We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bear Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Place EVER!”
Reviewed April 3, 2007

Mike & Carol are amazing hosts! I actually booked this bed & breakfast on a whim, I went online on a Friday am just after Valentines day and I booked their last room for the weekend for my boyfriend and myself. From the 1st phone call to Mike he was so kind. My boyfriend had no idea I booked the room. He got home from work and I said pack your bags for the weekend along with your snowboard stuff and we are heading out. When we arrived Friday night and pulled down the long driveway, wow! what we saw was gorgeous. A huge log cabin with white lights surrounded by 30 inches of snow. Mike met us at the door and greeted us. The TOUR started with a trip to the kitchen where Carol had just made a homemade batch of choc chip cookies. The weekend continued on from there. All we can say is what an amazing place to get away to. From the steam shower in our room, to the amazing breakfast to the skiing just near by, and the company of two great hosts, we will be back I am sure of it.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank buddyNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    29
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
456
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We booked our trip at the last minute as a chance to get away from our hectic everyday life and had precious little time to choose a B&B by reputation.

Knowing only vaguely where we wanted to go, we looked on several online sites and came across the beautiful image of the Bear Mountain Lodges front door shown here:

http://www.bearmountainlodge.net/home.html

Being a sap for lodge cabins (sorry, bad pun!) I was immediately drawn to the lodge on looks alone. We checked out several other B&B's by website description only, but in the end I couldn't get the beautiful image of the Bear Mountain Lodge out of my head. We booked it that (Wednesday) night…

From Boston, it took about 3 hours to drive to Bethlehem, NH on RT 93N. The drive is easy, and conversation easily passes the time. Their website has excellent directions and a quick call will easily settle any doubt.

Upon arriving at the Bear Mountain Lodge, we drove down the snow-lined driveway to find that the website pictures don't due the lodge justice! The building is absolutely stunning, and the setting (even at night) is quiet, serene, and beautiful.

We were greeted at the door by one of the owners, Carol, whom is a wonderful and charming person with a quick smile and happy demeanor. She led us into the 'Great Room' of the lodge which has a two-story vaulted ceiling, wood stove, comfortable couches, and a magnificent and calming aura. The first thing that struck me about the lodge is the size of the logs used in its construction! They are almost 2 feet in diameter! The interior of the building is just as stunning as the exterior (although I am a little biased due to the aforementioned affinity for log construction). The Great Room does live up to its name, featuring some truly breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains, including Mt. Washington!

After a brief tour, Carol showed us to our room, which was ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS. We would be spending the next two nights in ‘Cowboy Roundup’. It has a high vaulted ceiling with wonderfully dark and relaxing tones. The king size bed had a suede-like comforter with a nice array of pillows. The carpet is a beautiful maroon which goes very nicely with the natural wood furniture. My favorite part of this room though was the amazing fireplace… nothing too fancy, a simple gas-burning style fireplace. But it put out such a great amount of heat and ambiance that I thought it really made the room _that_ much more special.

The bathroom is generous and VERY well kept… all of the soaps and shampoos available were pleasing and interesting. The real jewel of the bathroom is the steam-shower option in the shower. For those that have not experienced this marvel of modern technology, it turns an ordinary shower into HOT steam room! Great for relaxing after a day of snowshoeing or skiing!

Breakfast is served every moring at 8:30am, and is always a culinary delight! Carol is an amazing chef and her breakfast creations left us breathless every day!

For the next two days and nights we enjoyed the generosity and hospitality of Carol and her husband Mike. Whether it was arranging dinner reservations, or recommending Snowmobile rental facilities, Carol and Mike were wonderful, helpful, and professional.

I can’t recommend the Bear Mountain Lodge highly enough, it is truly the finest Inn I have ever stayed at.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank CB2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

My husband and I revisited the Bear Mountain Lodge because we had such a wonderful stay last summer! It was great to see the different scenery and to walk in the snow, but no matter what time of year we go to the lodge, it seems it gets better and better! You don't have to be a winter person to enjoy this place! But if you want to head out for some winter fun, Mike and Carol know all the ins and outs! You can come and go as you please, then hunker down in front of the fire and meet other guests or head to your cozy room and enjoy fantastic views of snow covered mountains! The rooms are spotless and Carol's breakfasts will keep you full through any hike! We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Liked — The warm surroundings, great views, great company
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheP's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weare, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2007

Our stay at the Bear Mountain Lodge was wonderful. The log home was gorgeous with its large, handcrafted Easter pine. Each room has its own theme with the most comfortable beds. We had a fun night sitting by the fire in the great room with the owners Mike and Carol and other couples, relaxing and engaging in conversation. If you want to relax and enjoy the great views of Nothern New Hampshire then this is the place to go!! Had a great time!!

  • Liked — The architecture of the log home!
  • Disliked — I liked everything!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2007

This place is a hidden gem. We loved the place. The lodge is a one of a kind. The room we had was wonderful. And the views of Mt. Washington were great. We had a restful night sleep. Michael one of the owner, was very friendly. The breakfast was wonderful. We will be returning soon to this lodge.

  • Liked — The accomdations
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinggyspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk. UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2006

This was the nicest place we stayed in in New Hampshire.

We chose bear Mountain Lodge as we wanted to stay in a log cabin, something different from all the Inns and B&B's in the area.
On arriving Mike greeted us and made us feel extremely welcome. We got a guided tour of the whole property, which is amazing, the attention to detail really showed in the decor and furnishings (well done Carol apparently). Our room (Moose Hollow) was so comfortable and had great views. The bathroom was beautiful (copper sink, slate floors), there is cable T.V, DVD's to watch, even a lap top in the Great room. Everything has been thought of here.

Mike recommended local restaurants for us and we had a really nice meal in a place just a couple of minutes down the road (Rosa - something?)
This Lodge is ideally placed, tucked away in a beautiful setting and yet near to town.
On returning from the restaurant we had a choice of drinks and snacks (red wine, hot chocolate, teas) and relaxed infront of the log fire in the Great room.
We had the best nights sleep in a really comfortable bed and breakfast the next day was delicious, with fantastic views of the mountains.
Mike was excellent company and very attentive making sure everything was just right for you. As the familys own accomodation was separate from the guest rooms you still had a lot of privacy should you want it.

The balance is just right at this place, we cannot recommend it enough. We would definately like to return and stay longer (our only regret is just staying the one night). We would also like to meet Carol, who was away when we were there.

Bear Mountain Lodge is the place to stay if you want a beautiful, comfortable and very relaxing place to stay with good food and good company.

Thank you Mike and Carol

Sarah and Simon

  • Liked — It was so comfortable and relaxing
  • Tips/Secrets — Spend as much time there as you can
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, N.J.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2006

New Hampshire in general is a beautiful place so if your going to stay there, you might as well stay in a place where you can enjoy it's beauty. My girlfriend and I stayed at the Bear Mountain Lodge for two nights and we were amazed with the incredible views and attention to detail in the entire log home. The lodge is impeccably clean and decorated. Mike and Carol are great hosts who really make you feel at home. I wish we could have stayed another night.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ButtaCrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
2.6 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
120 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
744 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
10.0 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
4.7 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Lodge

Property: Bear Mountain Lodge
Address: 3249 Main St, Bethlehem, NH 03574-4963
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grande log bed & breakfast reminiscent of those in our National Parks, located in the heart of the White Mountains in Bethlehem, NH. Built of huge logs and decorated with comfortable western furniture, the Lodge is warm and inviting from the moment you walk through the front doors and catch a glimpse of Mt. Washington. With 9 romantic guest rooms, panoramic views, crackling fires and great breakfasts, we've created an atmosphere where you can unwind and feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Bear Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Bethlehem
Bear Mountain Lodge Bethlehem, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing