We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and decor. Overextended service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capisce

Capisce
178 Us Highway 50, Zephyr Cove, NV 89448
775-580-7500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capisce is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Zephyr Cove
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: 775-580-7500 Has good Yelp Reviews for Lake Tahoe, Near South Lake Tahoe and Stateline, NV In the Round Hill area of the lake
Danville, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food and decor. Overextended service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The place was packed, so our group of four sat at the bar (a very attractive granite slab with comfortable seating. The service was friendly but ridiculously overextended. Big mistake. It took 2 hours before we got any food. We'll go back when it's a lot quieter.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roadwearrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    27
    14
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad but a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I were in the mood for Italian and the choices in this part of the country are kind of limited. We happened upon Capisce and were pleasantly surprised. The food was not your generic Italian. They had plenty of specials and house recipes to choose from. The soup and salad was really bland but the chicken with artichoke dish was awesome! The prices were a little steep (~$25 per person just for food) but we didn't feel like it was completely unwarranted. Over all, pretty good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank super15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Inconsistent food - lousy service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was supposedly highly rated, but was a disappointment. While my chicken pesto was excellent, their signature soup was only warm, oily and tasteless. The eggplant park was burnt, and had to be sent back. The second one was only slightly better.

The waiter was hardly apologetic, did not offer to take money off the bill and acted like everything was wonderful after bringing out the second parm. It wasn't wonderful, and we do not recommend going there.

The food was way overpriced for the quality of food and service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chazcat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow! That's Italian!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

While vacationing at Tahoe, wanted to enjoy an evening with a sit-down Italian meal. The atmosphere is a wonderful mix of Mediterranean Italy and Lake Tahoe decor. Our meals were absolutely delicious! I selected the ravioli's with their "gravy", a marvelous blend of ingredients that was "oh, so tasty". Even the ravioli's, with their Italian sausage filling were the best I've ever had the pleasure to enjoy. This is in-house, hand-prepared cuisine, and it showed. An absolute "must do" if you're in the Lake Tahoe area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Utah
Level Contributor
234 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Close to resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

After a 10 hour drive to the timeshare, we wanted something close, so we were directed to this place. We don't normally dine at Italian places because of all the pasta, but we were hungry. We shared the scallops with the pasta/cheese/butter. It was quite good, the seafood wasn't over done. Since we didn't have reservations, we sat in the bar. Waitress warned us that a pizza would be a long wait which was nice. We would go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DesertGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capisce also viewed

Zephyr Cove, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Zephyr Cove, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Zephyr Cove, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Zephyr Cove, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Zephyr Cove, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Capisce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing