We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bethlehem B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Gorgeous log cabin! Always wanted to stay in one and finally got the chance. Bear Mountain Lodge has great views, very clean, comfy beds, and great tips from innkeeper. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ginster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolKNH, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Thanks so much for the great review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Michael was able to provide you with some helpful tips to make your stay more enjoyable. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 566 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

We are on our way home and already planning our next trip back to visit the most gracious host Mike and Carol at Bear Mountain Lodge. I planned a last minute suprise weekend for my husband and he was blown
away. It exceeded our expectations. I hit the jackpot. It was absolutely perfect I just wished we could have stayed longer, next time we can't wait to go back . Thanks you Mike and Carol for giving us a great memory and Breakfast was absolutely delicious . You need to write that cookbook :) Happy. Trails Dave and Darlene from Connecticut .

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1countrydarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolKNH, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thanks Darlene for the awesome review and we're so happy that Dave was blown away by your thoughtful surprise. We're obviously doing something right if you guys are writing reviews on the way home!! When we get great guests like yourselves we feel like we've hit the jackpot and we certainly look forward to having you stay with us again.

I'm in the process of adding Starbucks Verismo coffee machines to the king size rooms rooms and they are already in Wild Turkey and Cowboy Roundup. Tomorrow I'll be adding one to Bear Den where you stayed and as soon as a new plug is installed in Eagle's Nest it will have one too. So your next stay you'll be able to stay in your PJs and have coffee early if you like before heading up later for breakfast. Take care and we look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Service that is second to none. Impeccable rooms with luxurious linens/toiletries. Each breakfast was divine, delicious and thoughtfully presented. A pleasant adult atmosphere. Sitting in the hot tub over looking a beautifully manicured lawn that was only out shined by the majestic presidential mountains nestled on the sky line. Perfect get-a-way paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smittenkitten2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolKNH, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thanks for the lovely review and I love how you express how you enjoyed my breakfasts - my orange french toast does get rave reviews from guests and I know you got to enjoy our twice baked scrambled-egg stuffed potato with asiago cheese sauce -- I created that dish for our gluten free guests and everyone loves it. Take care and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

His: I found this lodge online and we were sold on the stellar reviews and the pictures of the property. Our trip lived up to those reviews in every way. The lodge was quiet, peaceful, and relaxing with fresh air and fantastic views. The owners prepared a wonderful breakfast each morning - usually a serving of fruit and a hot dish. The orange French toast was fantastic. Just the right amount of food to keep us going for a long morning of hiking in the mountains. Each night we curled up with a book and a glass of wine or sat outside at the fire with a beer. Quiet hours basically kick in at 10 pm and all of the other guests were polite and observant.

The lodge has WiFi so we could stay somewhat connected each morning. Once we were out the door for our daily adventure, it was nice to be without the constant beeping and buzzing of phones.

Hers: I loved walking the trails on the property each morning with tea in hand. Mike and Carol are wonderful hosts. The lodge is so comfortable that even when it rained I didn't mind just curling up on the couch with a book. The fresh cookies every afternoon didn't hurt either.

In summary: we're already thinking about returning next year and wouldn't hesitate on recommending this to any of our friends.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are larger. Rooms in the lower level have walkout patios. Rooms on the main floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolKNH, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you Frank for the wonderful review and we're so happy that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. When we created the Lodge we wanted a quiet place where people could relax and feel like they are at their family's log cabin in the woods -- only better; they get to go out and enjoy the day and return to warm cookies and not have anything to do but sit on the deck and relax or curl up and read a good book. It's great to know that our guests are experiencing exactly what we tried to create. Take care and we look forward to having you as our guests again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We booked two nights, 2 rooms with our daughter & her friend. Wish we booked 7 nights! I hope to do this in the future and to spend more time in the Bear Mountain Lodge. Michael was always helpful with good advice and the breakfast was great and very original. Sound insulation between the rooms might be welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolKNH, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thanks Eric for the great review and it was very nice having some great guests from Belgium stay with us. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your breakfasts and I guess there couldn't be any higher praise than wishing you had booked an entire week with us. We'll be thrilled to have you back at the Lodge.

By the way, we do appreciate the input on the sound proofing between the rooms and we're aware of some locations where the logs have shrunk and settled - one of the downsides to having such a beautiful, somewhat living log structure - it's not like a stick-framed house. We'll be getting to that as soon as those rooms are available for a few days for us to get into.

Take care.

Carol & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We found this lodge online, and were totally blown away by the quality of it. Michael and his wife take great pride in the service, the welcome and the lovely fresh homemade breakfasts each day! The location was perfect for exploring the local area and Bethlehem itself had some great places to eat out. We enjoyed the sunshine on the balcony of a morning and made use of the hot tub, all with stunning views of Mt Washington. On trying to find somewhere to stay on our trip around New England, we typed in 'lodge white mountains' into Google. Bear Mountain came up first and we booked........simply awesome 3 days and nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolKNH, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thanks James for the great review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay and my homemade breakfasts. Bethlehem may be a little town here on the quiet side of the Notch, but we're proud of our locally run restaurants who take great care of our guests. And it's perfect for all of our guests to get to both Crawford Notch and Franconia Notch State Parks.

We recently had a guest post that the hot tub wasn't that great which kind of stunned me -- I'm happy that you enjoyed it like almost all of our guests - the view from it during the late afternoon to Mt. Washington is spectacular and there's nothing like sitting out there under the stars after returning from dinner.

Take care and we're so happy that your search turned up Bear Mountain Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Husband & I stayed here 2 nights with our 23 & 20 yo daughters, in the two least expensive rooms. The log cabin inn is beautiful. Huge logs, great views, peaceful, very comfortable and looks brand new. Everything is kept up and beautifully appointed and cared for. Carol and Mike are gracious hosts. Breakfast is great! Hot tub, firepit and close to nearby White Mountain fun. Will definitely come back and highly recommend.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DoonerMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolKNH, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

It was our pleasure to have your family stay with us this past week, it's always great to have a mother and father share their B&B experience with their grown children. Your review mentioned the radiant heat and although it's summer right now, it's one of the best features of the Lodge. During the winter our guests remove their shoes to help keep the salt and sand off the wood floors and they get the added benefit of having toasty warm feet! And thanks for posting the photos from the back deck - even on a not so picture perfect day, the view is incredible. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, take care.

Carol & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
2.6 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
142 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
322 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
10.3 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,749 reviews
4.7 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Lodge

Address: 3249 Main St, Bethlehem, NH 03574-4963
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range: $206 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grande log bed & breakfast reminiscent of those in our National Parks, located in the heart of the White Mountains in Bethlehem, NH. Built of huge logs and decorated with comfortable western furniture, the Lodge is warm and inviting from the moment you walk through the front doors and catch a glimpse of Mt. Washington. With 9 romantic guest rooms, panoramic views, crackling fires and great breakfasts, we've created an atmosphere where you can unwind and feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Bear Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Bethlehem
Bear Mountain Lodge Bethlehem, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing