We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok condo, lousy service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Attitash Mountain Village
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Bartlett
travelingmom19
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok condo, lousy service”
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed in "Blueberry" slopeside condo for trip to Storyland. We specifically booked a condo with a washer/dryer, which we did not get. We requested another unit, but were told that "not all condos have washer/dryers" and there was nothing they could do. As we checked in late at night with two small kids, we didn't feel like traveling elsewhere. Condo was relatively clean, but tired and needed updating. Air conditioning could not keep the unit cool. Upon check out, they then proceeded to charge us another $100.00 for Storyland tickets. I stated I would not pay it as my price included the tickets. The girl at the desk said she could not find my confirmation to confirm this (I didn't bring it to checkout) and I could call the Reservation Manager later that week to "work it out." I said no, we would work it out now and said I could pull it up on my email. She said there was a computer up on the landing, and I could come down and find her if I found it. Of course the computer didn't work, so I went out to the car to find my laptop. Once I had found it in my car 15 minutes later, she said she "found a note in the system from the Reservation Manager" and she credited back my credit card. I can overlook the tired, outdated room, but not the lousy service. Will not return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Hospitality Manager at Attitash Mountain Village, responded to this review, October 23, 2009
Guest service that goes above and beyond the standard expectation of our guests is the number one priority of our front desk staff. Our apologies that "Traveling mom 19" was disappointed that her reserved unit was not equipped with a washer and dryer. Had her visit not been in July, (a time of year that we have little options available for room moves due to occupancy), the front desk would have moved her without hesitation.

As far as the discrepancy in the expected package rate, the resort did compensate the guest to her benefit within a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    153
    46
    30
    29
See reviews for
200
112
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Most every condo here is privately owned. I think this explains the varied reviews. Also some of the condos are older than others. We stayed in building 5 and it was great. This condo had everything we could have ever needed. See http://www.vrbo.com/232242 for more information. The owners are super nice as is the staff. Lisa at the front desk was super nice, accommodating, informative, and genuine. Storyland was only a five minute drive, and Conway was only 15 minutes away. I’d stay here again for sure. No complaints here. Clean, excellent, and it felt like home. It was too cold and rainy for the outdoor pool, so we went to the indoor pool which was excellent. Well maintained and not too much chlorine. On-site coin-op laundry was convenient. Free ice was great for day trips. Almost full size fridge, microwave, stove, etc was great to have; saved a ton of money by not eating out too much. This place is a great deal.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimandRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We used RCI Points for a long weekend away. We stayed in building 7, unit 7o3. This was directly across from the outdoor pool and hot tub (the weather was a little cool at night so we could not take advantage of this). When we opened the door to our unit, we had one flight of stairs before we reached the studio. It was a nice unit with a couch, tv, queen size murphy bed (uncomfortable), small eating area with table & chairs and a kitchen with a 2 burner stove, sink, dishwasher and coffee maker. The unit also had a washer/dryer that came in handy. We were not in the area to spend much time at our resort so this was a perfect place for us to crash after a long day of hiking, shopping and site seeing. I highly recommend Red Fox restaurant which is just down the road on Route 16 in Jackson! Also, check out Cathedral Ledge and Diana's Bath which are off Route 302 (follow the signs for Echo Lake)!
We are planning another trip to the area and will stay here. I will just be sure to avoid the murphy bed =)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkimiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We made a timeshare exchange with RCI into Attitash and were assigned the Chocorua building, unit D4 which was a 1 bedroom for 6 people. The unit featured a 1 bedroom with a king size bed on a upper level with a double Murphy bed and double sleep sofa on the lower level. Each level had a bathroom; with the upper level bedroom featuring an open whirlpool tub in the bedroom area (a whirlpool tub/shower combo was also located in the lower level bathroom). The lower level has a full kitchen while the upper level features a small refrigerator and sink located off bedroom at the top of the stairs. The unit was clean and comfortable, however there was a small problem with controlling room temperature and we experienced a "sour" milk smell once in a while. Some may find the units at bit “aged”, meaning that the unit shows signs of being designed in the 1990s. There is no tile in the kitchen or bathrooms, and the overall décor is common with hotel/condos of the 1990s. However the unit has experienced some upgrades, one being flat screen televisions located in the living room area and in the bedroom. There were several units receiving new carpeting during our stay. Nothing can be a bedroom with a whirlpool tub! The kitchen is full stock with all one needs to cook. There is a grocery store within a short drive from the property and two more located in North Conway. The unit also features a washer and dryer. The exterior needs a few coats of paint here and there. Located a short walk from our unit (which was on the extreme outer edge of the property) is the main building which features a lounge, restaurant, indoor pool and games room. The pizza being offered from the restaurant was good and prices appeared very reasonable. I was a little disappointed with the indoor pool area. It appeared a little worn and the water was heavily bleached. The changing rooms did not smell very clean. The outdoor pool area offered more enjoyment. For those railroad enthusiasts, the Conway Scenic Railroad passed through the property. For those not interested in trains, you might hear the odd horn in the morning. Though it may be a few extra minutes from the hustle and bustle of North Conway, Attitash has a lot to offer summer and winter guest. Even in the early fall when most of its activities are between seasons, Attitash stills offers peace and relaxation. Though I have listed some deficiencies with the property, these did not create a major problem or hinder our enjoyment of our vacation. With all this said, the unit and property still offers a great accommodation and I would return with hesitation.

  • Liked — Whirlpool in bedroom
  • Disliked — Location & size of trash bins
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank StandingRoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We recently rented a condo in bartlet to bring our family to storyland and santa' village. It was a last minute trip with my husband, our two young children, my mother and my sister who has special needs. When we arrived at our condo rental it was filthly. I would not have let my dog stay there. So at 7:30pm(with a car full of exhausted people) we drove around trying to find someplace else to stay. After trying a few other places we arrived at attitash. The gentleman at the check in desk was extremely helpful and found a room that could accomadate all of us. Our room was spacious, CLEAN and updated. The indoor and outdoor pools are great. My son loved seeing the train. My mother is still talking about seeing a bear. My children enjoyed the walking the path and all of the playgrounds. We had a delicious pizza outside at Matty B's, with great service. We are overall thrilled with our experience and look forward to returning next year.

  • Liked — The rooms are very clean and they have a lot to offer
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mama31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We stayed in Carrigan C2, a single with kitchen in a new building, as part of an RCI exchange. Although Attatash Mountain Village asks us in a note in the room to rate them as a 5 (very satisfied) Gold Crown resort, they fall sort.

The people at check in, maintenance, and housekeeping are all very responsive and helpful. Unfortunately the resort skimps in other ways. The nice, big, outdoor pool has green slime in the cement over the filter outlets and a sun tan ring at the water line. The carpet in our room was dirty and need to be replaced. If you run out of toilet paper or dishwasher soap, you need to purchase more. There is a washer/ dryer in each unit, but the ironing board is a tiny, cheap, table top device. Wi-Fi is only available in the main building. Their free computer in the main building seemed to go down around 5 PM on at least two days.

The location in the woods is wonderful, and there were many happy families with young children. The rooms are big and modern with a nice porch. The Murphy bed was fine. It is very close to Story Land and not much further from North Conway. There are playgrounds and gas grills on the premises.

  • Liked — pool, kitchen, spacious room in the woods.
  • Disliked — dirty carpet, miserly rules
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BillSeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2boyzmommy
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2008

I read the other reviews and have to admit I was nervous, but we descided to give it a chance, and I am so glad we did! We had a large group, there were a total of 6 adults and 6 children (2 were toddlers, 1 infant) and we were able to all stay in one condo together, we loved that! We went with the story land package and it ended up only costing us $660 for 2 nights and all our tickets to story land! I will say that the condo was a little smaller than we expected, but we managed. Oh and when we got there all the AC's were off so it was EXTREMELY hot, the upstairs was the worst, and one of the AC's didn't have a filter, but after we had the AC's going and the fan running in the upstairs bedroom it cooled off pretty quickly. All in all we were very happy with our family get together and plan on going there again next year!

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — It was a little smaller than expected
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2boyzmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartlett
3.1 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
290 reviews
6.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
3.9 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
477 reviews
4.2 mi away
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Intervale
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attitash Mountain Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attitash Mountain Village

Property: Attitash Mountain Village
Address: 1 River Run Road, Route 302, Bartlett, NH 03812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bartlett
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bartlett
#4 Family Hotel in Bartlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Attitash Mountain Village 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BECAUSE WHERE YOU STAY SHOULD BE JUST AS MEMORABLE AS WHERE YOU VISIT. Welcome to Attitash Mountain Village Resort, where the views are as endless as the possibilities. We'd like to invite you to experience award-winning accommodations while visiting New Hampshire's North Conway and Mount Washington Valley region. Located at the base of Attitash Ski Resort, Attitash Mountain Village is a four-season destination resort surrounded by towering mountain peaks rising from the banks of the Saco River blanketed by native pine and white birch trees - offering over 350 rooms, suites, townhouses and trailside accommodations. Many units feature kitchens, gas fireplaces, spa tubs and mountain views. Experience on resort hiking, mountain biking, X-C skiing, ice-skating, kayaking and fishing with full access to indoor and outdoor pools, playgrounds, tennis courts, fitness facility with sauna, and indoor/outdoor hot-tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Attitash Mountain Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attitash Mountain Village Bartlett
Attitash Mountain Village White Mountains, NH - Bartlett

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing