We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and not so many neons” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Wendover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet and not so many neons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2006

My husband and I and our 3 kids stayed at the Rainbow for a few nights then decided to stay at The Nugget just to try some where different before leaving. I guess you can say we didnt get enough. Checking In was easy. The directions to the room werent helpful but after we walked around for about 20 minutes we finally found our room. The Room was average nothing special but clean. The casino was great. I liked that their was limited neons. It was quiet and clean. Comps were great. Buffet was small and limited but, It did the job. I love the starbucks. Overall I enjoyed the get away. we are going back in July will try the Montego Bay this time.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    157
    132
    86
    170
See reviews for
96
245
47
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

Stayed at the Nugget on June 9th after a long boring drive from Lake Tahoe. The room was priced well and was clean. Nice large bathroom and showers.

Bad news: My wife and I were dying of hunger, so we went to the coffee shop off of the casino floor. Two hostesses were talking, and hardly bothered to seat us. (How rude of us to interupt their conversation). So we are seated and wait 10 minutes, but nobody ever stops by. Not even a: "Hi, I'll be with you folks in a minute." Nothing. Maybe it was because the place was really packed; there had to be at least 2 other customers in the place.

Now we know why the coffee shop was so empty. So like the title says, you can stay at the Nugget, but be sure to get some food in your stomach beforehand.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Wendover hotels

Carson City, NV
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2006

The Nugget has a Starbucks and the hotel price is quite reasonable. Those are the good things. The rest of the hotel operation is marginal: (1) No in-room coffee and it costs $1.60 in the restaurant; (2) The shower had _no_ nozzle. It looked as though it did but the nozzle housing was empty; (3) There was no ice bucket; (4) The rooms are hard to find because the signage apparently was designed for people who know where they are going, not for us tourists. Start at the desk, follow the signs to M132 [my room], and you'll wind up in Starbucks; (5) The loud music in the casino was out of control. Near the slots toward the sports book, it is earsplitting

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank fantumfighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2005

we spent 4 days in west wendover nevada, sept. 26 2005 - sept 29 2005. we stayed at the rainbow casino. we booked our trip through max-air. we spent alot of time at the rainbow, peppermill, montego bay, & the golden nugget. all of these casinos are all of the same ownership. the town of wendover is extremely clean!!!! most everyone in the west are very nice, the people in wendover are even nicer, not only at the casinos, but everywhere!! the food is 5 star at all of the casinos- we ate at all of them. a majority of the employees are foreigners, but they are VERY pleasant, VERY willing to work to care for you, & not rude like most americans can be at times. you are treated like royalty EVERYWHERE!!! we were gambling penny machines, so we were'nt what you would call high rollers. everyone at every casino treated us like we were!!!! we gambled at least 9 hours a day for all 3 1/2 days & came back only $145.00 down. we were continiously offered free drinks & they were great/perfect, not weak & not to strong. when you get there they give you all kinds of coupons for free drinks, food, 50% off of their most elite restaurants, & buffets. we spent maybe twenty dollars the whole time we were there on food, eating every meal, with the comps off of the players club card & the coupons- i remind you, we were only playing PENNY machines at .30-.45 cents a push!!!!! our suite upgrade to the SIERRA SUITE, we only paid $30.00 a day for had a wet bar, table w/ 4 chairs, waterfall jacuzzi in the center of the room surrounded by trees, 3 tv's, a steam shower, & yes there were mirrors everywhere with seductive lighting. i am sorry if you are not mated with the right partner to enjoy these pleasure instruments, we rather enjoyed them!!!!!! the max-air program is wonderful!!!!! there WAS NOT ever a wait or hold-up on anything, this casino junkett program runs unbelievably smooth with NO glitches!!!! my wife and i, got the sierra suite, airflight, all transportation, & free coupons from colorado springs for 3 nights & 4 days at $288.00!!!! it irritates me to read about people who could ever have a complaint about anything in wendover. i can guarantee you that i am a VERY HARD PERSON TO PLEASE & AT TIMES ENJOYS TO COMPLAIN, even if i would have looked for something to complain about I COULDN'T HAVE FOUND IT!!!!! DON'T WAIT TO BOOK A TRIP TO WENDOVER IF YOUR 21-199 YEARS OLD, YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!!.....chad of CRK MOTORS INC.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2005

I did not stay at your casino, instead we took the bus(Utah Trailways) enjoyed ourself very much in your casino untill it was time to eat! The food was just terrible, cold and not much a varity of choices. We all agreed that we will not eat there till it improves. We will continue to gamble and take the bus.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2005

I was happy with the Nugget. It's nothing spectacular, but it is a bit cheaper than Montego/Peppermill/Rainbow hotels.

We stayed here because we were taking a last minute weekend getaway and they were the only hotel that had rooms available. I was happy enough. It was just average --the hotel room was pretty small, but it was clean and the beds were fairly comfortable.

The big plus was the nice large shower --that was the best part of the room. However, there was no bathtub.

I recommend the Nugget if all you're looking for is a place to sleep. If you plan on spending more time in the room or are traveling with a spouse/partner and want something nice, I suggest staying at Montego Bay.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JuicyCouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2005

After checking in and finding our way to the room we took a walk around. I know, every one heard the horror stories but what a suprise. Besides the clueless, nonenglish speaking children running the fron desk, the place is much different. The games slots are much friendlier, the dealers are all smiles and they have a nice big sit down black jack table with lots of room on it. The air was not smokey and they had a big, long, white hippie type motorcycle sitting in the middle of the casino and a fine, sporty white mustang right outside the bingo room that I think they will be giving away.
For the most part, the casino was well lit and bright. The buffet wasn't the best but Lori thinks we missed the fresh stuff. It was still a good value. After a night of fun we ventured up to our room where we realized that we had lost our key. Before I could panick, a tall gentleman wearing all black stepped out from behind the shadows and walked towards us. He said good evening folks, are you doing ok? Lori went right in to how I had lost the keys. He quickly calmed us down and told us he was undercover hotel security and he would be happy to help us. We were so relieved. After a fast call on his radio he pulled out a key and let us in. There, setting on the big king sized bed were both of our keys. We both felt stupid. We thanked the nice man who then offered to buy us breakfast in the morning. All the neon lights and loud music can never make up for that kind of service. You want to stay in a place where the employees care about you? then stay at the Wendover Sateline Nugget. Don't be afraid of a big guy that is all dressed in black. He's a good guy watching out for us old folks. The prices were great too. A wonderful experience.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Wendover
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wendover Inn
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Stateline
Quality Inn Stateline
#5 of 7 in Wendover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Wendover
Super 8 Wendover
#2 of 7 in Wendover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Wendover
Knights Inn Wendover
#6 of 7 in Wendover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Wendover
Motel 6 Wendover
#4 of 7 in Wendover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino

Property: Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino
Address: 101 Wendover Boulevard, West Wendover, NV 89883
Location: United States > Nevada > West Wendover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino is Wendover's finest place to stay and play. Pamper yourself in one of our 500 oversized deluxe rooms, Jacuzzi suites, and luxury suites. Enjoy the hotel's spacious pool and hot tub facility. Other amenities include: Loosest Slots and Video Poker Live Table Games Grand Poker Room Sports Book & Lounge One Club Player's Card Free Shuttle Service- 7 days/wk Gift Shop Banquet Facilities Exclusively at the Nugget: Starbucks Keno Lounge Billiards Bar Martini Bar Cigar Bar Covered Parking Climate Controlled Atrium Arcade ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wendover Nugget Hotel West Wendover
Wendover Nugget West
Nugget Wendover
Wendover Nugget Hotel And Casino West Wendover, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing