We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Bartlett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2008

My husband & I just returned from a great stay in one of the motel rooms. Each room offers a coffee maker, microwave & refrigerator. The room was clean & the location is very quiet with a park like setting. There is a large pool , wifi and access to a computer in the poolside cafe. We also enjoyed the free breakfast each morning. It is ideally located for many of the attractions in the area. Where else are you going to find a motel owner who tells you to check out the accommodations first & if not satified offers a FULL refund. We really enjoyed our stay & look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 2KONA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 233 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2008

recently stayed at this motel. not only were there bugs everywhere and previous guests garbage in the room. ALSO the owner does not allow guests to visit after 10 pm which is not in any paperwork. she is violent and unstable.

paid for nights of stay but cheked out early due to violent nature of owner.

PLEASE do not stay here, look at the amount of vacant rooms and ask the locals their opinion if you are hesitant about my review!

chose this motel because it's in a beautiful location, but it's not AAA rated and that should have been my 1st clue.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank theresaRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david4821, manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2008

A guest in a neighboring unit complained of excessive noise and more people in the unit than he thought was allowed. This loud, intoxicated guest fails to mention that they were removed from the premises by the Bartlett Police Department. The neighboring unit was occupied by an active duty Boston cop. He told us we handled the problem just right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

if you're thinking of booking a cottage (cottage #8, specifically) at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages in Bartlett, I hope you like "rustic". And, I hope your definition of "rustic" includes the following phrases:

- Floor lamp in the kids' room held together with drywall screws, L-brackets, and electrical tape.
- Bedside table lamp in the kids' room not held together with an old, dried-up piece of duct tape.
- A bathtub faucet that gurgles incessantly, because it can't be turned off.
- Electrical outlets without cover plates.
- Smashed up baseboard heaters (OK, this one's not that big of a deal in the summer).
- Rusty, old stovetops with knobs that keep popping off.

I tried to take picture of the stench of stale cigarette smoke that greets you in the main office as you make your way back to the Poolside Cafe, but it wouldn't photograph well.

Neither would the fleas that we saw in the bathtub as we were packing up, or the non-existent electrical outlet in the phonebooth-sized bathroom.

Needless to say, we won't be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbmac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david4821, manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2008

The conditions described were unfortunate and we were either unaware of, or in the process of repairs...damages do occur and sometimes go unnoticed. The tub running problem was awaiting a needed part and has since been fixed. Stove and lamps are both items on our upgrade list and should be accomplished in the next week or ten days. The pictured lamps are a recent damage and we would not knowingly let such a simple problem go un-repaired. As for bugs? All our units are professionally de-bugged twice a year, but bugs outnumber us humans by a hundred to one...so it's fairly likely you're going to see some kind of insect just about anywhere you go. We are the first to admit we are not perfect, but we do try very hard.

It's always appreciated when folks tell us of their problems while they are here...when something can be done about it...instead of waiting till they get home to start complaining. Our policy is always to either make people satisfied or refund their money so they can go elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

We rented a cottage at Sky Valley because we like Bartlett a lot. This place has nice grounds and is on the river. They have lots of play areas that are safe for the kids.

The cottage was overpriced and badly in need of repairs. The bathroom tub was peeling and was so disgusting that there is no way we would have even thought about bathing the child in it. THe paint was peeling, the linoleum was cracked and seeping mold. It was just gross! The kitchen area was ok. The living room had trim hanging off the wall. The child came to us with a handful of insulation that he pulled from a whole in the wall. Then he gave us a piece of wood filled with nails where a project had been started and never completed.

The common area where you check in and have breakfast was heavily filled with cigarette smoke. Breakfast was minimal and cheap and tasted like cigarettes.

There is no way I would ever stay here again or reccommend it to anyone. The motel may be better but the cottages are horrible.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank debvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave16, Manager at Sky Valley Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

OK...this review is five years old.

Give us another try...we have been working hard on improvements and most of our recent reviews will attest to customer satisfaction.

Dave and Maureen
Hosts, still plugging along !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

Sky Valley Motel is situated on a large, attractivly maintained property with plenty of room to stroll, and grassy areas for kids to play.

Unlike N. Conway with the heavy traffic on 16, Bartlett is very quiet and peaceful. With limited dining and entertainment options in town, expect a 20 minute drive to reach N. Conway resturants and attractions

Adjacent to the Saco River, there is a "beach" (really a large deposit of sand in the river's bend), but the river is shallow and rocky and limits activity to splashy-fun for kids. The motel does have a large pool though.

The motel accomodations I used during this visit are clean and serviceable, but really need updating.

Duplex apartment "A", which I stayed in previouly was adequate, but like the motel units needs updating. The 2 upstairs bedrooms and lower level living room/kitchen is conveniant for larger families.

Bottom line, if you can get the accomodations for discounted off season rates the place is fine, but the dated quality of the accomodations at the full rate price makes other area lodging worth considering.

If you have kids, the large grounds with room to run around and the pool is a definite plus and should factor in you decision.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Drew-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2004

My family and I ( my husband and 3 boys ages 3 9 and 12) have stayed twice now, and we enjoyed our experience. It is not that expensive and the rooms are plenty big enough. They are inobtrusive, yet available if they are needed. The river is right out back with some really nice swimming holes and alot to explore. A good time all around. I am happy to reccomend them to anyone.

5  Thank Silvbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartlett
1.8 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
301 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
21.8 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
5.0 mi away
Attitash Mountain Village
Attitash Mountain Village
#6 of 12 in Bartlett
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Valley Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Valley Motel & Cottages

Address: SkyWay, 1088 Rte 302, Bartlett, NH 03812
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bartlett
#3 Family Hotel in Bartlett
Price Range: $79 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sky Valley Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 units spaciously situated on 35 acres fields, forest and Saco river frontage. Traditional motel type units, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages and chalets. Perfect family resort with a low-key atmosphere. 5 acre children's playground, huge pool, a/c in all units, all units way off the main highway. Free continental breakfast during in-season, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sky Valley Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages Hotel Bartlett
Sky Valley Motel And Cottages
Sky Valley Hotel
Sky Valley Bartlett
Sky Valley Motel & Cottages White Mountains, NH - Bartlett

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing