We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun afternoon on the water”
Review of M.S. Dixie II

M.S. Dixie II
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.50*
and up
Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Zephyr Cove
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From daytime to sunset, The MS Dixie / Lake Tahoe Cruises offer spectacular views, fresh air and an unforgettable journey.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun afternoon on the water”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Loved the 3 hour cruise around the lake and to Emerald Bay. The paddlewheel has a dining room and small gift shop onboard.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JourneysandJaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    117
    51
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to see Lake Tahoe”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

When we were at the Lake Tahoe visitor center we learned about a special on the M.S. Dixie II paddleboat. On Wednesdays they were offering a $10 fare for a tour of Lake Tahoe from the boat. It was supposed to be a tour of Emerald Cove but because of the drought the boat was not able to go into Emerald Cove. The trip was still very enjoyable and such a great value. The boat had a snack bar that offered drinks and food and two musicians played live music which could be heard all over the boat. Because we went in March it was very cold but we had dressed accordingly. Plus, we could slip into the downstairs to warm up. The crew of the ship was very friendly and accomodating. I would highly recommend this as a great way to see Lake Tahoe.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank acdehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing and fun!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was a really nice excursion when you are in Lake Tahoe area. It was nice to get out of the casinos and enjoy the natural beauty of the area. Easy 10 minute drive from the casinos. There is a lot of history in this area and it was interesting to hear some of it on this tour. The paddle boat was clean and the staff was friendly. They have drinks and food available to purchase. I would do this again, and maybe try the dinner cruise. We were able to use a groupon discount too!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank callifuntrvl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, Ca
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great ride!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a must do while in South Tahoe. The scenery was breath taking and the ship was well equipped. We ate lunch onboard. It was probably the best club sandwich I have ever tasted. They had a full bar onboard as well. The trip was narrated very well and it taught us a lot about the lake and everyhting that has happened there since it was discovered. We sat through a 2 hour timeshare pitch with Wyndam and got free passes so it was well worth it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MheathCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Night To Remember”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a scary trip on this ship on Friday Feb 7/2014. First we boarded at 5.30 pm and thought when we got to the ship that we would not be sailing but would be staying at the dock to party and have dinner. However the captain decided to go out any anyway even though the other cruise boats where bouncing pretty good at anchor. We started out pretty good but as we got out a little way the ship started pounding eventually hitting hard and sending bottles flying off the bar. I was in the stern of the ship in the gift shop shortly after that when the captain came on the intercom saying he was heading back to the dock. As the ship came around and a wave hit the port quarter of the ship it rolled, really pretty well destroying everything in the gift shop. (see pictures). To add to all of this nothing seemed to be secured and the young lady working in the shop was scared to death as everything was flying around. Also when leaving the dock we had a safety briefing over the intercom which we could not hear because of noise. We did make it back to the dock and enjoyed a good dinner. Hopefully the USCG will inspect this river boat and make sure that safety briefings are heard and understood and also that furnishings are secured. In closing this could have been disaster.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bluejforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M.S. Dixie II also viewed

Zephyr Cove, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Zephyr Cove, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV
 

Been to M.S. Dixie II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing