We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wholly smokes! If you like smoke - stay here!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Wendover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montego Bay Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

On a lark we decided to stay at a casino hotel near the Bonneville Salt Flats. So the location was excellent. And all hotels/motels are located on the main drag.The price was right. The room was big. We even had a in-suite Jacuzzi. The AC worked great. The bathroom was luxurious. But the moment we pulled up to register we inhaled nothing by cigarette smoke to the time we left the parking lot the next day. If you cannot handle the smell of smoke permeating everything to carpets, towels, beds, hallways (where there were copious numbers of ashtrays for the smoking-inclined) then look for other accommdations. Yuch. And yes, we had a non-smoking room. And no breakfast was included with the room. Double-yuch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toutelemonde123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
There are newer reviews for Montego Bay Casino Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in West Wendover to see the Guess Who perform and our knowledgable friends said stay in the Montego Bay Casino Resort. Walked in the door and was blown over by the smoke and smokers. They didn't have our room ready until 3pm so what could we do in Wendover...not the gambling type so we went up to the pool....might as well have been someones plastic back yard pool....and smokers still. Hot and no shade....they want you in the casino.

Room Tip: We should have stayed in a motel that was not a smoke filled den.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, Director of Hotels at Montego Bay Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry if you were offended by the amount of smoke in the casino. While the Montego Bay receives a great deal of positive feedback on our rooms and restaurants I am sorry that the smoke odor affected your stay. As far as the pool it as actually an in ground pool measuring approximately 30 by 90 feet with 3 spas and umbrellas which is much better than your average plastic back yard pool. While our umbrellas don’t shade the entire pool deck, we do have guests that go to the pool for the sunshine and to get a nice tan. We do hope you look at the positives and while it can be very busy at the Montego on the weekends you might consider coming during the week and enjoying some of our fine restaurants and Spa, which might be better to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Booked a suite. the room was very nice and very well priced. It was clean and well appointed . The main room had a wall mounted flat TV, fridge and a very large jacuzzi. The bed was nice and comfortable. The bathroom had a large double sink area and a cool steam/shower.You sit on the bench turn on the steam and sit in there for a nice wet steam bath , Then turn on the shower to finish up. found it very relaxing.
The casino seemed average in it's offerings and while there were a couple restaurants in each of the two joined casinos. The nicer ones were closed on Wednesdays and Thursdays and the service in the coffee shop, that was open, left a lot to desire.
West Wendover is a strange little town. The Utah - Nevada boarder runs right thru the Montego parking lot. Wendover Utah is a dingy little town with not much to offer but the Nevada portion west of the Hotel is clean, modern and several nice casinos, a show room and services. If you need something go to the west part of town.
Overall the room was great, our stay nice and in all a great value. The food service manager needs to address the restaurant service a bit . other then that I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The suites were very nice and well worth the small upgrade cost
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Let me start with saying the room was very clean and the bed was
very good. However, the hotel sticks you with a $6.96 "resort fee" for using the pool and transportation. We checked in at midnight and did not want or need the services. When I challenged the front desk at checkout, I was told it was a mandatory fee. That is a false statement, as it is just a way to suck more room rate out of you. Then I asked to see where I authorized that charge, and the check in document listed a $4 fee, and the clerk didn't want to refund the difference. I asked for a manager who did refund the $2 per room, but I think they should make the room rate all inclusive if you don't have a choice about using the "services". Not impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmiller89436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We usually stay at the Montego Bay in Wendover if possible. The rooms are always superb! Front desk help was very accommadating. We use points from gambling to pay for the room so that makes it an even sweeter deal. Highly recommend this motel!

Room Tip: If anyone in your group has trouble getting around, request a room closer to the casino. Some of th...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wendover Hotels sponsor flights from many states starting in Wisconsin and heading west. Three night stays generally run around $239 which include flight and hotel. Montego Bay is the best of the three hotels, with beautiful large double King bed rooms & outstanding restaurants. These folks are always upgrading the properties and the staff could not be friendlier. All the games you find in Vegas are offered here, all the blackjack tables are single deck. They even offer $3 tables during the week. If you like Texas Holdem you will be amazed at the newly remodeled ten table Poker room. They run at least one tournament per day and two on Friday and Sunday. The Poker staff is awesome, making this experience one of a kind. This was our 7th trip to Wendover and hope to see many more.

Room Tip: Ask for the new towers.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tommy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Even if just stopping overnight (East or West) these upgraded rooms (pay a little more) are far superior to what lies ahead in your trip at about twice the cost. Nice hot tubs in rooms. The hotel's café or general restaurant offers good meals again at low prices. The pork ribs are simply delicious and the serving beyond belief. My gripe is with the slots, too many penny (rhyme) slots and too few quarter slots and the latter were never open to passers by. I guess I'm accustomed to cherries, plums, oranges and bars (78 years old) because the slots are just outrageous games that only juniors can understand and I'm computer savvy but not a gamer. Get outta here. Poker machines at the bars are okay, a bit stingy compared to some I've played in Wendover. Good stopover though.

Room Tip: Upgrade a couple of levels at least.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSUEII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Wendover
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wendover Inn
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Stateline
Quality Inn Stateline
#5 of 7 in Wendover
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Wendover
Super 8 Wendover
#2 of 7 in Wendover
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Wendover
Motel 6 Wendover
#4 of 7 in Wendover
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Wendover
Knights Inn Wendover
#6 of 7 in Wendover
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montego Bay Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montego Bay Casino Resort

Address: 100 Wendover Boulevard, West Wendover, NV 89883
Location: United States > Nevada > West Wendover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Price Range: $59 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 552
Also Known As:
Montego Bay Hotel West Wendover
Wendover Casino
Montego Bay West Wendover
Wendover Nevada Montego Bay
Montego Bay Casino Resort West Wendover, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing