We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great slow ride”

The Mount Washington Cog Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.00*
and up
Full-Day Trip to Mount Washington from Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb to the top of Mount Washington on the world's first mountain-climbing Cog Railway trains!
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great slow ride”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our family took a ride up on the old coal version cog railway which only runs once per day in the morning. It was outstanding and the brakeman was very funny. It takes about 45 minutes to get up the mountain and the views are fantastic (sit on the left on the way up!).

At the top you get about 45 minutes to explore before climbing back on the train. We just went and it was 28 degrees with the wind chill at the top so 45 minutes is plenty.

There is a place to get food and drink at the top but it is limited.

Enjoyed the experience and our kids were amazed by the scenery.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    338
    82
    36
    35
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
135 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it at least one time”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Goes to the top of scenic Mt Washington. Bring warm clothes it cold up there

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobbyshotgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Warm day up on the mountain”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We got lucky the day we went because it was a warm day up on Mount Washington. There weren't many clouds up in the sky either. I liked the train ride up and enjoyed the view once we were up there.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spectacular views.”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

After driving up Mt. Washington 10 years ago we decided we would take the Cog Railway this time. What a great experience. It's a slow paced ride up the mountain giving you plenty of time to admire the views. The brakeman who was also our tour guide was very informative and added some fun to the trip. We had a picture perfect day and had plenty of time on top of the mountain before heading back down. While it might seem a little expensive it's well worth the cost.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DFC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
470 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Interesting Railroad”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We took the Cog Railway up to the top of Mount Washington. It was nice and hot down below, but unfortunately it was very foggy at the top and about 57 degrees. It is amazing the experience the difference! The trip up it was interesting to see how the train worked, but we didn't have a view unfortunately. The hour at the summit was very odd - it was foggy and rainy and it is very rocky up there. On the way down it was pouring rain and then once we reached a certain point it was nice and sunny again. Very strange! This is a tough trip for the elderly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mount Washington Cog Railway also viewed

 
Franconia, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 

Been to The Mount Washington Cog Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing