We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house with the best host” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
Ranked #3 of 8 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ellington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful house with the best host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We loved it! Mary, the owner and host, made us feel at home. Our room is very clean, and very quiet. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VNwildrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
130
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

I visited Bethlehem with my husband and two teenage daughters and we stayed two nights at the Mulburn Inn. It is a very lovely and grand old house. Mary, the owner and host is a natural at her work. She makes us feel welcome and is a delight . The rooms are clean and well furnished. It's the kind of place that makes you feel like staying longer and coming back. The breakfast is excellent and Mary's home made cookies are a nice surprise. We spent one evening playing a board game in the living room, it felt like we were at our own cottage. The room was not cleaned or the bed made after the first night. I found that not to be accoding to hotel standards. Other than that, it was a great place and I recommend it.

Madeleine Menard
Ottawa, Ontario

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madeleine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We enjoyed two nights at the Mulburn Inn but would have happily stayed much longer as we were made to feel so welcome. I can only echo the praise from earlier reviews and agree that Mary is a fantastic host. We enjoyed cool beer on the porch each evening and beautifully cooked breakfasts that set us up for the day. The home baked Giradeli chocolate cookies were fantastic and we greatly enjoyed our stay in this lovely house.

If you are looking for flat screen TVs in your room or characterless modern surroundings, then this B & B is probably not for you (and the massive 200 room Mount Washington Resort, nearby, may not be to your liking either). Unlike such places, you will have fond memories of the Mulburn Inn long after you have left.

Good local restaurants seem hard to find, so do some research before you arrive. We had a disappointing meal at the Wayside Inn, where the food was mediocre and the waiter was particularly irritating.

The town of Bethlehem is a little faded but many fine houses in the area reflect its grand days. A trip up Mount Washington, on the cog railway, is highly recommended but remember to take some warm clothes and don’t be surprised if it is wet and misty at the summit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chichester_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Good, cause Mary does not mess around. The breakfast alone was worth the trip. Banana cream cheese french toast on the first morning and frittata with grilled potatoes and bloody marys on the second. Not to mention a steady supply of amazing chocolate chip cranberry cookies left on the table downstairs for the taking any time of day or night. The Mulburn is beautiful and cozy and kept up by one of the nicest people around. And she will feed you so leave your diet at home, kay?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polkadot4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Mary is such a friendly welcoming and obliging person and the Mulburn Inn such a character filled and architecturally distinguished house that one can forgive the occasional quirks that she has not got round to fixing yet - e.g collapsing blinds, trickling taps. To sit in the lounge or on the porch and imagine all the famous people who must have done the same thing in the home's heyday is fun. Her breakasts and afternoon treats are great and the guest fridge is stocked with beer and soft drinks. She has done a great deal in a short space of time to revive the house and deserves praise for what she has achieved.
Bethlehem is an attractive place, although it has obviously faded since its prime. The Cold Mountain cafe is highly recommended for good well priced food and a trip to Mount Washington and its hotel are essential

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pindarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We just stayed at the Mulburn Inn for my brothers wedding weekend which was in town...it was as if we were all staying together, renting a big, beautiful home. Mary was the most gracious host, was so accommodating, and is a fab cook! Best chocolate chip cookies I've ever had (she bakes daily!)... A definite must! Yo

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karmagirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

From the moment we arrived Mary the host couldnt have made us more welcome. Its a lovely property with some interesting history . All the ameneties you could want and lots of places to relax. Wished we could have stayed longer . Mary gets it just right , and we would highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalakiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
0.9 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem

Property: The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
Address: 2370 Main St, Bethlehem, NH 03574-4915
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mulburn Inn At Bethlehem NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing