We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We LOVE coming back for our private and affordable getaways at Pine Cone Resort!”
Review of Pine Cone Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zephyr Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Cone Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zephyr Cove
N. Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We LOVE coming back for our private and affordable getaways at Pine Cone Resort!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our family has enjoyed the Pine Cone Resort for over 15 years now. Their staff has always been friendly and helpful. Their check-in/out process is easy and convenient. Over the years we've checked in at all hours of day and night with no problems. They've often been gracious in extending our check out time to accommodate a quick soak in their great hot tub before the drive home. We LOVE coming back for our private and affordable getaways at Pine Cone Resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gidget09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    12
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
24
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very pleased with our stay! Friendly, helpful ownership and staff, charming room, well-equipped kitchen, good location--close to the action, but with a sense of privacy. We enjoyed taking a break from restaurant-hopping by eating in the quiet intimacy of our room with our travel companions (a supermarket just a quarter of a mile away made food pick-up easy). We had the luxury of the "bridal suite" with hand-painted murals on the walls and cherubs on the nightstand!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent three nights in this wonderful lodge. There was a large bedroom and a wonderful living room and kitchen with nice indows to see the beautiful view. Being close to the lake and various places to take a hike was perfect for us. Evening wine by the lake while we watched the sunset was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My goal was to find a location close to places we wanted to visit and to stay away from the casinos. All four days that we were there we ended up driving over to the west side and with the construction going on it was time consuming. That said, we still enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to those looking for a quite, clean and budget friendly place to stay. The kitchenette and living area were great and added extra living space you don't normally have in a standard hotel room. The cabins are rustic and no frills, but very clean and well maintained. We paid $65 per night before tax with a one time cleaning fee of $35. There is no maid service during your stay and you are required to clean the kitchen and take out the garbage before you check out. We arrived at 4 o'clock on Sunday and happened to run into the cleaning staff who told us the office had just closed and helped us figure out how to get in. If somebody told me when I made the reservation two months before that you needed to check in between 3 and 4 pm on Sundays I had forgotten all about it. It wasn't really a problem, because if you don't get there during that time you can call and get a code that will let you into the area with a lock box (that uses another code) to get your keys. I'm sure we would've figured it all out eventually, but we were really glad someone happened to still be there to explain it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GotaWearShades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We absolutely loved this property and had the time of our lives here for 10 days. Everything you need is provided right down to a toaster and can opener. Needless to say, we didn't have to go out to eat every night and we even BBQ'ed a few times with the great BBQs provided just steps away. The staff is marvelous and every one of them treats you like an old friend. We live on Maui so we're used to tourists and this place had none of that chaotic energy. Every window looked out on tall, stately pine trees and the overall vibe is totally relaxing. The property is in a quiet residential neighborhood so if you want 24/7 nonstop casino action, this place is not for you. However, the casinos are just 5 minutes away so if you want to make a donation to the gaming industry, have at it; they're just down the road waiting for you! We are already planning our next trip to this wonderful, peaceful place. If I could give more than 5 stars, I would. The person who wrote a review that said this place is "terrible" needs to have their head examined.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was our third stay in as many years. Just as quaint, cool and romantic as can be. Surrounded by honkin' huge pine trees mixed with Aspen that had amazing leaves which shimmered and fluttered in the breezes. Beautifully-landscaped gardens brimming with flowers, which are getting better each year we come. Enchanting big dark clear blue refreshing swimming pool plus hot tub, with lots of lounge furniture. We loved our swims and found water temps perfect. Conveniently located, clean gas BBQ's with nice picnic tables and swings. Manicured big lawn plus a half-court basketball hoop for the kids to play safely. Quite dog friendly (wish we had brought our dog, instead of paid for dog sitter). One of our fav's: way cool retro stainless steal stoves/ovens with completely furnished kitchenettes that save us money, plus cable on our two remote controlled TV's and a DVD player. Nifty masonry fireplace. Quite friendly, helpful staff and owner. Our suite was again spotlessly clean and impecabbly maintained (no sign of any pet odors or bugs referenced by another reviewer several years ago). This classic old resort has been impecably maintained and upgraded,with TLC to our delight. Highly recommend. We'll certainly be returning next summer and recommending to our friends and family members.

Room Tip: Oh, didn't learn until the AM we were leaving that this Resort offer their guests use of their c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We've been going to the Pine Cone for 25 years. It's very comfy and quiet, and the upgrades are great while keeping the charm. Most of the employees have been there a long time, andthey are very helpful.
We love the Cone!!
--Billie and Gary Forer

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billieraeforer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zephyr Cove
2.2 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cone Resort

Property: Pine Cone Resort
Address: 601 US Highway 50, Zephyr Cove, NV 89448
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Zephyr Cove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zephyr Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tahoe experience generations of families have been returning to at the Pine Cone Resort since the 1950s. Five charming chalet style bungalows sit on the mountainside underneath towering sierra pines. Heated seasonal 40 foot pool and year-round outdoor hot tub. Stay connected with free high speed wireless internet. Any time, any where: in your room, by the pool, out on the deck-- just bring a laptop with a wireless card and you're good to go! Many of our units are dog-friendly - so your four-legged friend is welcome too!Each apartment has a wood-burning fireplace, kitchenette, living room, bedroom, and bathroom. The bedrooms have both a King or Queen and Twin bed, and the living rooms all have a double sofa bed and twin bed, so you can sleep up to six people.The Pine Cone is an oasis of quiet, cool summer breezes in Zephyr Cove on the south east side of Lake Tahoe, less than a mile from the beach, and just 2-3 miles to the casinos and Heavenly Ski Gondola in South Lake Tahoe and Stateline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Cone Hotel Zephyr Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing