We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful - 1 Bedroom Lakeview Cabin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zephyr Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zephyr Cove Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Davis, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful - 1 Bedroom Lakeview Cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Loved the location of the cabin and the beautiful view of the sunset. We (2 adults + 2 kids under 4) stayed at the 1 Bedroom Lakeview cabin literally 50 feet from the beach. It was quiet and it was beautiful. Cabin was cozy. Full kitchen which included dish soap, new sponge, microwave, stove, pots & pans, dishes, utensils, and freezer/refrigerator. Shower (instead of a tub) in the bathroom. 2 rollaways that was set up in the living room. Gas fireplace was nice. There is a thermostat we didn't use since we preferred the fireplace. The windows in the living room faces the lake. Bed in the room was comfortable but the rollaway beds were just okay. Safeway is 1.5 miles away so its easy to grocery shop, cook, and enjoy a meal indoors. There is an on-site restaurant. Water activities are right on the beach. We were able to get in a paddle boat ride before check-out (11am). Easy to check out by just leaving the key in the room. Great place to bring a family especially if the main purpose of Lake Tahoe is to be by the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    76
    28
    16
    18
See reviews for
101
103
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Zephyr Cover RV/campground for 3 nights. We brought our dogs with us. I will make a list of the positives and negatives.
Positives: Great location, some sites have a view of the lake, the office stocks ice, wood, and other camping gear. The disabled site has extra room and is located next to a spacious bathroom equipped with a shower head/hose attachment and a fold down seat off the wall. There is always toilet tissue, paper towels and hand soap in the bathrooms. People are friendly. They offer lots of water entertainment--at a price. The restaurant has Starbucks coffee. A Safeway is down the street. They have a designated area to park your boat and extra cars. $6/per extra car. You are allowed one RV and one car per site.
Negatives: They have doggie poop stations all over the campground but not one was stocked with the little plastic bags for clean up, hence dog poop was everywhere--grouse! Our fire pit was not clean when we arrived. The disabled shower head plastic holder was broken and when I used it to bathe my disabled daughter it had scratched her. Three of the showers/sinks were leaking. Part of the lower wall in one bathroom is pulling away due to water damage. The price to stay per night is too high. It's loud from cars & motorcycles. The high school football team was playing when we were there so we heard the game going on until around 10:00 p.m. Some of the spaces are cramped. Guests dogs are everywhere so if you don't like dogs I would stay somewhere else. We were there in late September and they had brought in all of their snowmobiles and parked them in the extra parking area for guest so there was limited parking for our boat and extra cars. We had an RV and a tent. Due to the ground being hard, it was difficult to hammer in tent stakes. If you are tenting, bring an air mattress. The ground is really hard.
I think that the positives outweigh the negatives. I would probable stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed two nights at Zephyr Cove RV Resort. They put us up front by the main road so it was very noisy as the road is a main thoroughfare around Lake Tahoe. If you want quite ask for a back of the park spot. Majority of the spaces are not very level (3-5 degrees off) based on are experience on two different pads. Certainly not a deal breaker but be aware. The showers and bathrooms are very clean and the wi-fi connectivity works well. It is very expensive during the prime season but it is conveniently located. Our recommendation would be to explore some other less expensive options available first before staying at Zephyr Cove RV Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyRegier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed in a cabin at Zephyr Cove recently and really enjoyed my stay there. This resort has a lot to offer and the cabins are spacious, clean and the location was great! From my cabin I could walk right down to the Lake and go swimming, rent a boat, enjoy a picnic on or walk over to the restaurant and enjoy a meal. The area was kept very clean and the beach was nice. This resort also has beach volleyball, jets skis and walking paths. The resort allows dogs as well. The beach was a little crowded when we arrived around 5pm, but shortly cleared out and quieted down. I recommend staying here if you are in the area. http://travelqueenadventures.blogspot.com/

Room Tip: We were able to request cabins next door to each other and accommodate all of the group traveling as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelqueen8882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Something is happening to our favorite Tahoe vacation spot. If your paying $5,000.00 to rent 5 cabins of various sizes for four nights then the units should be very clean and items repaired before tenants arrive. Our family has stayed at this resort for the past 3 years and thoroughly enjoyed it each time because of the many conveniences it has to offer, boating and other water rentals, large private beach, cafe, beach front bar, etc. This visit we experienced broken chairs that were dangerous, floors filthy (bottom of grandchildrens feet were black after unloading luggage in house before going outside), blinds bent and missing (one fell on my wrist when attempting to pull up, half the window screens missing, someone wiped their nose on the bathroom wall and shower, very dusty, rodent debris in window sills, prior tenants dirty underwear hanging on shower upon arrival, porch area sticky with soda and cigarette butts everywhere, mildew in toilet, coffee grounds left in pot. According to housekeeping the units had been cleaned prior to our arrival. Our cabin (largest of 5) slept nine and the kitchen cooking supplies were basically non existent. (1 pan, 1 small frying pan, 2 strainers) Even though requested, no additional cooking utensils were ever brought. We managed by borrowing pots and pans from other units we rented but found it inconvenient. Housekeeping was called in to clean again and maintenance attempted to repair our dinning room chairs. The broken blinds and missing screens were not replaced during our weeks visit (M-F) but listed by maintenance as needing repair. In addition, the small convenience store formerly located in the gift shop (last year) is now gone along with the Starbucks and small ice cream shop. Housekeeping only comes every 3 days now and for the price you pay to stay at the Cove housekeeping should come each day. I want to emphasize that our vacation was only inconvenienced during our first day and the resort accommodated us almost immediately and the manager was apologetic. The entire family still enjoyed our fun-filled vacation together at the Cove and the Dinner excursion on the M.S. Dixie is a blast! We had drinks on the deck crossing the lake to Emerald Bay, a lovely dinner, then danced to live music until the ship docked back at the Cove. The possibility of not returning to the Cove next year saddens us as a family, but we feel our money for cabin accommodations could be better spent elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay away from cabins close to highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TahoeNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great get away! Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Zephyr Cove Cabins. The two bedroom cabin was perfect for a family of four. Location is super for activites from the MS Dixie to kayaking to swimming. Warning Tahoe water never warms! We would had liked more kitchen equipment for cooking meals at the cabin. We had to purchase a spatuala, tongs and a cookie sheet. Our cabin was stocked with two pots and one fry pan plus a big knife and a few spoons. Staff was friendly. Liked that you could park right next to your cabin.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank N6797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turlock
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My good friend & I came up to tent camp Labor day weeknd. We decided too try to get a cabin for the next 3-days, We asked if there was anything available & there was. All of the staff were very helpful in the office & outside help also, especially cindy, outside camp host. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Lake front cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachfrontcabins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zephyr Cove
4.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
4.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
3.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#3 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zephyr Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zephyr Cove Resort

Property: Zephyr Cove Resort
Address: 760 Highway 50, Zephyr Cove, Zephyr Cove, NV 89448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Zephyr Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Zephyr Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Zephyr Cove Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from the Shore, Miles from Ordinary Quaint shore-side cabins, freshly prepared meals, and endless activities entice our guests to come back to Zephyr Cove Resort & Lake Tahoe Cruises year after year for their South Lake Tahoe Vacation. The Cabins at Zephyr Cove Resort consist of 28 cabins nestled in a grove of pine trees on South Lake Tahoe's spectacular shoreline, and range in size from studios and cottages to two-story chalets that can sleep up to 10 guests. Pet friendly accommodation options available. The historic and charming Zephyr Cove Lodge offers four comfortable guest rooms that accommodate from two to six people. For generations, visitors have found the setting and simplicity of Zephyr Cove Resort & Lake Tahoe Cruises a refreshing alternative to the densely developed areas of South Lake Tahoe - the perfect hub for launching all your South Lake Tahoe activities and adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zephyr Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zephyr Cove Hotel Zephyr Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing