We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the Tahoe Sun!”
Review of Zephyr Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zephyr Cove Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family rented a cabin for the Fourth of July holiday weekend. We had cabin 29, which is just steps from Zephyr Cove Beach. The cabin was great - two bedrooms downstairs (queen beds in each), and one big, open loft room upstairs. It had a queen, double, and twin bed. There is one bathroom downstairs, which our big group shared. The kitchen comes outfitted with everything you need (minus food, obviously). There is a large porch area with two picnic tables and a gorgeous view of Lake Tahoe. We had eight adults and four small children in our group and the cabin worked great. The holiday weekend was a little too crazy for us though, with the party crowd invading the beach. This wasn't good for little kids, so we would not go back on a big weekend like that. The resort is awesome though, and these cabins are really nice. The've been upgraded and are 3-4 star now. If you don't want to stay at a hotel and want to be literally right on the beach then check this place out. It's wonderful!

Room Tip: Cabin 29 is one of two very large ones they have and is perfect for a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank espanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 290 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We just spent a little over a week in the RV park. We loved the location and our first site was very nice. However, we had SO many problems with our reservations. We had billing issues prior to arriving and then when we pulled in...we were told that they had accidentally doublebooked our sites and we would have to move to a non--premium site two days earlier than we had thought. The second site was much too small and our outdoor space was on a slant so basically unusable. They did provide a credit but in the end, it really wasn't worth it. Would rather have had no billing problems and been able to stay in our premium site the whole time. A computerized reservation system should make the whole process run smooth...especially considering they don't allow cancellations!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank djralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you are wanting to reserve a walk-in tent site be prepared to walk and for a hike up a steep (paved) hill to get to your campsite. It's a workout! (and our group is in shape! ) We stayed in site #42 which was great! It was big, large enough for a 8 person tent and a 4 person tent and it was level. Many of the tent sites are not level so be aware and many of them aren't large enough for two tents. We had assistance from the campground staff getting our tent, coolers, food, etc up to the site, but we were on our own when it came time to leave. And it was not fun making several trips up and down the hill to load up our car.
We were not far from the bathrooms (flush toilets, no shower)...they were DIRTY bathrooms! These bathrooms are definitely not cleaned daily, in which they should be! One of them smelled so terrible that we had to immediately walk out of it. So we used the other side. It had a dirty sink with dead bugs and a gross looking toilet with dried up urine.

Site #42 was beautiful and quiet for us, but I would not stay at this campground again do to the accessibility to the walk-in tent sites. We drove past the drive up sites and most of them appeared to be on sloped spaces.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mstlvk9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Zephyr Cove resort was a great find! We stayed in a cabin and it was roomy and clean. The fridge was a little old and noisy - but other than that it was great - and had everything we needed for 4 days. The location is perfect - the beach is beautiful, its quiet and lots of places to explore with the National Forest right next door. We were traveling with our dog and they were very welcoming. Dogs are not allowed on the resort beach - but walk a few hundred yards north and you are in the National Forest and dogs are allowed on the beach - many are hiking off leash. Dogs are not allowed outside in the beach bar or restaurant - which kept us from eating or hanging out there. Their phone routing needs some work - could not easily call into reservations. But would definitely come back and stay longer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbird27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We loved the location, the Cabin and it's amenities were first rate, the staff an management are great. Where else can you grill your dinner with such a wonderful view, there's a great little bar down by the wharf for watching the sunset, an you can catch the cruise from their too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dacsiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My family has been coming here for the last 20 years. We have looked into other lodging around the lake and there is nothing else with the same feel, amenities and activities as Zephyr Cove. It’s perfect for family time or a romantic weekend. The resort has a rustic feel but the cabins have all the amenities; they are clean, very cozy, and all just a very short walk to the lake. The Lodge restaurant has a beautiful lake view, the food is delicious and the service is great. The store/gift shop did not have as many grocery items as in the past but there is a Safeway down the road so it was not a problem. Cabins 10-12 are great for family time. My husband and I just stayed in cabin 1, a studio with a kitchen, and it was perfect for romantic weekend. Cabin 1 is close to the highway so there was some traffic noise with the windows open, but was not a problem when they were closed. Recommend doing the MS Dixie Emerald Bay ride at least once, the scenery is spectacular!

Room Tip: If getting a studio get one with a kitchen. We did this time and it was much better than washing dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in the RV park across the road from the lake. A really pretty spot. There was a fire pit and a picnic table on our site, but the free wifi was a little spotty, especially at night. Showers and toilets were clean. It was a short walk across the road to the beautiful beach and marina, where there were plenty of activities on offer. Staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Forest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zephyr Cove
4.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,118 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
803 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,719 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
203 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zephyr Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zephyr Cove Resort

Address: 760 Highway 50, Zephyr Cove, Zephyr Cove, NV 89448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Zephyr Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Zephyr Cove
Price Range: $111 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Zephyr Cove Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from the Shore, Miles from Ordinary Quaint shore-side cabins, freshly prepared meals, and endless activities entice our guests to come back to Zephyr Cove Resort & Lake Tahoe Cruises year after year for their South Lake Tahoe Vacation. The Cabins at Zephyr Cove Resort consist of 28 cabins nestled in a grove of pine trees on South Lake Tahoe's spectacular shoreline, and range in size from studios and cottages to two-story chalets that can sleep up to 10 guests. Pet friendly accommodation options available. The historic and charming Zephyr Cove Lodge offers four comfortable guest rooms that accommodate from two to six people. For generations, visitors have found the setting and simplicity of Zephyr Cove Resort & Lake Tahoe Cruises a refreshing alternative to the densely developed areas of South Lake Tahoe - the perfect hub for launching all your South Lake Tahoe activities and adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zephyr Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zephyr Cove Hotel Zephyr Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing