and took a few pictures and some video as it seemed to be clearing slightly. After the hour they give you at the top we boarded the cog for the trip down. In a matter of seconds the sun came out and the clouds disappeared and we saw some breathtaking sights from up on the summit. The ride down was equally as scenic. We got to see all the things we would have been able to see on the way up if it had been clear. It is a little expensive at $64.00 per person, but we thought it was well worth it. We hope to try it on a clear day sometime in the future.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
475 reviews
293 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Unique Railroad with Gorgeous Summit Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The railway was located about 6 miles off US 302 over a well-signed and unevenly paved road. Parking was in a large compact-dirt lot. Early on a clear crisp fall day, for $66 per adult ticket, an antique steam locomotive pushed our railroad car along steep railroad tracks and up a 3-mile-long trestle to Mount Washington’s 6,288-foot summit. During our hour-long summit stop, the panoramic views spanned parts of New Hampshire, Maine, and Vermont, as well as north into Quebec, Canada, and east to the Atlantic Ocean. The entire round trip took just over 3 hours. At the base lodge were a gift shop, a small museum, a small restaurant, and restrooms. Be certain to bring warm clothes and a camera — especially during foliage season!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mainemountainbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mount Washington Cog Railway also viewed

 
Franconia, White Mountains
Jefferson, White Mountains
 

Been to The Mount Washington Cog Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing