We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic skiing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Notch Ski Touring Center

Bear Notch Ski Touring Center
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We cross-country ski with friends in February every year in the Jackson/Bretton Woods area. Our favorite place to ski always is Bear Notch Ski Touring. The trails are scenic, extensive, very well groomed and marked and maps provided. The price is right. The facilities are unsophisticated - after all you go there to ski only. They have great soup and fresh baked bread in the lunch room with other snacks. If you have never skied here we recommend it - the trails both track and speed are awesome.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovejoy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent terrain, views, grooming, friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The terrain is varied so you can climb and take several routes down working on your stride and speed. Flat terrain also along river, gorgeous. Skiers can work on speed and glide. No worries about skaters racing by you; wide trails, plenty of room. Carry cell. Ask for routes based on your interests. Great assistance. Soup offered. Dog friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank comedybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caratunk, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We recently spent a day enjoying the miles of well-groomed, scenic trails. The snow has been limited this winter but we found the trails to be in good shape and quite enjoyable. The trails are well-marked and rated appropriately with plenty of choices for all levels of skiers. We stayed at the Bartlett Inn where they maintain a small trail that took us directly over to the trails (we even bought our tickets at the Inn). There was little traffic on the trails and everyone we met was friendly and having as much fun as we were. We stopped at the Center for soup (3 kinds!), bread and coffee (bread is free, soup is $4, coffee is $1 - all on honor system). Family and dog friendly - not fancy but well-worth a visit to have a great day enjoying the outdoors.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsonsfield, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great place for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

While Bear notch is far from the fanciest touring center around, it's still a great place to ski. The trails really do range from easy, easy beginner, up through alot of fun for a strong experienced skier. The trails aren't 30 feet wide and "perfect" but at the same time you feel like your skiing on trails and not roads.......what can be really nice though is they connect into bear notch road, which under the right conditions adds a great ski way up high, and a really nice time coming down :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

It is dog friendly so we are able to include our dogs in our exercise.The area is so beautiful. The people are really nice and they spend a lot of time grooming.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Notch Ski Touring Center also viewed

 
Bartlett, White Mountains
 

Been to Bear Notch Ski Touring Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing