We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Wendover”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Wendover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montego Bay Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

After spending 2 sleepless nights at the Wendover Nugget Hotel, we crossed over to Montego Bay and were instantly amazed at the quality of this hotel and casino. The front desk person was extremely nice and accomodating to us and we felt like we were treated like an actual Guest of the Resort. Check-in was very quick. We were overwhelmed at our room size, the decor and the beds were to die for! The king-sized pillows were extremely comfortable and it was the best sleep we had since leaving home. The room was huge and very clean with a great TV. The bathroom had 2 sinks, a tub & shower and a great running toilet. The air conditioner worked like a charm with no noise. When we arrived, I noticed there was no kleenex so phoned down to let them know and it was delivered to our door in LESS than 5 minutes. It was quite the maze to find our room as it was the first time visiting, but once we found it, it didn't seem so long and unfamiliar after that. The rooms are away from the Casino which is nice as it's nice and quiet and smoke-free (we were in the non-smoking rooms area). The only thing missing in the room was a room-safe. It would have been nice to be able to lock up our Passport and other personal items instead of carrying it all with us in the Casino. The Oceano Buffet was the best Buffet we had visited in a long time. The Prime Rib was to die for - so tender and seasoned so well and all the Shrimp you can eat and you didn't have to peel it like so many other buffets. They had the best Salad Bar I've ever seen which was extremely nice for trying to eat healthy while on vacation. Great selection of foods and they changed the menu a little bit each day which was nice.The Dessert Bar looked delicious with a good variety of desserts on display, along with a soft ice cream machine. The buffet-cook staff were so friendly and helpful as well. The wait staff at the evening buffets could have been a little more attentive with refilling or even remembering to bring coffee but the lunch staff were quick to bring coffee and refills. The swimming pool was large with 3 hot-tubs and lots of lounge chairs around the pool area. We didn't notice any cabanas for those of us who don't like full sun on us constantly but did not check to see if they were available or not. The casino was fine - slots were a little outdated but noticed they are getting newer ones installed here and there, and the cocktail servers gave us excellent service. We tried to stay away from the slot machines close to the poker tables in the evening as it got very smokie. The casino could use a little more ventilation to remove the smoke-filled air, especially in the evenings. On our last morning, we had breakfast in the restaurant (the Buffet is only open for Lunch & Dinner) and were very impressed with the decor as well as the service and food. Our food arrived within 10 minutes (restaurant was busy) and tasted great. Check-out was quick, smooth and we were asked how our stay was. Again, we felt like they actually cared about us. We will definately stay at the Montego Bay again as we truly felt we were in a luxurious resort hotel for such a good price. The other casinos are within walking distance but Wendover provides an excellent shuttle bus (it's FREE) to each hotel and runs constantly so if you just missed the shuttle, not to worry as they run every 5 to 10 minutes. We walked down to the other casinos for the exercise but took the shuttle bus back to our hotel. Excellent service!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
There are newer reviews for Montego Bay Casino Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have been to Wendover , Nevada before but this was our 1st time to Montego Bay Casino-Resort. Check in was quick, room was clean and ready and we had an awesome view of the salt flats. The on site restaurant Romanza had an excellent menu choice and the quality of food was outstanding. The cocktail waitress was quick with our refreshments and the dealers were all friendly. Would like to have seen newer slot machines but what was there paid well.

Room Tip: smoking floors and non smoking floors
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rodnglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is an unexpectedly nice hotel in an out of the way location. I was in Salt Lake City on business for a couple weeks and apparently Wendover is the place that folks in SLC go to gamble, so I came here for a weekend.

The rooms are nice and clean and not too expensive. The restaurants are also good, and it is relatively easy to get comps if you put in play at the tables at $25 or more per hand.

I was a little disappointed in the casino. A friend of mine in SLC told me that they allowed you to double down on any first two cards at blackjack (which is pretty standard), but apparently that rule changed right before I visited. The tables were also very crowded and they were only using one deck of cards for some reason, so the dealer ended up shuffling just about every other hand. I like the games with alot of decks, but I only saw a couple of those tables, and they were all full. This made it very difficult to get on a roll with the cards constantly being reshuffled.

Other than that one thing, I liked everything about this place. I stopped by the other casinos in town, but this was definitely my favorite.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Visit here several times a year. Rooms are spacious,clean and the bedding package is good. Beds are comfortable. There is a walk to anywhere, but it reduces the casino noise from your room. Fun place to visit and relax during travels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mas4467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is our second trip to Wendover and our first stay at Montego Bay. Our room was nice, clean and completely adequate. The bathroom had a nice tiled shower tub and a power flush toilet(something I appreciate). The cover on the thermostat on the wall was broken, but it stayed on alright and it didn't affect it's operation. The other thing we appreciated was an in room coffee maker. Most hotels in Las Vegas don't have them so it was nice to not have to pay $5 - $6 for a cup of coffee in the morning like we did recently at Bally's in Vegas.

As far as the rest of the hotel goes I found the gift shop a little lacking in snack items and things like toiletries, but we walked across the street to the Shell convenience store and found what we needed. The casino does smell some of smoke, but it was by no means terrible. Some of the Native American casinos back home are much worse. We found that the casinos features a lot of older themed slot machines and almost none of the newer machines such as Wizard of Oz, Ghost Busters, Star Wars, etc.

Overall we had a great stay and will undoubtedly be back. I mean for the packages we get through Alegiant Air for roughly $200 per person for air fare and 3 nights at the hotel it makes for a really inexpensive vacation get away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

It was a cool place..the room was large and clean. The worst part was that the room seemed like it was miles away from the elevator and the directions aren't very clear. Other than that we loved it and would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: try to get a room close to the elevator..
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ford1665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We flew from Winnipeg to Wendover for 3 nights, this is our second getaway stayed at the Montego Bay and Casino. The rooms are spacius, clean and very comfortable. Great staff the only probles is the Paradise grill, the service is still very slow as the first time. Nice pool and spa... Great Steak Restaurant at the Rainbow but it's worth it. The only thing Wendover needs is a shopping center. I know this is a gambling trip but it's just so much you can gamble. We will be going back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Wendover
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wendover Inn
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Stateline
Quality Inn Stateline
#5 of 7 in Wendover
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Wendover
Super 8 Wendover
#2 of 7 in Wendover
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Wendover
Motel 6 Wendover
#4 of 7 in Wendover
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Wendover
Knights Inn Wendover
#6 of 7 in Wendover
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montego Bay Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montego Bay Casino Resort

Address: 100 Wendover Boulevard, West Wendover, NV 89883
Location: United States > Nevada > West Wendover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Price Range: $59 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 552
Also Known As:
Montego Bay Hotel West Wendover
Wendover Casino
Montego Bay West Wendover
Wendover Nevada Montego Bay
Montego Bay Casino Resort West Wendover, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing