We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty smelling/Unfriendly innkeepers”
Review of The Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wayside Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2010

The inn had a musty smell--the rooms were okay but the living room/hallways of this inn were terribly outfitted with careless mismatched threadbare furniture and bad lighting. The cook Victor--the owner-- abruptly demanded that we come to breakfast at his convenience (we suggested 8:30 am but he wanted earlier) The bathtub had a Jacuzzi but one was forbidden to use it between 9 pm and 8 am.....It was vastly overpriced for a mediocre breakfast, a shoddy environment, and unfriendly folk. Very few people were there...of course we would never repeat a visit there and hope our experience forewarns others.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ourtown301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 119 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2010

As a group of 24 golfers, we have been going to the Wayside for close to twenty years now and the best thing we can say about the Wayside is that if the golf was all postponed due to bad weather (which it has never been) we would still have a great time because of the GREAT FOOD and wonderful staff. Owners, Victor and Kathe' are wonderful. Victor is the CHEF (capitalized because he is that good) and Kathe' is in charge. Motel section is where we stay-no phones in the rooms but we have not found it to be a problem-calls and messages get to you if needed. The babbling brook out back makes for sound and peaceful sleep. We all look forward to the trip each year and have a waiting list of guys wanting to join us.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Stayed one night in January on a freezing cold evening. Stayed in a queen room on second floor overlooking RT 302. While we were moderately concerned about noise from the highway, by bedtime traffic had slowed down and road noise was negligable. Room was plenty large for the 2 of us, the room was clean and tidy.
Ate dinner that evening in the restaurant, hubby had a very good chicken dish and I had the veal. Both were well executed. They have a decent selections of wine by the glass. After dinner, we enjoyed one of the sitting rooms while we played cards. If you want TV, stay at the Hampton Inn in Littleton. If you want quiet B&B time, stay here.
Next morning, breakfast was included.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finegael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

My husband and I live in central NH and just wanted to get away...but not too far away. We decided to explore the White Mountains for a few days. We looked for a place that had character, a good bargain, and served breakfast. The Wayside delivered in all three categories.

We stayed in the older section of the Inn...part of the main house. Our room was spacious, very clean, and charming. Our only complaint would be that we had not packed shampoo/conditioner as we assumed there would be the usual complimentary toiletries provided. Not so.

The Inn itself is charmingly old-fashioned (main section). If you are looking for modern convenience and chic decor, this is not the place. Our room had neither TV nor phone..which was fine with us! The antiques and old books and games were sweet -- we loved the 'house' cats and dog, and our breakfast was wonderful...especially since it was accompanied by a view of the gardens and river.

We chose to have supper at the Wayside one evening. I had Chicken Simone (stuffed with crab and hazelnuts) and my husband had Venison. Both of our meals were delicious.

One other plus: there is a very nice spot behind the newer annex where guests can access the river and swim/wade.

The Wayside is perfect -- if you are looking for an escape from modernity and stress. If you would be lost without cable or other modern conveniences, I would recommend another Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHalvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

From the moment we were seated at this restaurant and smelled the overwhelming stench of cat pee, we sensed that disaster was imminent. We should have left at this point but stayed with the expectation of delicious Swiss food and because of the lovely setting. Unfortunately, our waitress knew nothing about the menu items and was unable to pronounce the names of the dishes. When asked about menu items, she merely read back the menu description. The food was extremely salty, fatty and of cheap quality. The water had an unpleasant flavor. The rosti potatoes were dry and flavorless. One member of our party ordered a salad with grilled chicken; the chicken was covered in barbeque sauce while the sald dressing was maple walnut-no thought to compatibilty whatsoever. The braised ribs were drenched in a thick gel-like glaze although the waitress had said they were light. All in all, a great dissapointment...

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank FoodFans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I stayed at the Wayside for 2 nights on a trip to the White Mountains with my elderly parents. This historic inn is a few miles outside Bethlehem. It's nicely decorated with antiques. Rooms are large, renovated bathrooms are also roomy. The complimentary full breakfast was delicious, served in the restaurant overlooking beautiful perennial gardens and river. The in has several cozy sitting areas with board games, TV etc. The Wayside proved to be a good location for our scenic drives, short hikes and trip on the MT Washington Cog train.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Going to the White Mountains, summer or skiing season, this Inn is a gem. There are nice rooms in the main building, but recommend the separate two-story motel-like building. All of the rooms have balconies looking onto the stream that runs by. Very pleasant. The Riverview Restaurant (the Inn owner is the Chef) in the main building is excellent and also has a wonderful view of the stream. We stayed an extra day just to enjoy the food.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wharfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
3.5 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
143 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
5.7 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
9.1 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Address: 3738 Main Street, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range: $98 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wayside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of New Hampshire's White Mountains, close to the historic center of Bethlehem, the Inn is set by the beautiful Ammonoosuc River. Here is a favorite for family vacations, romantic getaways and group gatherings any time of the year. Guests gather in the Pierce Lounge before enjoying the Riverview Restaurant. Hearty New England breakfast starts your day, and dinner will be perfect looking out alongside the river and gardens. Your family dog is welcome is a special set of rooms. Everything is carefully and lovingly prepared by your host, award-winning chef, Victor Hofmann. Stroll the gardens under the brilliant New England night sky.Golf closeby. Hiking-Nature Walks-Fishing-Moose Watching-Biking-Birding-Swimming-Kayaking-Antiquing-Summer Theater. Winters:Skiing-Snowshoeing-Dog Sledding-Snowmobiling-Sleigh Rides-Snowtubing-Ice Skating-Maple Sugaring. New England at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wayside Inn Bethlehem, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing