We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin 3”
Review of Zephyr Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zephyr Cove Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cabin 3”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Cabin and entire property clean and well maintained including the beach. Staff at cabins, restaurant and cafe attentive and courteous. Good location for exploring other areas of the lake. Dinner cruise on Dixie II was great fun.

Room Tip: Nice to have fully equipped kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    83
    31
    18
    21
See reviews for
106
116
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Family stayed in the RV Park at Zephyr Cove in Nevada. We are adventureous and love nature, animals, and being outdoor. On our first night there, a 300 lb black bear was running through the RV sites and came again at 2:00 pm in the afternoon, and came again next morning. After the first siting, a worker said, "yay, he comes through every week a few times to eat at the dumpsters." Granted, there are "be aware of bears" posted on the dumpsters, however, it would have been an excellent idea to have the Lodge Attendant tell us this information when we checked into the RV Park. There were toddlers (under the age of 3 at many of the RV sites) running around that evening and family members were walking around to shower, lodge area by themselves. If we knew a bear walks through your park on a frequent basis, we would have never allowed our children and adults walk alone. Verbal communication is paramount and for the safety of the guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rosemarie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I had 3 night stay in a studio cabin. WiFi worked great!
Awesome view of the lake and grounds from the cabin deck. There were several other cabins that had even better view, we'll get one of those next time!
Cabin was clean, bathroom a bit cozy (small) but not a problem. Loved having a kitchen and cable TV. Close to South Lake and shopping, nice short drive to Incline Village. Lots of activities for all ages. Nice, clean beaches, water craft rentals, and Steam Paddle Boat cruises leave several times daily from the dock right at the facility. Restaurant/Bar was absolutely awesome, the food is fantastic. We will definitely be back! This is our new favorite place to stay in the Tahoe area.

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin down close to the lake, they have an awesome sunset view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzzshn .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

3 Concerns in addition to the room itself.

1) Upon check in, I requested for an upgrade and willingly offered to pay the difference in cost. Was informed that there was no room for two consecutive nights, to mean, have to change room for each night.

2) Room Lodge 4. Was hot, smelled of oil and kitchen exhaust, no ventilation, no air condition and very noisy. I informed the reception of the heat, a fan was brought up to my room.

3) I responded to a "customer service" survey and shared the concerns identified above. Mr. Rick Douglas, who identified himself as the site manager. After going through my concerns, he reassured me that he will speak to all reception staff to accommodate customer request for an upgrade when possible. I learned through Mr. Douglas that there was in fact "rooms" for two consecutive nights. He then offered to refund a discount of 20%. I then said, action speaks louder than words and look forward to receiving the discount. He also verified if the email address was current, I responded with a yes.

It's been 2 weeks since Mr. Douglas and I spoke, and no discount has come through.

Room Tip: Avoid Lodge Room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onepinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Rented a one bedroom cabin for 3 nights. It was very clean and well kept. Loved the gas fireplace in the living room and outdoor porch with the lake and mountain view. Just a stones throw away from the beach front access. Great beach and wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redt2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

WiFi was basically unusable. Simply unacceptable these days - would give zero if I could.

Rest of cabin was basic - cutlery was dirty, no air con, and the bathroom was rudimentary and small. Beach was dirty and inhabited by people playing music out loud.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our family of three plus puppy had a great time at Zephyr Cove. Though our original site was tight, we changed to a great site, right up against a bouldered hillside. Clearly the right site here makes all the difference. Some are really tight, some are quite spacious.

The staff was great. Tim (on his second day), showed top shelf concierge type service reminiscent of the finest hotels I've stayed in. Louis at the marina was outstanding as well. The rest was really good, friendly, helpful, and encouraging to an over exuberant 7 year old. Great people all around, really made it fun.

Lots of nature all around. The setting with the butterscotch/vanilla scent of the Jeffrey Pines was wonderful every morning. The boulders to play on, great for the kids. Complimentary fire pits made roasting marshmallows and hot dogs simple and fun. A few animal trials took us to seasonal wildflowers and stands of Quaking Aspen.

The short walk to the lake was easy, though the beach was filled with partying people not quite appropriate for a young child. We were able to find some quite space to enjoy, though it was a short walk. Nearby Cave Rock State Park has a nice beach that is relatively empty.

Restaurant was so so, but who cares when your daughter discovers the joy of cooking hot dogs on a stick over an open fire. Cleanliness was exemplary. The staff worked had on the grounds, the restrooms, the showers, and it show.

Overall, a great time even over Memorial Day weekend. We will come back on our next visit to Tahoe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zephyr Cove
4.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,001 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
761 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tahoe Valley Campground
Tahoe Valley Campground
#1 of 17 in South Lake Tahoe
506 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zephyr Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zephyr Cove Resort

Property: Zephyr Cove Resort
Address: 760 Highway 50, Zephyr Cove, Zephyr Cove, NV 89448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Zephyr Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Zephyr Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Zephyr Cove Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from the Shore, Miles from Ordinary Quaint shore-side cabins, freshly prepared meals, and endless activities entice our guests to come back to Zephyr Cove Resort & Lake Tahoe Cruises year after year for their South Lake Tahoe Vacation. The Cabins at Zephyr Cove Resort consist of 28 cabins nestled in a grove of pine trees on South Lake Tahoe's spectacular shoreline, and range in size from studios and cottages to two-story chalets that can sleep up to 10 guests. Pet friendly accommodation options available. The historic and charming Zephyr Cove Lodge offers four comfortable guest rooms that accommodate from two to six people. For generations, visitors have found the setting and simplicity of Zephyr Cove Resort & Lake Tahoe Cruises a refreshing alternative to the densely developed areas of South Lake Tahoe - the perfect hub for launching all your South Lake Tahoe activities and adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zephyr Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zephyr Cove Hotel Zephyr Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing