We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want and more”
Review of The Highlands Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Highlands Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“Everything you want and more”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

My wife and I decided to elope and we chose the Highlands Inn because of the information on their website! But what is on there website does not describe there magnificent place! From the time we got there they were welcoming, patient and just wonderful! They took care of everything for our big day and anything I had to do they walked me thru step by step! The place was welcoming, the staff amazing, the breakfast delicious, and the amenities great!! I recommend this place for anyone who is eloping, having a big or small wedding, renewing vows or just about anything!! They make you feel like family and you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montjack042211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
81
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sayville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

If your unaware this is a lesbian bed and breakfast/Inn. It has a ton of activities on and off premises. Including Hot Tubs both indoor and out. Full breakfast included (YOU HAVE TO TRY THE WAFFLES AND QUICHE), hiking trails and snowshoeing included...The towns near by have great restaurants and there is availability to cook and bring your pets in the Farmhouse. The women were from all over the US and one was nicer than the next. Grace was more than accomodating and made you feel right at home. Laid back atmosphere and it was great to hang out in front of the fireplace...We can't wait to head back up for the summer so we can visit Mt. Washington and hike the trails around the area. We are trying to head up with a group for the summer so great place for singles, couples and groups of friends. Try it out, it was great fun!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmdean21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Located in the White Mountains, this Inn can provide a quiet relaxing getaway or be the hub for an active vacation. The staff is warm, welcoming and helpful; the rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated; the breakfasts are varied and delicious; and although it is privately situated, the inn is close to golf, skiing, hiking, shopping and restaurants. We we highly recommend the inn.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannafee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Everything you need/want provided without thought. Hot tubs, jacuzzi, fireplace,snowshoes,breakfast, live entertainment, quiet and peaceful setting.
Grace Newman does it all and does it well.
Cannot wait for our return visit!

Pam and Sue
South Burlington, VT

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamSue23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Every year I spend my Thanksgiving break at Highlands Inn. I look forward to it all year long. Grace and her team make this place feel like home. The Inn is a lovely big old fashioned place, beautifully decorated and very comfortable; the staff is cheery and always helpful; the great room is warmed by a large stone fireplace and offers well-stocked book shelves, games, and a computer for the guests' use. The breakfasts are delicious and have a good variety to suit everyone's taste.
The surrounding countryside is beautifull and offers a wide variety of activities from hiking and skiing to shopping and moose and bird watching.
My idea of a great vacation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeb4bssn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2010

This is a relaxing inn where longtime, return visitors come to recharge, relax and make new friends. We enjoy the shops and restaurants in nearby local towns as well as hiking in the White Mountains. The Thanksgiving dinner is delicious. We've been going to the Highlands Inn for over ten years. Whether it's your first time or tenth you'll enjoy the warm welcome and freedom.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiker40827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangor, ME, usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We enjoyed the drive through snow- covered mountains. The Inn was warm and welcoming. The rooms were clean and adequate. The staff were friendly and the food was great. We met new friends that we will visit with at the Inn again soon. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornamoon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
0.5 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
120 reviews
3.3 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
146 reviews
3.8 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
744 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
3.0 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Inn

Property: The Highlands Inn
Address: 240 Valley View Lane, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Highlands Inn serves a lesbian clientele. Located on 100 private acres in New Hampshire's beautiful White Mountains, the Highlands is known for its welcoming, relaxing atmosphere. As PlanetOut says, the Highlands is one of the most romantic lesbian destinations on the planet! The area boasts world-famous fall foliage and hiking and skiing are among the best in country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Inn Bethlehem, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing