We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bartlett
Certificate of Excellence
Stonington, CT
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family friendly accomodations”
Reviewed May 6, 2010

The accomodations and amenetites at Sky Valley were exactly what we needed to truly relax as a family with a four year old child. A roomy suite, on-site playground equipment, fields for running in, brooks and woods for exploring, a child-friendly pool area..all surrounded by the mountains. Perfect for young families and all very close to Mt. Washington attractions and StoryLand. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FaithCStonington_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    77
    17
    7
    19
See reviews for
165
31
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
JDemerson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2010

For the past 5 years we travel to NH for a family getaway after not being completely happy with our previous place to stay. We often travel with the grandparents and friends. Last year we stayed here for the first time and will make this our new place to stay. The area is quiet. The accomadations (cabins) are nice. The kids were allowed to ride their bikes which was a huge hit. ~Dayna Bangor, Maine

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDemerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Our stay (4 nights) at Sky Valley was very pleasant. This was our first time at Sky Valley, although not our first to the area. The reasonably priced motel rooms, while by no means modern, were clean and adequate for our needs. Having a mivrowave, coffee maker and small refrigerator in our room was most convenient. The free Continental Breakfast was a good way to start each day.
Within a short walking distance behind the motel rooms is the Saco River. We swam and tubed in the river. There are extensive grounds to take a walk on, or for kids to run around. And it's set back from the road. The walk-in pool is fabulous - large with a small roped off area for little ones.
All this at an affordable price and with the beaufiful White Mountains as a backdrop!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cationmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

My Husband and I went with friends to have a peaceful and quiet time together. We Stopped at Sky Valley Motel. Were we found our room to be good size with two double beds. The room was clean and and smelled of fresh mountain air. When I woke up I went outside to take some fall pictures. to my amazedment I didn't have to go far . I could see the mountain across the steet. And trees with leafs of many colors. The beautiful birch trees stood tall you could see the white of the bark and the golden leafs peek through.
This place has so much history and interesting story as told by the wife of the owner.
Life is busy but I decided to Listen While enjoying my morning tea and toast in the sun room off the pool. As I was listening to the story of how the place was started , I looked around and got to see pictures og how it looked in the 50's and what stands now. On the door I saw what the orignal owners looked like and it was some what comforting to now the business was still in the family and run by the son. If you have children there is a big yard and place to swing and play ball.
I enjoyed my stay and made it a point to tell them and everybody else!
Thanks I will be back next year!
Room 14

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank candy2buy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primesbelle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

I was so excited for my stay at Sky Valley. The grounds looked beautiful, and the rooms looked decent. I didn't expect it to be amazing, but i expected it to be at least clean.
The first thing that scared me was the smoke at check in. The whole building smelled like cigarettes. And the older woman who checked us in was rude. It took 10 minutes to get her to come to the front desk, and she looked mad at us! Like we were disturbing her! Then she talks about how nice the room is, and "oh there's a chair with a hole in it but its an antique and it can't be replaced".
We were given the keys to a room with 1 full bed, the one at the end of the motel buildings. Closest to the check in building.
As soon as i saw the outside I knew it would be bad. I can't imagine this place in the winter because the walls where just painted concrete blocks. The bed had and old ratty quilt on it, and one side was pushed up against a wall. There was a pile of extension cords next to the bed that looked like a safety hazard. The small counter was cracked and peeling. The lovely antique chair, was a pleather orange thing from the 80's that had a hole in the seat the size of my whole hand, with filling pouring out. The bathroom was horrible! Filthy covered in mold, the linoleum was coming up as well. Everything was covered in tape, and it was just filthy. Front to back the room was just over the length of the full bed, Very tight. I couldn't stay there. So we grabbed our 15 minute refund policy paper, and we left. The fact that they have a 15 minute refund policy means this is not a first. We went up the road to Swiss Chalets, and got a beautiful room with a King size bed for only 10 bucks more. NEVER AGAIN! I honestly don't know how they are still in business. It should be condemned.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Primesbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david4821, owner at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, October 17, 2009
We don't know who this person is, nor their motivation...but we doubt they ever stayed here.

None of their description matches anything we have here. We don't have any rooms with concrete block walls inside, we don't have any ratty old quilts, we don't have any antique chairs, nor chairs with holes in them. None of our bathrooms meet the description nor is their "tape covering everything"...

While we are an older establishment, everything is reasonably modern and very clean...we are always complimented on that fact.

We give our guarantee because we are quite confident that our guests will enjoy everything about Sky Valley and will find everything exactly as pictured and described in our web site.

Please read our other reviews and decide for yourself if this particular review has any merit...

Dave Eliason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We were looking for a last minute place to stay when we traveled to visit Storyland and we came accross a quaint little hotel right on the Saco River. The help was excellend and very accomadating. Our little daughter loved running around the huge yard and wadeing in the large pool. We really enjoyed walking down the path to the Saco River and throwing stones into the beauiful water. We had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hidence717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2009

One likes to hike and the spouse likes to shop. So we planned a mini vacation in the White Mountains. We stayed 2 nights/3 days at the Sky Valley Motel in Bartlett NH, just north of North Conway (NC). It was the best location, away from the traffic jams and noise pollution of NC and close to both Crrawford and Pinkham Notches.

We checked prices at many NC hotels and they averaged $150+ a night, much more than we expected. So we called Sky Valley and their prices were very reasonable, almost about half of the major chain hotels in NC. Plus a better location and only 10 minutes from NC shopping and restaurants.

When we arrived at The Sky Valley, we were impressed by the beautiful lawn and large outdoor pool area. The motel is set back away from the main street, so there is no traffic noise, it is nice and quiet. There were plenty of chairs around the pool for the guests. Check-in was quick and easy. We got to our room and were pleasantly surprised at how clean and comfortable it was. Our room had sunlight coming in from the large front window, a big queen size bed and cozy bathroom, cable TV with 2 chairs, microwave, refig, and coffee maker.

Both mornings we would start with the free breakfast near the outdoor pool area. They had different cereals, breads, juices and milk. Once we filled up ourselves, off to the near by adventures.

Overall, I spent a couple of days hiking in Crawford and Pinkham Notches and my wife found some bargins in NC. We both had a great time relaxing by the pool in the late afternoons.

Would we return to Sky Valley? Yes!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartlett
1.8 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
290 reviews
7.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
473 reviews
1.3 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
5.4 mi away
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Intervale
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Valley Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Valley Motel & Cottages

Property: Sky Valley Motel & Cottages
Address: SkyWay, 1088 Rte 302, Bartlett, NH 03812
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bartlett
#3 Family Hotel in Bartlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sky Valley Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 units spaciously situated on 35 acres fields, forest and Saco river frontage. Traditional motel type units, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages and chalets. Perfect family resort with a low-key atmosphere. 5 acre children's playground, huge pool, a/c in all units, all units way off the main highway. Free continental breakfast during in-season, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Sky Valley Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Valley Motel And Cottages
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages Hotel Bartlett
Sky Valley Hotel
Sky Valley Bartlett
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages White Mountains, NH - Bartlett

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing