We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Wendover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Let me start by saying I have been going to Wendover for years. This was my 2nd time staying at the Nugget, I did pay full price for the room which came to a total close to $90.00. The room was in poor shape, a 4 way crack in the shower, with tile seperated from the wall and what appeared to be mold. A bright parking light shining in our window with torn black out curtains, dirty carpet, a tv that did not work well with no remote, dirty carpet, and a clogged sink. At checkout I showed the staff the pictures of the room I took on my phone. They were very helpful and apologetic but explained they could not authorize anything without the manager. The manager would be in at 12pm to call him or come talk to him and they would reccomend a comp room for our next stay. I called the Manager and left a voicemail. All this time I have been very nice and calm. The Manager's response to me was very short and not helpful. He said " well my staff offered you a room but you left". I replied no sir they told me they would reccomend you comp me a room for our next stay. He then responded " Well I guess I can for your next stay but no guarntees because I am a very busy man and I will need a week's notice call me next time you are coming to town". WOW!!!! Hopefully i can avoid staying at this property.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mjpinklady76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
We are very sorry to hear about your sad experience in your stay at the Nugget Resort. We also thank you for bringing this up, as comments such as this help us make continuous improvements with our services. Rest assured that the next time you visit, it will be a pleasant experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    172
    139
    92
    183
See reviews for
105
280
51
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at the nugget because they gave us a free room. When we got there they upgraded us to a deluxe room at no cost just for asking. The room was nice, but the WiFi only worked great in the atrium, We had weak signal in our room. No fridge or microwave, but besides that it was a nice room.
At the buffet, the host allowed us to print a 2 for 1 coupon at the cash register, nice plus.
The only draw back was at breakfast at the cafe. We had to wait for 15 minutes to be seated, which seemed like an eternity since ther only four tables with people in the whole place. The hostess was chatting on her cell phone and the rest of the staff were laughing and joking with each other in the back corner of the resteraunt and everyone seemed oblivious to the fact we even there. We almost walked away and went across the street, but one of the servers noticed us just as we were about to leave.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielF914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Hi, thank you for your review, however, you mentioned about another hotel. Is your review meant for Wendover Nugget?

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

When we booked this property it was a last minute trip to Wendover on a Saturday night. I looked it up on my phone and quickly picked a hotel, based on the fact that I had stayed at the Golden Nugget in Vegas and loved the hotel. I called and booked a standard room on the phone on the road, about an hour away. $69, not bad for a night.

When we pull in the neon board out front shows $44 rooms, although when calling in $69 was the most affordable..?? The clerk at check in was rude when asked about holds on credit cards as I have stayed at hotels that tie up large sums for incidentals.

We requested non-smoking, but got a smoky dirty room with stains on the pillow cases. The Nugget club desk was closed so we had to go to the gift shop to sign up. That guy did not smile once and was very impolite, when asked what the benefits were he said there were none. No complimentry drinks or 2 for 1 buffets? NADA. Not even a free smile.

We playes video slots for 6 hours on a Saturday night and I received 3 complimentary beverages. And I tip well. The buffet quality was good, but for $29 each, it should have been.

Sunday I go to the Sportsbook, I sit for a while no one says a word while three to four employees are always in the corner giggling and talking. I finally went up to a younger gent in a suit and asked if they had complimentary coctail service, he says yes he will send a waitress over. A drink for the wife and I $9. I told her he had just told me there were complimentary drinks as I had bet $400 on football games, which is the norm in Vegas. She said Nope and I paid for the drinks.

Service was pathetic all the way around. The biffet girl was the only person who smiled at us in two days. Stay across the street, it appeared much nicer!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jgliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Wendover hotels

Cody
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

To be fair, the room was great. Very comfortable and clean. The service however, leaves a LOT to be desired. The girl at the front desk was not at all friendly or helpful. I asked where my room was, she just said "First floor". I asked where I should park, she just pointed and said "over there". So, after finding where to park and making my way into the casino, I spent quite a bit of time locating my room. Mind you, I had driven for over 10 hours and was already extremely tired. I really didn't need to hike all around the building looking for my room. A bit later, I decided to go get a bite to eat. I will agree with previous reviews that for a casino, the food is ridiculously expensive. I finally decided on the cafe. The hostess was clearly annoyed at having to divert her attention away from her boyfriend so that she could seat me. At around 6 pm, I decided to call the front desk supervisor to express my dissatisfaction with the check in experience. I was told that there was no front desk manager. I asked for a hotel manager and was told that "all the managers have gone home". I asked if there was anyone in a supervisory position that might be able to help me. She sighed LOUDLY and said "Well I can try to help you. What do you want?" I told her it was ok and I would talk to someone later. I had to leave early the next morning, so realized that I would not be able to talk to anyone in person, so I went to their website and sent an email. It has been one week since I stayed there and I never did receive a reply. On my return trip home, I think I will bypass Wendover alltogether. Horrible experience!

Room Tip: Overlooking the atrium is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Price, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We go to Wendover on the Bus about once a month. We go with Trailways, and our rooms are always at the Nugget Hotel. It is always nice to go down there and get an upgrade, which is very in expensive. The rooms are very nice, with a nice setting. I have never won in the Nugget, but getting up in the morning and getting Starbucks coffee is the best. A very nice get-away.

Room Tip: If upgrade rooms are available be sure to ask for one. They are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteySandoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Happy to hear that you had a fun week staying at the Nugget Resort; and for your next visit, it's going to be a lot more fun and satisfying. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The Nugget was our favorite Wendover hotel spot, but, not anymore. We stayed at the Nugget in December 2012.

We checked the internet before leaving for Wendover for pricing and availability. The internet had said that all beds had pillow top mattress. Too our surprise they had pillow tops but they were on top of extremely old worn out mattress. The mattress looked older than dirt. Our room was clean but truly needed to be updated. The curtains were worn out and had small holes in them. The TV was a small and old, not a flat panel.

We slept OK despite the worn out bed and harder than rock pillows.

The Casino: I asked for a drink and never did get it. The place was dead and I don’t think I or my husband won even one hand at cards. We gambled for about 2 hours and gave up because I was so thirsty and we were almost out of money.

Their restaurants are extremely expensive except for the café that offers a good breakfast.

I don’t think we will go back to the Nugget, there are too many better options in West Wendover.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubakatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed for four days and had a wonderful time. Great atmosphere and very comfortable setting

Room Tip: Non smoking room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Wendover
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wendover Inn
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Stateline
Quality Inn Stateline
#5 of 7 in Wendover
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Wendover
Super 8 Wendover
#2 of 7 in Wendover
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Wendover
Knights Inn Wendover
#6 of 7 in Wendover
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Wendover
Motel 6 Wendover
#4 of 7 in Wendover
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino

Property: Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino
Address: 101 Wendover Boulevard, West Wendover, NV 89883
Location: United States > Nevada > West Wendover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wendover Nugget Hotel and Casino is Wendover's finest place to stay and play. Pamper yourself in one of our 500 oversized deluxe rooms, Jacuzzi suites, and luxury suites. Enjoy the hotel's spacious pool and hot tub facility. Other amenities include: Loosest Slots and Video Poker Live Table Games Grand Poker Room Sports Book & Lounge One Club Player's Card Free Shuttle Service- 7 days/wk Gift Shop Banquet Facilities Exclusively at the Nugget: Starbucks Keno Lounge Billiards Bar Martini Bar Cigar Bar Covered Parking Climate Controlled Atrium Arcade ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wendover Nugget Hotel West Wendover
Wendover Nugget West
Nugget Wendover
Wendover Nugget Hotel And Casino West Wendover, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing