We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful getaway”
Review of The Highlands Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Highlands Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Sterling, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful getaway”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was our 1st time at a lesbian themed location. We were warmly welcomed and were offered an upgrade to a room in the main building. Initially we were going to stay in the king room in the farmhouse, however thought better of it when we looked at the size of the shower, (definitely not room enough for 2 large women). We took the upgrade in the main inn. We were serenaded by the frogs (due to the unusually warm weather) at night and watched the birds at the feeders in the morning. We stayed 3 nights (3rd night 1/2 price :-) ). Concert Saturday night with Antara had us rocking, many laughs abounded and enjoyed the conversations with the other couples after. All in all a nice place to visit. Will definitely visit again. Hopefully the next time when we go for snowshoeing there will actually BE snow there. Hehe

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
80
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
richmond, me
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had a wonderful and restful weekend. Loved the hot tubs, breakfasts and nearby trails. Nice touch having an in-house concert fireside. Welcoming hosts. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indiegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I had a wonderful 1 day stay at the Highlands Inn. I attended a concert by Lynn Deeves ( a fabulous "Chick singer". And was able to replenish my soul with lots of quiet and serenity in and on the grounds of this charming Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We heard this lesbian-themed B & B was a "lesbian paradise." Actually, it's an old farmhouse with too few renovations over the years. We got a room with a supposedly "queen size" (actually a full) mattress and a two-person jacuzzi. That jacuzzi, and the two others on the property were nice. So was the breakfast and the staff person who made it for us. The rest - well, I could have passed. I've had better for the price.

Room Tip: Skip the spa room if you are just looking for a jacuzzi. There are two bigger ones on the premises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This place needs lots of help. It was run down and tired inside. The place was also very cluttered and unorganized. Hosts were not very warm and we felt like intruders the whole time there. The entertainment was horrible!!!! It was some wary old street musician that thought trying to sing like Joni Mitchell off key with a zither was cool. Would not recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My partner and I were married at the Highlands Inn on September 24, 2011. This hideaway in the New Hampshire woods at the edge of the White Mountains is a truly special place. The land is quiet, well-kept, and steeped in all the magic that only a New England town on the edge of a mountain range can bring. The Innkeeper, Grace, has owned the Highlands for over 25 years and has turned it into an oasis for women. Her concert series, one of which we experienced on the night of our wedding, is known throughout the area for its high quality and diversity of performers. I loved being able to get married at 5pm, have a fantastic dinner in a nearby town, and return at 8pm for a lovely acoustic concert with a local musician from Massachusetts.

Our room was comfortable and cozy, with private bath, overlooking the spectacular backyard of the Inn. Breakfast is served every morning in the dining area just off the living room and offers fresh juices, coffee, pastries and cereal in addition to a hot item which changes daily. The food was fresh and tasty and during non-meal times, there is always juice, tea and water available for guests. We stayed for three days and the meals served at the Inn never disappointed.

The hot tub room is a special addition to this quiet and serene place. Reserved by the hour, it was the perfect place to relax post-wedding with our friends. After a hike at nearby Franconia State Park, coming back to the Inn and luxurious hot tub was a perfect compliment to our day.

Perhaps the most unique thing about the Highlands is its women-only focus. Male guests are only allowed during weddings and group gatherings, preserving one of the only women-only Inns left in the United States. The combination of female camraderie, amazing landscape and the laid-back feeling that New England towns can bring make the Highlands a place that my wife and I will return to again. We are hoping to return in the wintertime for hiking, cross-country skiing and the enjoyment of a New England Christmas.

Room Tip: The rooms are smallish - the Inn sleeps over 40 guests. Ask the Innkeeper for the largest room avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHArtemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Every year we go to the Highlands Inn for some part of the Thanksgiving holiday. The friendliness and warmth of this lesbian inn is legendary, from the turkey dinner to the Friday leftovers to the delicious and leisurely breakfasts and wonderful company - a favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 902booklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
0.5 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
109 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
725 reviews
3.3 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
552 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Inn

Property: The Highlands Inn
Address: 240 Valley View Lane, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Highlands Inn serves a lesbian clientele. Located on 100 private acres in New Hampshire's beautiful White Mountains, the Highlands is known for its welcoming, relaxing atmosphere. As PlanetOut says, the Highlands is one of the most romantic lesbian destinations on the planet! The area boasts world-famous fall foliage and hiking and skiing are among the best in country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Inn Bethlehem, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing