We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Weathervane Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

Weathervane Seafood Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I took my brother here who was visiting from Florida for "authentic" NE seafood. What a disappointment. Fried soggy food and there were literally FLYS all over the restaurant. We complained and the waitress joked and asked if we wanted a flyswatter. Will never go back

Helpful?
1 Thank aanla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stick to the menu”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I used to love this restaurant but the last few visits have been disappointing. When trying the "specials" I have found them to be trial and error - mostly error. One such meal was steak tips which were marinated in something I have never had before and don't care to have again. It tasted of lemon with a ton of garlic - or maybe a bourbon taste - but in my opinion inedible. This came with a "lobster tail" but no one said it would be a "fried" piece of lobster - which was very very chewy. Fried food is not supposed to be in my diet so I just scraped this fried batter off - and just made for a disappointing meal after anticipating a nice piece of lobster. The wait staff can be either very very good or very very bad. One young man tries hard but never seems to "get it" right. I groan inside each time we are put in his section. We will go back but will stick to the regular menu items and cross our fingers to get a good server.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sweet Sweet Lobster!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

After having some waxy, tough lobster this summer on the NH coast, I was thinking that Lobster must have been out of season, but after having some steamed lobster at Weathervane the other night, I realized that they just plain old cooked it better. The meat was sweet and tender and cooked to perfection. I also enjoyed steamed clams that were delicious and not at all gritty. The prices are steep, but for the flavor, worth every penny. Renee our server was attentive and gave great personal service. Except for a little ding for the prices, I give this one a thumbs up!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCFoodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Always great food, sometimes great service”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Weathervane is our "go to" dinner place when we decide at the last minute to eat out. For us, it's close and the food is consistently good. The fried haddock dinner is 2 ginormous pieces of flaky haddock accompanied by a mound of fries, and a cup of cole slaw. Clams, scallops and shrimp, and the onion rings are super as well. Prices are very reasonable. I can't remember a time when the food was less than wonderful. But the service there is almost completely dependent on how busy they are. And it's not necessarily what you'd think. When they are busy, we find that the service is great. When they are slow, the service can be horrendous. But the food always keeps us coming back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank novastorm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Always a great place for seafood at good prices”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I've been visiting the Weathervane chain for over 20 years. They always have great specials and the food is good. It is great place for families with kids.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abs628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weathervane Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing