We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet solitude in old west country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Pioneer Garden Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Winnemucca B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gourmet solitude in old west country”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Having recently been traveling throughout the west and staying in B & B's, I decided I just had to write my appreciation of this wonderful place. First of all, getting there is a mini adventure as there are long stretches of road with few signs except to watch for cattle that might be on the road. The last few miles of the road to Unionville are gravel. This part of the road heads up into what appear to be baren mountains. As you approach the town (old ghost town really), you see lovely trees and soon a small stream is apparent. The Old Pioneer Garden is a group of buildings on the left as you proceed into the mountains. The grounds offer lovely shade and the goats, sheep and geese sing a lovely song as you approach the main house.

Innkeepers Mitzi and David offer good old farm style western hospitality. I stayed in the Field House and sitting on the front porch as the sun was setting, I was treated to a family of Jack Rabbits and another family of cottontails nibbling grass from a small verdantly green pasture. In the background was the creek song with quail (probably California Quail) lending a vocal tonality. The atmosphere was just perfect as was the temperature. Inside the house, a swamp cooler kept a very comfortable temperature. There was a fully appointed kitchen, a large living room with a wonderful trilobite fossil collection. Everywhere you look, there are tasteful and eclectic furnishings. Several small areas provided different seating opportunities to just relax and read a book or visit -- or just do nothing and take in the tranquillity.

The bedroom was country perfect with a 5 star hotel bed and linens. I had a wonderful sleep.

The next morning, I had Mitzi's famous breakfast with two other couples. As we were eating her amazing oatmeal, waffles, bacon, fresh raspberries and cherries (from their own garden), eggs (from their own chickens), and coffee, we were entertained by two brand new goat babies. What a delight!

After breakfast, I walked around the gardens and found myself amazed at all the flowers, vegetables, lawn, trellises, gazebos and trees. This is truly an oasis in the desert and I can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellen0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I hate B&Bs, largely because I can't get past the feeling of imposing in some stranger's house. But this B&B is different. There was only one other party staying that night: we and they shared a duplex a few hundred feet from the main house, and we barely knew they were there.

The house we stayed in is enormous, complete with a sunroom and books upon books upon books. The water is hot, the bed is big and comfortable, they even accepted our cat.

And the food was fantastic. The octogenarian lady who runs the place serves up a delectable breakfast and an even better dinner. Plenty of courses, plenty of helpings. There's no TV, and I couldn't have cared less.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gregmc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

It feels like home when staying at this beautiful B&B off the beaten tracks. Well, actually it is greater than home, with Mitzy's unforgettable breakfasts and dinners, the lovely decor, and the animals. The place is a real oasis in the desert of Nevada, where you can sit back and relax. No TV, no phones, no stress! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank olleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovelock, nv
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Well off the beaten path, quiet, solitude. You may not even know you are there, as there probably isn't anyone to meet you. You just go pick out your room and tell Mitzi or Dave later when or if you see them which room you took. Mitzi's meals are amazing. Worth double the dinner price. We have been there 5-6 times and return several times a year. My favorite place. also great hiking And the books! thousands of book the Jones have collected over the years in every building.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank poncho12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

We were travelling across the US to San Francisco and wanted a place to stay close to Hwy 80 near Winnemucca in Nevada. By chance we found references on the internet to the Old Pioneer Garden B&B located in the old mining town of Unionville in the foothills of Buena Vista Canyon in Nevada.

We rang to make our booking – needing to speak clearly because Mitzi is a little hard of hearing, but very friendly and courteous.

We turned off Route 80 at Nevada Highway 400 drove south for 16.5 miles and then headed west on a gravel road for 2.7 miles. [For those with Satellite Navigation the reference on our car navigation system was 40 deg 26'46 " N 118 deg 07'20 ̋"W]

We stayed in the Cottage, exquisitely renovated, with modern appliances and spotlessly clean. Each room was furnished with exceptional quality and to us a very refined good taste. The cottage had two bedrooms each with a separate dressing room and en suite, as well as a living room and kitchen.

As we were the only guests we had the cottage to ourselves and were able to cook a dinner with food we purchased at the supermarket in Winnemucca. Tea and Coffee is provided. If you were staying for any time you would need to make arrangements for meals other than breakfast or drive to restaurants in the nearest major town, Winnemucca.

The night’s sleep was perfect, on crisply ironed cotton sheets, the stillness being broken only by the noise from the stream that ran 100 yards away from the cottage.

Breakfast was served in the owner’s house – as Mitzi the owner promised “steel cut oatmeal” for our health and eggs and bacon at my wife’s request. We had an opportunity to learn a little of the history of Unionville and Lew Jones – a second world war Naval aviator and talk with Mitzi and Lew’s son David.

We explored in the morning and saw Mark Twain’s cottage, the main reason people come to Unionville now, as its 1860 population of 3,000 silver miners has dwindled to less than 20.

For those who need to be connected be warned [or pleased!!] that there is no internet and my Verizon Blackberry and my wife’s T-Mobile Blackberry had no service.

Mitzi told us that the two other larger houses, the Field House and the Hadley Bonnifield Inn, were often used for family reunions, because when all are taken there are 11 bedrooms, six with en suites. This looked to be correct from our inspection of the other houses – but I did not count the number so you would need to verify it when booking.

The room was $95 paid in cash although our check would have been acceptable also. My guess is no facility for credit cards although we did not ask.

All in all this was a totally unexpected gem set in the nature of Nevada. We were only sorry we could not stay longer, as it is an extraordinary location right away from it all but with the comforts and quality of a first rate residence.

Perfection, unless you are seeking the bright lights and excitement of a big city.

  • Liked — Serenity, quiet, spotlessly clean, beautifully restored tastefully decorated
  • Disliked — No internet or mobile phone access
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
19 Thank jdcpml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnemucca hotels
41.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Gold Country Inn
42.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Winnemucca
Candlewood Suites Winnemucca
#2 of 18 in Winnemucca
218 reviews
41.3 mi away
Winnemucca Inn
Winnemucca Inn
#6 of 18 in Winnemucca
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 18 in Winnemucca
155 reviews
41.4 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#3 of 18 in Winnemucca
349 reviews
41.4 mi away
Holiday Motel Winnemucca
Holiday Motel Winnemucca
#5 of 18 in Winnemucca
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Pioneer Garden Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Pioneer Garden Country Inn

Property: Old Pioneer Garden Country Inn
Address: 2805 Unionville Rd, Unionville, Winnemucca, NV 89418-8204
Location: United States > Nevada > Winnemucca
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Winnemucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Old Pioneer Garden Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing