We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in whitetail room which was plenty large, nice bathroom, comfy bed. Mike and Carol have a wonderful place to relax and enjoy yourself. The view from the great room can't be beat. Enjoyed visiting with other guests there. Breakfast was superb! Would love to return!

Room Tip: Whitetail room is on main floor, very convenient. No problem with noise. View is of front drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 569 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

great place to stay, we stayed only one night, but would have stayed longer if i could, room was immaculate, bathroom was so big and roomy, bed was soft, a little to soft for my husband, but i loved it!, michael, the owner was always on hand , which was great , breakfast was delicious, if you want a quiet getaway this is the place!

Room Tip: we stayed in the loon room, was very comfortable, but we could hear the conversations going on in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The resort was beautiful and the service was amazing. My husband and I stayed in the Moose Room for two nights, which looks right out to Mount Washington. The room was very clean, the bathroom amenities were nice and the breakfast was tasty. Michael was a wonderful host. He was very friendly and had great restaurant and activity suggestions, but also knew when to let us do our own thing. There is a hot tub on site that had great views of the mountains during the daytime and stars at night, a definite plus. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We thank Michael and Carol for a great stay at Bear Mountain Lodge, we booked this based on the trip advisor reviews and this was fully justified. The standard is impeccable, the breakfast interesting and excellent and we very much appreciate the owners allowing our non-standard accommodation request. I can highly recommend this beautiful place to anyone, I'd go back like a shot, kind regards, Jim

Room Tip: We stayed in Moose. I would recommend the log cabin feel, thats what we were after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimboBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Found out about the lodge when researching elopement options - we decided against the elopement in favor of a small wedding, but did stay at the Bear Mountain Lodge for a couple of nights as a brief get-away honeymoon. We stayed in the Wild Turkey room - the layout was a bit odd, what with a long hallway that led to the room, but the room itself was great - very spacious. Michael and Carol were great - it's clear he loves what he does and likes to interact with guests - BTW, if they ever install a helicopter pad in the back yard, that was my idea ;) Enjoyed the stay - would stay again if we decide to go back to the White Mountains for a get away in the future

Room Tip: Wild Turkey was in the basement - some folks might not like the walk-out glass door to the back yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daved01040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolKNH, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thanks Dave for taking the time to write a review and we're so happy you enjoyed your stay. When we designed the Lodge, we wanted to have the end room be a fabulous, oversized room that we could use for all of the elopements and weddings we do. The long hallway once inside the room ensures that Wild Turkey is the most private room we have to give our eloping couples lots of privacy. The hallway design also allowed us to make the actual room and Eagle's Nest larger. The fact that it's in the lower level means that it has tons of light from the glass sliding door and direct access to the seating area, hot tub and fire pit, not to mention that if you open the slider you can hear the waterfall. And even though it is our most expensive room, Wild Turkey is the most booked room at Bear Mountain Lodge. A new large flat-panel TV was just installed and photos will be up shortly, making the room even better.

And the helicopter pad for Michael (who absolutely loves taking care of our guests) is for the future when Michael get's his pilot's license. If only he had a helicopter to take our guests on rides today - the fall foliage is in full swing and the views from Wild Turkey are just incredible today.

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

we were fortunate enough to find this gem thanks to trip advisor and let me tell you the reviews are all right, it is awesome. We stayed in the "cowboy roundup" which was perfect the room was well equipped spotless very comfortable and a fantastic place to return to every night. Mike & Carol were lovely people and love what they do we had the opportunity to talk a bit to Mike throughout our stay and enjoyed his company. Mike greeted us at the door everytime we arrived and was there to wish us a good day when we left. Breakfast was fantastic, loved the little games on the table. Coffee always available with yummy treats in the evening. Can't wait to return in fact found ourselves contemplating our next visit before we had even left!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristy78blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a room on the second floor that had a nice view, the room was large enough and it had a nice bath and bed. We were uncomfortable because there was only one chair in the room to sit and enjoy the view. Also, it was very warm in the room, and the ceiling fan did not work, and there was no a/c. Well, it also rained that night, and we had to close the windows, so we had no relief from the daytime heat. It would have been nice to have one table in the room to set your drink on, instead of the window sill or floor. Also, a stand for the luggage would be nice instead of putting it on the floor and bending down for your things. The room just seemed incomplete to board quests. Yes, there was a bed, a chair, and a bureau for the tv. The best time to go here is in the colder months to use the fireplaces.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolKNH, Owner at Bear Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your thoughts on your stay in Call of the Loon. Since these guests moved a second rocking chair into their room from the loft just after check-in, I'm not sure why they say they were uncomfortable with only one chair as they clearly had two chairs during their one night stay with us.

In the past two months, we have completely redone several of the rooms here at the Lodge and Loon is next on our list. A two day photo shoot took place this past week and new photos for Wild Turkey, Cowboy Roundup, Bear Den and Eagle's Nest will be up shortly showing their remodels which we've worked very hard on. A replacement ceiling fan is on order for Loon as the high speed recently stopped working, only low works and that is why my husband provided these guests with a standing room fan when they mentioned the room was warm. Unfortunately, we had a torrential rain storm the day they stayed with us that was driving the rain sideways into all of the rooms so the windows had to be closed. These particular guests stayed with us the week after Labor Day when we take out the air conditioners every year and we were having day time highs in the 70s and evening temps in the 40s-50s which don't necessitate air conditioning. Had the rain storm not happened, the beautiful 70 degree air would have made their room very comfortable.


In addition to the new ceiling fan, two custom chairs are being designed for Loon as well as a table and new larger flat screen TV. We are currently designing a cool wall treatment for Call of the Loon as well. This room will be up to our high standards shortly.

All of our rooms have a luggage rack in the closet so if the guests has looked there they could have used it rather than bending down into their luggage. We added these when we built the Lodge to ensure our guests every comfort.

Given that these guests had two chairs during their stay, we brought in a fan for them to cool off the room and they just didn't see the luggage rack in the closet, we hope that others will see that we assisted these guests to help them enjoy their stay and that our other reviews are a true indication of what guests can expect when staying at Bear Mountain Lodge. Thank you.

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
2.6 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
145 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
329 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
10.3 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,883 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Lodge

Address: 3249 Main St, Bethlehem, NH 03574-4963
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range: $205 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grande log bed & breakfast reminiscent of those in our National Parks, located in the heart of the White Mountains in Bethlehem, NH. Built of huge logs and decorated with comfortable western furniture, the Lodge is warm and inviting from the moment you walk through the front doors and catch a glimpse of Mt. Washington. With 9 romantic guest rooms, panoramic views, crackling fires and great breakfasts, we've created an atmosphere where you can unwind and feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Bear Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Bethlehem
Bear Mountain Lodge Bethlehem, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing