We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun!”

The Mount Washington Cog Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.00*
and up
Full-Day Trip to Mount Washington from Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb to the top of Mount Washington on the world's first mountain-climbing Cog Railway trains!
New Hampshire
1 review
“Fun!”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Absolutely a must if you are up this way. This is a trip that you cannot experience anywhere else

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mr_truth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne P, Owner at The Mount Washington Cog Railway, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and visiting our property. I am glad you enjoyed your trip up the mountain on the train.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    336
    81
    36
    35
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
“Fun family trip”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Even though the weather was bad, we had a great time going up to the Mt. Washington summit via the Cog railway. It was an amazing ride with beautiful views.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne P, Owner at The Mount Washington Cog Railway, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for patronizing our property. If you enjoy train rides you will find the railway a great adventure rain or shine. Many folks also enjoy the inclement weather. It makes them understand why the indians called Mt. Washington Agiocochook (abode of the great spirit).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews/Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great experience but limited”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The cog is something that you MUST do at least once; I agree with other review, but the bottom line is sit AS FAR AWAY as you can from the engine- Thus, on our way up if that would have been at the front, and on the way back, at the back of the train- However, you need to stand in line EARLY to assure those seats- Bottom line is that is a wonderful experience , at times boring, but that you must do. At the top, the chili is great, and better than the clam chowder.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SS0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne P, Owner at The Mount Washington Cog Railway, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. I believe that the new sound systems installed in the passenger coaches make the brakeman speeches and audio tour much more audible and therefore it is no longer necessary to sit far from the engine. We are also in the process of designing a brand new coach, the first of which should debut in 2012. The new passenger coaches are highly insulated and sound proofed reducing noise. The new coaches are also equipped with air ride making them much smoother.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once is more than enough!”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We took the cog railway to the 3/4 of the way, as there were high winds at the top. First, on our way up we saw rocks, we were barely able to take pictures from the window. We thought we would get out at the stop, walk around, and wait for another train to come down. We were not told what "the switching" really means. At the stop, we do not get out to walk, there is nothing. The train stops 10 minutes, we switch the back of our benches in order to see in the other direction, on the way down. We are allowed to take pictures when we can get to the front window, all this while hearing that guy yelling his head off, not even interesting! On the way back, although it is recommended to sit on the opposite side to have a different view, it's impossible as nobody wants to change place and we remained stucked to the same seat. We paid $98.00 for that, waited for an hour to get our tickets, another 2 hours to get on the train, what a waste of money and of our precious time. Maybe good for children who have not seen much. For the ones who have been travelling extensively, it's a cheap attraction, way too much advertized.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise070944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne P, Owner at The Mount Washington Cog Railway, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your ride on the cog railway. It is unfortunate that you chose to ride on a day in which we could not go all the way to the summit due to high winds (over 80 mph). This happens infrequently, but does occur, and our first concern has to be for your safety. I will try to contact you directly by email to see if I can make some arrangements to address the concerns you have expressed. It is our intent to try to have every customer completely satisfied with their experience at our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Where you sit on The Cog is important!”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The best advice I received when I told a friend that I was going on The Cog was where to sit. On the way up, you want to sit at the back of the train (NOT by the engine). The conductors DON'T have microphones so it's very difficult to hear if you're by the engine. Also you have a better view. On the way down the mountain, you WANT to sit by the engine because that's where the conductor stands.

Also make sure you check the weather report because it's a lot colder at the top than it is at the bottom. And be sure and allow enough time. 40 minutes up, an hour at the top, then forty minutes down. Well worth the time and money!

Order your tickets in advance or you may be disappointed.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank cindyNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne P, Owner at The Mount Washington Cog Railway, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for taking a ride on the cog railway and submitting your review. I monitor all comments received on trip advisor and find them very useful in learning how to improve our product. Beginning this year (2012), all conductors have wireless microphones so they can be heard by all the guests on the passenger coach regardless of where they sit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mount Washington Cog Railway also viewed

 
Jefferson, White Mountains
 

Been to The Mount Washington Cog Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing