We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid Lodge Room 4 and poor Reception Customer Service”
Review of Zephyr Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zephyr Cove Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Avoid Lodge Room 4 and poor Reception Customer Service”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

3 Concerns in addition to the room itself.

1) Upon check in, I requested for an upgrade and willingly offered to pay the difference in cost. Was informed that there was no room for two consecutive nights, to mean, have to change room for each night.

2) Room Lodge 4. Was hot, smelled of oil and kitchen exhaust, no ventilation, no air condition and very noisy. I informed the reception of the heat, a fan was brought up to my room.

3) I responded to a "customer service" survey and shared the concerns identified above. Mr. Rick Douglas, who identified himself as the site manager. After going through my concerns, he reassured me that he will speak to all reception staff to accommodate customer request for an upgrade when possible. I learned through Mr. Douglas that there was in fact "rooms" for two consecutive nights. He then offered to refund a discount of 20%. I then said, action speaks louder than words and look forward to receiving the discount. He also verified if the email address was current, I responded with a yes.

It's been 2 weeks since Mr. Douglas and I spoke, and no discount has come through.

Room Tip: Avoid Lodge Room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onepinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    76
    29
    16
    20
See reviews for
104
105
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Rented a one bedroom cabin for 3 nights. It was very clean and well kept. Loved the gas fireplace in the living room and outdoor porch with the lake and mountain view. Just a stones throw away from the beach front access. Great beach and wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redt2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

WiFi was basically unusable. Simply unacceptable these days - would give zero if I could.

Rest of cabin was basic - cutlery was dirty, no air con, and the bathroom was rudimentary and small. Beach was dirty and inhabited by people playing music out loud.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our family of three plus puppy had a great time at Zephyr Cove. Though our original site was tight, we changed to a great site, right up against a bouldered hillside. Clearly the right site here makes all the difference. Some are really tight, some are quite spacious.

The staff was great. Tim (on his second day), showed top shelf concierge type service reminiscent of the finest hotels I've stayed in. Louis at the marina was outstanding as well. The rest was really good, friendly, helpful, and encouraging to an over exuberant 7 year old. Great people all around, really made it fun.

Lots of nature all around. The setting with the butterscotch/vanilla scent of the Jeffrey Pines was wonderful every morning. The boulders to play on, great for the kids. Complimentary fire pits made roasting marshmallows and hot dogs simple and fun. A few animal trials took us to seasonal wildflowers and stands of Quaking Aspen.

The short walk to the lake was easy, though the beach was filled with partying people not quite appropriate for a young child. We were able to find some quite space to enjoy, though it was a short walk. Nearby Cave Rock State Park has a nice beach that is relatively empty.

Restaurant was so so, but who cares when your daughter discovers the joy of cooking hot dogs on a stick over an open fire. Cleanliness was exemplary. The staff worked had on the grounds, the restrooms, the showers, and it show.

Overall, a great time even over Memorial Day weekend. We will come back on our next visit to Tahoe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stopped here one night on way to Reno the Friday of Memorial Day weekend. Cabin was very nice, clean, and with all the amenities needed. Nicely appointed. A big one bedroom, two queen beds, with couch and a big bathroom, shower, no bathtub, all very modern and clean. Big TV. Beautiful view of lake. Nice place to walk or sit. Very quiet. The restaurant is excellent. Staff is all very friendly. For families, the watersports activities would be handy, and the cruise boat is right there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had the most excellent experience and we would be coming back again and again in the future. Set in the backdrop of most beautiful scenery anyone could imagine. It's so calm, peaceful and very relaxing to stay here. We absolutely fell in love with the cabins here...very quaint and cozy. All surrounded by breathe taking views of the lake at all times...it's picturesque!!! Everything is conveniently located within a couple miles if ever you feel the need to wander around. We're definitely bringing friends and family back with us the next time we visit :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xoxo4chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We booked just one of the small cabins here for a quick "staycation" recently. We live in Reno so the drive here is only an hour. Having never been here before we didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. Usually we just drive by on the way to South Lake Tahoe.

The cabins are all fairly close to the lake. It was nice to just walk a few yards and be right on the beach. Definitely pleasant at night for stargazing. The resort has a good slice of beach that butts up against forest service land. They also launch the MS Dixie paddle wheeler cruises from the dock here.

The property was older but very well maintained. The bar was friendly and the bar staff helpful. We did have a lovely breakfast at the restaurant the next day. I do plan to come back for a longer visit in the near future and will go for a larger cabin.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloften028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zephyr Cove
4.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
4.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
3.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zephyr Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zephyr Cove Resort

Property: Zephyr Cove Resort
Address: 760 Highway 50, Zephyr Cove, Zephyr Cove, NV 89448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Zephyr Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Zephyr Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Zephyr Cove Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from the Shore, Miles from Ordinary Quaint shore-side cabins, freshly prepared meals, and endless activities entice our guests to come back to Zephyr Cove Resort & Lake Tahoe Cruises year after year for their South Lake Tahoe Vacation. The Cabins at Zephyr Cove Resort consist of 28 cabins nestled in a grove of pine trees on South Lake Tahoe's spectacular shoreline, and range in size from studios and cottages to two-story chalets that can sleep up to 10 guests. Pet friendly accommodation options available. The historic and charming Zephyr Cove Lodge offers four comfortable guest rooms that accommodate from two to six people. For generations, visitors have found the setting and simplicity of Zephyr Cove Resort & Lake Tahoe Cruises a refreshing alternative to the densely developed areas of South Lake Tahoe - the perfect hub for launching all your South Lake Tahoe activities and adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Zephyr Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zephyr Cove Hotel Zephyr Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing