We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for minuscule cabin”
Review of Zephyr Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zephyr Cove Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I rented a cabin for me and my 2 teen daughters. They liked that it is close to the lake, but the cabin is minuscule! 1 twin bed (that's small thing is not a queen) and a sofa. Once the sofa is opened, you can't move around in the cabin anymore! No table, 1 chair, 1 small fridge and a microwave in the corner, no silverware whatsoever, very tiny bathroom. And we're close to 50E.
On the plus side: wifi working, clean, kinda cute like a doll house. 1 very young couple might fit more comfortably. The rate of more than $300 a night for 3 people is way too much.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a cabin just next to the freeway!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrcaNanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Zephyr Cove Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 288 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the RV Park in June and enjoyed our stay. We actually only had reservations for one night, but didn't like the State Park site we were staying in so called to see if Zephyr Cove had any room. Fortunately they had a cancellation and I think they gave us one of the best spots in the park! We stayed in site 190, which was the last site on the left before reaching the walk-in area. Our 11 year old son loved playing on the rocks near the site and we could see everything he was doing from the rv. The only thing that was a negative (but not much) was the night we stayed was the Friday night the week before July 4th and people were arriving late for the walk-in sites. A little bit of extra noise as they unloaded in front of us and got a ride to their site in the golf cart. We had to move for the second night to a site right near the office which wasn't so fun, but we spent most of the time at the beach or on the water, so it wasn't a real problem.

Bathrooms were good. We liked the quantity/availability of the single room showers. The showers near the office were the BEST!! Very clean, well-kept. I also loved the laundry room as we had a week's worth of clothes/towels to wash for the next two weeks on the road.

We thought we'd be able to hang at the beach with our son, but it tended to be more for the teen/young adult crowd. A bit wild during the day and probably should have some type of security for this type of behavior. Lots of volleyball and drinking.......But, what can I say, we were travelling as a family and not as singles. Wish we'd have known ahead of time about that. At least being in the rv park we were away from the noise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from this campground and I felt like I needed to write a review based on all the negative reviews I read before we left. We stayed in an walk in campsite, campsite number 24 to be exact. It was very spacious and faced a hillside, and the bear box was huge and able to fit our ice chest as well as everything else we brought. Yes the path up to our site was a pain in the [--] to climb up and down, but it was worth it to be a little more isolated. The campground itself was beautiful, and clean. The bathrooms were clean for campground standards, if you are looking for spider-free, spotless bathrooms, then stay in a hotel. The showers were HOT and FREE! It took one minute on our bikes, or a 10 minute walk to the sandy beach which was right across the street. The only reason for the four stars is because we read that we would get help with our items up to camp, and we didn't. We did see others getting help, we just were in the wrong place at the wrong time. All the staff we came in contact were friendly and respectful. Would I recommend to my friends and family? Yes. Would I stay again? Yes!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaBales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Walk in tent campsites. Up a steep hill. Im serious. Its steep. Hard to find assistance for your gear. Fires out by 11 pm and yes they will come around and tell you. Spot 27 was awful and I'm sure our neighbors agree. We stayed one night and left. For more than 40 bucks a night, this should be a better set up campground. Will never camp here again.

The cabins were a completely different experience. A positive one.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chadsjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We rented a power boat from the Zephyr Cove Marina, It was the highlight of our week stay in Lake Tahoe. Beginning with the employees; from the parking attendants to the the helpers at the marina everyone contributed to our positive experience. The marina helper; Eric was a gem! We were greeted with enthusiasm and filled with accurate knowledge of the boat and proper operation. The boat was clean, well-cared and preformed to our expectations. Following our boating adventure we enjoyed a delicious meal and fine service at the Zephyr Cove Restaurant. A wonderful experience all the way around!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKL22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family rented a cabin for the Fourth of July holiday weekend. We had cabin 29, which is just steps from Zephyr Cove Beach. The cabin was great - two bedrooms downstairs (queen beds in each), and one big, open loft room upstairs. It had a queen, double, and twin bed. There is one bathroom downstairs, which our big group shared. The kitchen comes outfitted with everything you need (minus food, obviously). There is a large porch area with two picnic tables and a gorgeous view of Lake Tahoe. We had eight adults and four small children in our group and the cabin worked great. The holiday weekend was a little too crazy for us though, with the party crowd invading the beach. This wasn't good for little kids, so we would not go back on a big weekend like that. The resort is awesome though, and these cabins are really nice. The've been upgraded and are 3-4 star now. If you don't want to stay at a hotel and want to be literally right on the beach then check this place out. It's wonderful!

Room Tip: Cabin 29 is one of two very large ones they have and is perfect for a group.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank espanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We just spent a little over a week in the RV park. We loved the location and our first site was very nice. However, we had SO many problems with our reservations. We had billing issues prior to arriving and then when we pulled in...we were told that they had accidentally doublebooked our sites and we would have to move to a non--premium site two days earlier than we had thought. The second site was much too small and our outdoor space was on a slant so basically unusable. They did provide a credit but in the end, it really wasn't worth it. Would rather have had no billing problems and been able to stay in our premium site the whole time. A computerized reservation system should make the whole process run smooth...especially considering they don't allow cancellations!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank djralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zephyr Cove
4.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,083 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
786 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,629 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
907 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zephyr Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zephyr Cove Resort

Address: 760 Highway 50, Zephyr Cove, Zephyr Cove, NV 89448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Zephyr Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Zephyr Cove
Price Range: $111 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Zephyr Cove Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from the Shore, Miles from Ordinary Quaint shore-side cabins, freshly prepared meals, and endless activities entice our guests to come back to Zephyr Cove Resort & Lake Tahoe Cruises year after year for their South Lake Tahoe Vacation. The Cabins at Zephyr Cove Resort consist of 28 cabins nestled in a grove of pine trees on South Lake Tahoe's spectacular shoreline, and range in size from studios and cottages to two-story chalets that can sleep up to 10 guests. Pet friendly accommodation options available. The historic and charming Zephyr Cove Lodge offers four comfortable guest rooms that accommodate from two to six people. For generations, visitors have found the setting and simplicity of Zephyr Cove Resort & Lake Tahoe Cruises a refreshing alternative to the densely developed areas of South Lake Tahoe - the perfect hub for launching all your South Lake Tahoe activities and adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zephyr Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zephyr Cove Hotel Zephyr Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing