We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise in the mountains” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sunrise Shack

The Sunrise Shack
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Bartlett
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a 49 seat Breakfast and Lunch Restaurant located on Stanley's Hill in Beautiful Glen NH! "Comfort Food with a Funky Mountain Vibe" Making everything from scratch and serving generous portions, at reasonable prices. At the Shack we try to serve local products when ever possible. Also, we have Beers on tap and in the bottle, a compact offerings of wine, Mimosa's and we are home to the Bloody Sunrise (a Bloody Mary served with Tuckerman's Pale Ale instead of Vodka.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Surprise in the mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Small roadside restaraunt with a surprising delicious menu for great prices. Excellent service A local favorite! Best omelet ever! Not to pass by! Only negative was not enough tables

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jtb1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Owner at The Sunrise Shack, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for the review! Much appreciated by all of us here at the Shack!... we hope you didn't have to wait too long to be seated,...although we don't have any current plans for expansion to the building, you never know what we might do...Thanks again and hope to see you again real soon at the Shack!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    60
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ransomville, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Breakfast was wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved this place, food was fresh and fantastic would recommended to anyone. I had their own bread french toast and my husband had a omlet everything was wonderful. Would have liked to eat there again...worth stopping or going out of your way to eat here. Owner friendly, wait staff good and quick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kimutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Owner at The Sunrise Shack, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for the props! The feedback is always appreciated. We wish you could have eaten here again too, but look forward to your return when you return to the Mount Washington Valley! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great Casual Breakfast/Lunch Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is a hit. It's a fairly small dining room with a smaller bar but nice high ceilings - feels bright and cheery and clean. The service was friendly and efficient. The menu was full of favorites - many with creative twists. The food was presented nicely and ingredients were very fresh - many baked goods were homemade or baked locally. I had a wedge salad which, in addition to the traditional ingredients, included dried cherries, sesame seeds and a maple dressing. It was delicious - creamy, savory and sweet. He had the Huevos Rancheros which were served in a bowl and he liked very much. They serve breakfast all day. Prices were reasonable: Two entrees, coffee and tip came to $25. It's a very good choice for a casual breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bostowyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Owner at The Sunrise Shack, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for the tremendous review! We are glad you enjoyed you meals at the Shack and appreciated the value. We try to keep it reasonable for everyone. Hope to see you again real soon! See ya at the Shack!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We've eaten at the Sunrise Shack twice so far... and many more times to come, I hope! The food is real home-cooked food. No more frozen fried home fries and soggy toast! The breakfast bowls are fantastic (and are great hiking fuel)! We have had the same server twice now and she has been great- both friendly and attentive (even when it was busy on Memorial Day weekend)! It can get a bit loud inside the all-wood interior, especially when it's busy. But, who needs to have a conversation when you have such great food in front of you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Owner at The Sunrise Shack, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
So glad you came back! Glad to hear you anticipate returning again! We appreciate the fact that it can get a bit loud, and are working on a fixing that. So hopefully on you next visit we will have that issue solved. Thanks again and lookin forward to you next visit at the Shack!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Quite a few people had told me that this place was fantastic so I decided to give it a try. I wasn't disappointed! Their servings were generous, and the food was absolutely amazing. I will definitely be coming back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pipzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Owner at The Sunrise Shack, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
thanks for the kind review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your vittles at the Shack! We look forward to seeing you again for another over-sized meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sunrise Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Sunrise Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing