We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”
Review of The Wayside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wayside Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Cambridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The location in the White Mountains was lovely and convenient for the cog railway and other attractions. Our room in the main Inn was well proportioned, clean and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the blueberry pancakes I had for breakfast were the best ever! The dining room is also very pleasant, spacious not cramped and overlooking a pretty river. The service was also friendly. There are two comfortable rooms to sit and relax in, we sat in the one with the open fire which was lovely, albeit a bit smokey at times, and had a great eveing chatting with other guests. There were also plenty of games and books if you needed them. Internet access was easy too. Victor was not only a great cook but also helpful in recommending places to visit and enjoy the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
It was great meeting both of you. Thank you for having chosen the Wayside Inn and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    37
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
23
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have gone back to this inn for around 20 years. It is beautifully situated near the White Mountains and next to a river (which you see at breakfast and dinner); the rooms are cosy and tastefully decorated, and the food, done by Swiss host-chef Victor varied and excellent. The food is European, with a modern touch. Consistently excellent are the rack of lamb, brook trout, weiner schnitzel, crab cakes and various Swiss specialties a la Victor.

There is a comfortable bar and a living room with tvs where you can watch football,baseball and political debates- if that's your pleasure. No tv's in the inn rooms (thankfully), but the motel half of the inn has them in the rooms. Victor and Kathe are gracious hosts, and to us, the place feels like another home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanbeth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We very much appreciate your review and are looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

It's a nice place, it makes me think of the house my great grandfather built. Very nice view of the river. It's close to the main highway and not very far from mount washington and lots of small hiking trails. Franconia notch is also close nearby. The outlets at north conway are pretty far though. As for the comfort, it is as I said, more beautiful than comfortable. The bed gave a backache and I won't even talk about the pillow! The vent in the bathroom is very noisy and the bath very small, difficult to enjoy it. There is a lot of books to borrow and games to play. We did not take dinner there, only the breakfast. They were too american for my taste, too much fat. Overall impression was disappointing.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_du_Qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your time to write this review. We are glad that your visit brought back fond memories of your great grandfather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philmont, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had wonderful stay at The Wayside Inn. The room was comfortable, price reasonable, and the Breakfast and Dinner menu was excellent. The Wayside Inn is conveniently located to all local attractions. It is only a few minutes away from Mt. Washington.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Wayside Inn back in July with a friend. I have nothing but good memories. Kathe and Victor were perfect hosts. We had come up from New York to hike, and Victor had a number of excellent suggestions for trails; he turned out to be a nifty cook too (the venison was particularly tasty). The setting is beautiful. At the back, a stream splashes over the rocks, steady as a heartbeat, while hummingbirds hover in the wild garden. Out front, there is a perfect view of Mount Washington. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. What's not to like? Peter.

Room Tip: The Annex worked out fine for us.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. Which one was your favorite hiking trail?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at Wayside Inn for 8 days in July 2012 for hiking and sightseeing. The Wayside is conveniently located for most White Mountain activities and is situated on a very scenic river. The rooms are clean and well-appointed, and each has a rear balcony that faces the river. The units are set well back from the main road, and the view out the front balcony is also peaceful and pretty. The Inn serves a very good full breakfast, which is included in the room rate. Dinners are also available in the restaurant, with the menu leaning toward Scandinavian fare. The staff and the owners are great! Everyone was so helpful with directions, hiking suggestions, restaurant suggestions, and whenever we needed some small favor. I would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have better views and are probably quieter (noise from cars on the gravel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and having taken the time to write a review. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouyn, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Lovely place along the river near the White Mountains. Delicious breakfast + dinner and beautiful room. Friendly cat too ! The service and ambience at the Inn are fabulous, we enjoyed our stay immensely...Appreciated individual jacuzzi in our room to relax after day hicking Mount Washington :-)

Room Tip: Our party stayed in rooms 5 and 8 both were cozy and fully equipped. Choose room 5 facing the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful review and please come back to visit some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
3.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
120 reviews
7.5 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
241 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
555 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Property: The Wayside Inn
Address: 3738 Main Street, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of New Hampshire's White Mountains, close to the historic center of Bethlehem, the Inn is set by the beautiful Ammonoosuc River. Here is a favorite for family vacations, romantic getaways and group gatherings any time of the year. Guests gather in the Pierce Lounge before enjoying the Riverview Restaurant. Hearty New England breakfast starts your day, and dinner will be perfect looking out alongside the river and gardens. Your family dog is welcome is a special set of rooms. Everything is carefully and lovingly prepared by your host, award-winning chef, Victor Hofmann. Stroll the gardens under the brilliant New England night sky.Golf closeby. Hiking-Nature Walks-Fishing-Moose Watching-Biking-Birding-Swimming-Kayaking-Antiquing-Summer Theater. Winters:Skiing-Snowshoeing-Dog Sledding-Snowmobiling-Sleigh Rides-Snowtubing-Ice Skating-Maple Sugaring. New England at its best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wayside Inn Bethlehem, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing