We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean inn near Bretton Woods.”
Review of The Wayside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wayside Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and clean inn near Bretton Woods.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have been coming to the Wayside Inn for many years. It is now like visiting warm and accommodating old friends who keep an immaculate house. The inn is clean and comfortable. We usually stay in the same room which has a great view of the river. We appreciate the lack of a TV in the room. For those who need a TV, there is one in the common area where we enjoy talking with other guests and the warmth of the fire in the fireplace. The breakfasts are substantial and delicious. Dinner never disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaMouette123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are very glad that you enjoy your stays with us and are very much looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    36
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
23
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Spacy clean, quiet rooms, cozy, Great view from the dining room - snow in winter, a creek; superb breakfasts and dinners, very nice hosts, Located close (12 min drive) to downhill and cross-country ski area

Room Tip: Second floor, But all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to write this review.
We very much look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent the night of Oct. 7,2013 at The Wayside Inn. I can honestly say it's the worst place we've every stayed throughout the United States. We should have just left, but since it was peak season for the fall color, we were sure everything was full. We made our reservation in March of last year because of the wonderful reviews on TA!! When we arrived there were 2 cars in the parking lot - not a good sign!! We hit the bell and a man came to the desk. I was all excited and said we have a reservation. The man said, "I'll need a name!!" No, "It's nice to have you stay with us", or something congenial like that. Gave him our name and he pulled up 4 3x5 cards. Found our name and he walked us upstairs to a MUSTY smelling room in the main building and left. We opened the curtains, expecting a beautiful view overlooking the rushing stream everyone talked about. The view was of a tin roof with no view. We were expecting a storm that night and I new the rain would sound like a machine gun on the roof - so beware. We walked down the stairs and rang the bell again in the dingy office and asked the man if they had a room overlooking the beautiful stream. He THREW a key on the desk and said, "See if that works!!" We went into the adjacent building and located our room on the second floor. The bedspread looked like something you would find at a Salvation Army Store. Old flowers and really worn. I tossed the bedspread on the couch and discovered only a mattress on a wood board - no box springs. BEWARE!! I opened the drapes that were falling down and there was a pretty view of the stream. BUT - THERE WERE ABOUT 200 LADY BUGS on the floor, windows and walls. My husband and I killed the bugs and decided to make the best of a bad situation. I wore slippers because the carpet was so yucky!! The ceiling was covered in stains!! The following morning I asked about it to the old lady that looked like she just crawled out of bed, and she said the stains were from chemicals they spray to try to kill the lady bugs!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME?? DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
The Wayside Inn has been in operation since 1910 and as far as we know never received any false reviews such as this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the Wayside Inn at the beginning of our vacation and once more at the end. The beds in both rooms were very comfortable. There is a certain charm to this inn, with the antique dressers and chairs in the bedrooms. On our first stay we were in a room with a king size four poster bed with a white lace overhead. Very romantic. Second stay we were in a room with 1 queen and 1 single which had a gorgeous view of the river that runs behind the inn. The owners were very helpful while making reservations and during our stay. Our daughter is gluten free and the chef easily adjusted one of the entrees to meet her needs. Dinner was delicious! We were able to open the windows in both rooms we stayed in for fresh air during the night, which is a must for us in any hotel or inn.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.
We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at my very first Bed & Breakfast inn. The room rates were very reasonable compared to the many other inns, lodges, hotels around the area. We stayed here since it's in close proximity to Bretton Woods (around 10 miles or so away) and it proved to be very convenient at such a great price! If you look at the other lodges with similar room rates, their rooms looks very outdated. The decor at the Wayside Inn was very charming and quaint. It was very cozy and felt like a home away from home. Our room and bathroom were also very clean and spacious (jacuzzi tub is always a plus!) There was no TV in our room but that wasn't a problem for me and my husband. The wifi was very fast so we could stream media on our laptop if we chose to do so. They also have a TV in the common area if you really need to catch something on TV. The view of the Ammonoosuc River from our room and the inn's restaurant also proved to be quite beautiful.

The front desk, bartender, and wait staff were also very friendly and helpful. We ate at the restaurant twice for breakfast and once for dinner. The food was great! The french onion soup was probably the best french onion soup I've ever had... not too salty like many others I've tried.

There weren't really any downsides. I noticed other reviewers mentioning the low shower water pressure. I agree it was a little low but the water stayed hot so it didn't bother me. Also, the heater in our room made a tapping noise. Maybe my husband was bugged a little but I tend to drown out background noises easily so I didn't mind it so much hehe. The Wayside Inn still proved to be a relaxing and enjoyable stay for us and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisLT617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your first time at a B&B and hopefully will be back for another relaxing getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

When we come back to the Wayside Inn each year we are coming back to "family and friends". The inn is cozy, the food is wonderful and the familiar faces (both guests and innkeepers and staff) are what keep us returning. We were engaged at the Wayside Inn 16 years ago and now our son is part of our annual snowmobile tradition. This year we even brought our dog, Bella, and stayed in a pet friendly motel room in the "Annex".

Cross country, snowshoe or snowmobile right from the parking lot!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vlrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is always a pleasure having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Roxbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

For some years Judy and I have stayed at the Wayside Inn when traveling to the White Mountains. We have always felt welcome by Kathe and Victor. The rooms are very comfortable
and nicely decorated with hardwood floors and period furniture. Bathrooms are large. We especially like Victor's cooking at the restaurant with huge windows overlooking the river.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake-Chev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
3.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
116 reviews
7.5 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
241 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
552 reviews
5.5 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Property: The Wayside Inn
Address: 3738 Main Street, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of New Hampshire's White Mountains, close to the historic center of Bethlehem, the Inn is set by the beautiful Ammonoosuc River. Here is a favorite for family vacations, romantic getaways and group gatherings any time of the year. Guests gather in the Pierce Lounge before enjoying the Riverview Restaurant. Hearty New England breakfast starts your day, and dinner will be perfect looking out alongside the river and gardens. Your family dog is welcome is a special set of rooms. Everything is carefully and lovingly prepared by your host, award-winning chef, Victor Hofmann. Stroll the gardens under the brilliant New England night sky.Golf closeby. Hiking-Nature Walks-Fishing-Moose Watching-Biking-Birding-Swimming-Kayaking-Antiquing-Summer Theater. Winters:Skiing-Snowshoeing-Dog Sledding-Snowmobiling-Sleigh Rides-Snowtubing-Ice Skating-Maple Sugaring. New England at its best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wayside Inn Bethlehem, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing