We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcrowded boat!”
Review of M.S. Dixie II

M.S. Dixie II
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$62.50*
and up
Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Zephyr Cove
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From daytime to sunset, The MS Dixie / Lake Tahoe Cruises offer spectacular views, fresh air and an unforgettable journey.
Concord, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overcrowded boat!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My son and I were looking forward to cruising Lake Tahoe aboard the old paddlewheeler MS Dixie recently. The boat was scheduled to leave at noon. We departed some time after 12:45. There was an announcement that the Dixie could hold 600 people, I'm sure there we at least that many or more on board. Way too crowded. Hard to move around. Bathrooms all had overflowing trash cans and some toilets. Scenery was great, but I would not recommend if the boat is full.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    117
    51
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

First at all, this company offers a variety of trips, and its boats the M. S. DIXIE II and T. Q. some offering meals, and one offering live music and dance, so you can find which one is the best accord your group and ages.

My husband, mother-in-law, two years old daughter and me did enjoy the experience at this boat, during the fall Sep/Oct, and it was a beautiful sunny and warm day! I did take some jackets thinking we will need them during the trip around the awesome LAKE TAHOE, but it was not the case at all! We spent some time at the upper deck and enjoyed of the nice lunch indoors, to return for another chance of views at the upper deck, you can choose where you can be depending of the people you are traveling with! We used a wheelchair for in-law and the stroller for kiddo, and the personnel were so helpful both at the beginning and at the end of this relaxing, and amazing trip!
We were looking for the crystal glass window bottom the boats used to have but we were told that for some regulations they need to cover them!
At the end of our trip, walking though the embarcadero, one man passed out, and several people, including my husband assisted him, and the captain and other stuff came to the help too, and the response was prompt and safety, while waiting for the ambulance, therefore, I can say all of them were very helpful and professionals.
We would like to take the boats on the winter to have a view of Lake Tahoe snowing views.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KEZC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incompetent Captain”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The two hour cruise is worth the time and money for expeiencing the beauty and history of Lake Tahoe. However on this trip were very disappointed in the last 1/2 hour of the trip. We were seated in the enclosed area of the ship through out the journey bwcause we had an one month infant in a stroller in our group of six. we would take turns going outside or upper decks to enjoy the view. However in the last 1/2 hour a man came and sat on an adjacent table and started constantly descreetly smoking an e-cigarette. first we thought it might be an inhaler but than he was constantly blowing smoke. So we brought to the attention of the staff and the captain. They said they could do nothing as e-cigarette is legal anywhere on the ship yet they had designated smoking area on the upper deck in the open. Forcing us to move to a faraway table instead of asking the man to move to the designated smoking area. I tried to approach the captain and was told its illegal for any passenger to go up to the captains room and instead he left the wheel and came to tell me that ecigarette is legal anywhere on the ship. All through the trip he had some children and women in the wheel room and that somehow was legal and safe. The experirnce was totally fullof hypocrisy , insulting, unsafe and discrimanatory.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tayeb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The wife and I did this for the first time. I had never done anything like this before. It was a great time we had! Worth the price. It seemed more for adults in the evening time. Dinner, live band and drinks and dancing! 3 hours long.We went 6-9pm. They even schuttled us from the hotel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wife and I did the afternoon Emerald Bay cruise on a recent weekend trip to Tahoe and we loved it. The boat itself was very nice. Not too crowded (it was off season,though). Just the right amount of narration and interesting info about the lake. The food was suprisingly good. Nothing to get too excited about, but our expectations were very low given other TA reviews and what we've had on other similar boat tours in other areas. Wife had nachos and I had a turkey club. Both were freshly made, large portions and fairly tasty. My only complaint about the food would be that it was a bit on the pricey side for what it was, but that's probably to be expected. Definitely get there the recommended 30-40 minutes early. It wasn't even that busy when we were there, but there was already a long line to board and there was fair amount of pushing and shoving to get good tables, window seats, etc. We stayed on the open air top deck most of the time and we had no trouble finding good seats.

All in all, the tour on the M.S. Dixie II was a highlight of our trip and we would definitely do it again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElliottCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M.S. Dixie II also viewed

Zephyr Cove, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Zephyr Cove, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV
 

Been to M.S. Dixie II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing